We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Wetherspoons we have visited”
Review of The Lord Rosebery

The Lord Rosebery
Ranked #115 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best Wetherspoons we have visited”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The pub is on two floors and the layout and decor is first class, we have visited many Wetherspoons pubs over the years and this ranks as one of the best. The staff were polite and efficient and the fare was well cooked and well presented. The downstairs was busier than the upstairs on the days we visited.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brianthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    223
    118
    59
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ONE TO AVOID !!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Dirty tables and we went to the least dirty which was decorated with a nearly empty glass, a paper and napkins on the floor. The waiter came rushing over saying 'I don't know if he's gone yet!' When other diners informed him that the invisible man had gone he reluctantly removed the glass and the paper without wiping the table or picking up the napkins. We should have left then but we were hungry.
Our food came on cold plates and was stone cold after the first couple of bites. No-one came near to ask if all was OK even when they could clearly see the amount left on our plates. The staff were completely switched off and I would like to rate this as a 0 if I could but I'll concede a 1 as the cold pints were good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawley nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch horrible”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Popped into wether spoons for sunday lunch ,it took 25 minutes to arrive but when it did i didn't want it.the beef was a doc martin sole.peas dried and hard ,carotts and cabbage were mush.and yorkie like a brick. TOTALLY HORRIBLE.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank needahol_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Wetherspoons we've ever visited.”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Dirty tables, food all over and the manager on the day was very rude and abrupt to people we noticed although he seemed very happy messing about and chatting to fellow staff when there was a queue. Not a patch on the great Wetherspoons in my own area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disgusting service, wont be back!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We arrived about 7.55pm on 2/6/13. There was 7 of us visiting so we pulled two tables together, which weren't clean and the floor was covered in food. We all decided what food we would like and went to the bar to order. As we approached the bar, the duty manager said 'I'm not serving you without HER ID..' (pointing at us). We explained we were only getting food, we were not buying alcohol. However he explained that after 8pm children were not allowed in the pub, we are all students at university, and are aged 19 and 20. There was only two of us which didn't have their ID with them, so we asked if it would be okay for them to go back home and get their ID while the others ordered their meals for them. He did not answer us. The two girls then went home to get their ID from two different houses whilst we all ordered our food. We all ordered and payed separately, however were sitting at the same table.
It took ages for all of us to order our food, (there was also no chicken left for a half roast chicken, or a sunday roast) and he forgot two of our drinks which had been ordered with two meals. To which we had to provide receipts and protest we did not have our drinks. He seemed too busy talking to his work colleagues than serving us.
The last two of our group returned to the table to find two of our party had their meals already, and were reluctant to start eating as the other two girls had not returned, and none of the others had their food. Our food was brought out eventually, as the other girls returned and showed their ID. After asking for sauces, was told to look at the menu and to pay at the till, or to go to the table over there near the kitchen.
One of our party had ordered the double chicken burger and a large coke, reluctantly after being told there was no chicken for a sunday roast or a half roast chicken meal, and this was stone cold.
We asked the waitress for a complaints form, for which she said she would ask about. She came back and said they didn't have any complaints form but we could do it online or speak to the manager. The Duty manager then came over to our table, did not apologize to us once for our inconvenience and was completely rude. Some of us were still trying to eat our meal at this point. He started an argument with one of our party and would not listen when we asked him to stop the conversation and leave. He continued to argue his point about the policy for ID, to which wasn't our complaint, our complaint was about our food being brought to the table separately, two of our group had finished their meals before the others had been brought their food.
We found his attitude rude and ridiculous, I even pointed out that the customer should always be right and he was out of order, to which he replied 'yes but I am explaining the policy..' we did not want to hear the policy as this had already caused us problems.
It was one of our friends last night at university, and should have been an enjoyable evening which was ruined by this man's attitude towards us and the service we were delivered.

on a positive note, the waitress was fab! and couldn't have been more apologetic, she should replace him as 'duty manager' as he clearly hasn't a clue what he's doing. Customer is always right is a well known phrase in customer service, this man has clearly never worked in customer service before.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlottemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lord Rosebery also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Lord Rosebery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing