We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a boutique hotel than a b&b including the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Bay Guest House
Ranked #5 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More like a boutique hotel than a b&b including the service”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Me, my wife and 2 year old son came for a last Min get away, I had no idea as to where we were staying as my wife booked it. Needless to say she got it SPOT ON! I can't tell you enough how well presented this place is. Everything about it is A+.
From walking in the door we were given at top class service. The room we stayed in is the top floor family room which is lovely and well presented.
Everything here is clean and fresh, and from what iv seen if other rooms as we came up to ours, they are all individually decorated to a hight standard........
The on suit bathroom is also very nice, spotless and modern.
As fir the staff they are very nice and extremely helpful, even going the extra mile to provide us with a DVD player fir our 2 year old to watch his peppa pig DVD.
Staying here now I would only ever stay here if I return to scabourough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1cko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
205
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I booked this bed and breakfast after doing an online search. It was a last minute booking for myself and my teenage son, and my partner and his ten year old daughter. We decided because of the school holidays we would book somewhere overnight in Scarborough and loved the look of this guest house from the photos!
We were not disappointed! Newly renovated, the rooms were gorgeous and when we arrived Gillian and John were friendly and very hospitable. As we didnt arrive until 7pm, Gillian and John offered to make us tea and coffee and also said if we wished they would arrange for a take-away to be delivered if we were hungry! We had taken a cool bag with things to eat, along with a bottle of wine or two, and Gillian and John very kindly said we could eat our food in the lounge and even brought us wine glasses and plates!
The rooms were very comfortable and we all slept extremely well.
Breakfast consisted of a buffet service for cereals, fresh fruit salad, grapefruit and yoghurts. John brought through tea and coffee and juice, whilst Gillian prepared the cooked breakfast. My partner and his daughter are vegetarian and dont always manage to find an establishment that caters for them at breakfast - other than cereal and toast! But they both had cereals along with poached eggs, beans, mushrooms and hash browns! They were well pleased.
The guest house is a short ten minute walk down to the north bay, to the new open air theatre and also Peasolm Park. You can also take a short walk in the opposite direction and get to the south bay, where my partners daughter spent her collection of 2p pieces on the slot machines.

All in all, we had a lovely stay and would recommend this guest house for home from home comforts, cleanliness and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Myself, mother and grandmother stayed at the guest house for 2 nights from the 19th- 21st February. From the moment we arrived we were madly in love with the place, not only was the house lovely and newly decorated, it is also situated a short distance from the centre of town and seafront, with a brilliant fish and chip shop just a 5 minute walk away.
John and Gillian are the perfect hosts, making gorrgeous breakfasts and made sure we had everything we needed, we couldnt ask for anything better.
Lovely rooms, excellent food and service is best bar none. I recommend this wonderful guest house to all :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara-Leigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I booked to stay here online with my husband and young child. We stayed in the family room. Absolutely lovely, warm and welcoming place to stay. The room was really spacious and our own en-suite for us and our 7 year old. Breakfast was just beautiful. It was close to peasholm park which was great for our 7 year old. Plenty of things to do around. We were defiantly made to feel welcome and will defiantly be going back!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I booked to stay this guest house online, never having visited this particular one before. I looked at the pictures the hosts has uploaded and were amazed. When I and my daughter arrived at the guest house we were amazed. The pictures didn't lie to how the guest house appeared. The hosts, John and Gillian were fabulous, they made us feel welcome, and it felt as though we had known them for years. The hospitality that's offered is the best by far. The breakfast was outstanding. The room was immaculate and exactly as seen on photos. When we had arrived and put our cases into our room, we came downstairs and were offered tea and biscuits. Never before has a guest house, B&B or hotel made me feel this welcome. I recommend the North Bay Guest House for everything it has to offer. 10/10

Room Tip: Every room in this guest house is of an amazing quality. Wether you're staying in a single, doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Guest House

Property: North Bay Guest House
Address: 137 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — North Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by Gillian and John, this family-friendly guest house is situated in the scenic North Bay of Scarborough. It has been newly redecorated throughout, to a very high standard. The rooms enjoy a flat-screen television with incorporated freeview and DVD-playing capability, free wi-fi, and there are facilities for making tea and coffee. Every room has its own en-suite shower room, with complimentary toiletries included, and is centrally heated. Breakfast will be served in the elegant dining area on the ground floor from 8am daily, offering a freshly cooked English breakfast customized to your preferences, with fresh fruit, cereals and hot and cold beverages. There is a large flat screen television in the comfortable adjoining lounge area with free Wi-fi access. The North Bay Guest House is located within easy walking distance of many varied leisure activities - the beach and Peaseholm Park are literally at the end of the road and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. Scarborough has a bustling town centre, with modern shopping centres alongside some more eclectic and traditional specialist shops. There are numerous restaurants, cafes, bars and public houses of all descriptions - it's not all just about fish and chips! Alongside cinemas and theatres, there are historical points of note including Scarborough Castle, St. Mary's Church and Anne Bronte’s grave, local museums and galleries. For those interested in sport, close to The North Bay Guest House are the grounds of Scarborough Cricket Club, North Cliff bowling club and Alexandra Bowls Centre (indoor and outdoor bowling catered for) and an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing