We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump of a pub, rude staff”
Review of The Lord Rosebery

The Lord Rosebery
Ranked #115 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a dump of a pub, rude staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

food dire, full of dss drunks,. tables full of empty plates and males swearing on a mid week night at the bar

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank richard9999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    223
    119
    59
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Manners”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

During our one day visit via 'woods ' coach tour we found Witherspoons.... Sometimes we can come in and not know anyone including staff, but today we had an amazing 2 hours in this pub in Scarborough.

Sandy and the team made the visit so enjoyable, Andy a floor worker was just the ticket, had a chat and left us to enjoy our visit.

I work in sales and have a team of 500 Consultants....move this man up to be training younger people in the company to learn how to converse with your ' customer' for the time they are in your bar.

He makes me want to stay longer and converse more, but Andy has his job all in hand he is busy with others around the floor.

I would love him in my business.


HAPPY CUSTOMER IN Scarborough !

Rosalie Brewster

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Just average JD Wetherspoon Pub Grub”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We called in around 6.15p.m on a Saturday evening. Very busy but we managed to find a table. Table hadn't been cleaned down from previous meals, and when our food was delivered, it still wasn't cleaned.
Staff at the bar excellent both times we were served.
Food arrived surprisingly quickly given how busy they were. Rump steak tasty and price reasonable as drink included with the price. Will probably go again as it is very close to the Railway Station.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinning in the weatherspoons”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Andy the waiter was very helpful and friendly and had a good sence of homour and asked us what level we was on candy crush saga game andy was the best we had from Amanda, Rachel, sharon and tony xx

Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“discusting”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

attended on 8th of aug myself wife and 17yr old sun went for meal about 8 10 pm sat at table to have a member of staff come and start telling us before she got to table so she had a audience we couldnt be served as my son wasnt 18 even though she never asked how old he was said we must be in about 7 and gone before 8 no signs first time ive been to scarbourgh in 20 yrs .way she spoke to us was discusting and humiliating and abusive she even suggested premier inn further down [nice for her emploeyers trade] which i went to nice place nice food and pleasent staff . so it was premier for rest of vacation .i always find wetherspoons where ever i go but this 1 has to be worst ive ever had the missfortune of entering . with a attitude like shes got she needs pulling up before the pub is empty .so my advise is anybody wanting to eat PREMIER INN further down they appreciate the custom

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lord Rosebery also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Lord Rosebery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing