We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Everley Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with log burner Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Lounge with log burner
Kitchen
Dining Area
Master bedroom with luxury en-suite with roll top bath and wet room area
En suite bathroom
En-suite wet room shower
2nd bedroom
Single bed on mezzanine floor
Shower Room
Mezzanine Floor
View from garden
Scarborough South Bay
Scarborough North Bay
North York Moors
Whitby
Forge Valley Woods
Dalby Forest Cycle Path
North York Moors Railway
Robin Hoods Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ferriman3...
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Have nothing but praise for Everley Cottage. Beautifully finished and presented. Fabulous views from private gardens. Will definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois D
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have stayed here several times and each time we are given a lovely reception. Grocery essentials were found in the fridge/dining room and a lovely bouquet of flowers. The views from the cottage are spectacular, overlooking the Forge Valley. The cottage is owned by the cafe next door and both the owners, their family and staff are so friendly and helpful. This is a great base if you like to go off and explore the area. Only a few miles north of Scarborough and other places are not far away.

Would highly recommend. (Cafe is fantastic too!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating in the bathrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam399y
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Major building works Beware!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I don't really know where to start! I never post reviews, with this being only my second. The first review I posted was to share a wonderful experience so that others may benefit. This however will not follow suit & hopefully will stop another families precious holiday time being ruined! We arrived at the cottage after an almost 5hr drive from Glasgow & no one was there to meet us with the keys! The Gardner who happened to be there by chance informed us the owner had gone to Durham to get a passport! We were stuck as the cottage is 7 miles out of Scarborough in the country & unless you drive 4 miles into the nearest village you have no signal on your phone! Eventually one of the owners children appeared back with keys for us.
When we walked next door to the cottage we were greeted by the building site you can see in my photos! Major building work right outside the two bedroom window & the lounge! The bulders started before 8am every morning, with drills, & heavy machinery, trucks & lorries not to mention the whistling right outside my bedroom window! We were horrified! We were on holiday with a young child & were up at 7.30 every morning whether we liked it or not! This also meant we lived in darkness for a week as we couldn't have any blinds open as the builders were literally right outside all of our windows! We booked this country cottage to be in a peaceful, quiet location! We phoned the company we booked through & were told that an email notifying us of this building work was sent, this was never received by us & they are unable to produce a copy of any such email. They said the owner refused to refund us & if we didn't want to stay there to go home!
Furthermore the cottage was absolutely filthy, dirty cutlery & dishes. I dropped something on the floor & it rolled under a bedside cabinet, when I bent down to retrieve it there was years of dirt, cobwebs & dirty hankies! The kitchen was filthy with flies buzzing all over the place. The toilets have septic tanks & in the evening the smell was unbearable! The owner runs a cafe next door with her husband & nine children & when the cafe was busy the smell just got worse. In the week we were there I didn't see the owner once. She was made aware by the company we booked with we were extremely unhappy but not once did she bother approaching us or trying to sort things out. In fact when we handed the keys in on leaving, one of the Children came to the door!
Failure to disclose major building work here to allow people the choice of whether they want to holiday on a building site to me is unacceptable. I am still waiting for a phone call from a manager at the co. We booked through, that's been over a week! I will be surprised if this review is ever read as the manager has to confirm you stayed there before this will be posted & I am sure if she is asked to confirm our stay she will not as she is fully aware our experience was not a positive one that will reflect well on her source of income.
I only hope trip advisor are wise to this & are able to post this as our precious time off, memories with our child & hard earned cash have been disregarded by people who quite frankly should not be allowed to run a business exploiting people's trust!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Going home
Liked least: Noisy building work
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking time to write a review but we are somewhat surprised and disappointed by your comments.
There do seem to be a number of inaccuracies in your account which I feel need addressing.
You write that you were disappointed that no one was at the cottage to greet you. What you fail to say is that you arrived two hours early! The cottage is available to guests from 3pm onwards. This is clear in the documentation you received. My daughter, who is 22 years old not a child as you state, arrived early at 2:30pm to meet at the designated time.
Before you booked you were made aware of the building works. You totally exaggerate the extent of the work involve, please read other reviews. We categorically deny saying if you don't like it go home. We pride ourselves on our customer care and service, please read other reviews.

If you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the cottage I wonder why you never raised it as an issue whilst sat drinking the wine we left you, in the garden chatting to us for half an hour? If you were so unhappy I wonder why you didn?t raise any issues whilst talking to us whilst your daughter spent the evening with our young son? If you were so unhappy I wonder why you didn't raise any issues when you daughter joined our family for a garden party on the Friday evening, your last day, sharing our food and enjoying the bouncy castle?

Finally I wonder why your review is so at odds with all the other reviews we have received.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lozboz
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, great position and lovely owners”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Really nice cottage, well presented and clean. I won't detail the features as others have covered it.
We were slightly concerned about the adjacent building works which we had been advised of in advance. In reality they did not impact us at all.
The setting is beautiful and after 5pm the large garden is yours to use. Whilst the cafe is open you have your own small private enclosed garden. Even then it was lovely just sat with a glass of wine chatting to the visitors.
The owners and their family are a delight and we enjoyed their company and constant concern that everything was good.
A great week and despite some rain we managed to do great walks each day as the position is very good for Whitby and Scarborough etc.
Food in the cafe is good and as a tenant you receive a generous 20% discount.

'one thing could be better ' (feedback not criticism!) The wifi signal is good with a repeater in the kitchen but if anyone pays by card in the cafe the internet connection is lost and can be hours before restored. This could be improved.

Thanks for a great stay. We will be back!

2 adults, 2 labradors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, beautiful views, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our second year visiting this cottage, 3 Adults, 2 Children and 2 dogs, cottage is clean and well equipped. The two double rooms are of a good size and the en-suite wet room is very handy, the roll top bath looks lovely but I didn't give it a try (prefer a quick shower). The single bed is on a mezzanine above the lounge and is accessible by a steep 'paddle' staircase so not suitable for younger children (under 8 years) but I found it comfortable and it gave me a bit of quiet time! It is quite hot up there under the roof! We had a fantastic week and were lucky enough to have a hot sunny week. There are building works going on next to the cottage but we were not disturbed and still had ample room to park 2 cars. Wifi signal issue from last year has been resolved with a plug in Wifi extender. The owners live next door at the Everley Country House Cafe so are easily contacted if issues arise. The Cafe also serves good food at reasonable prices and is now licensed so also serves wine and beers (mostly bottled at the moment) and is open from 10am to 5pm Tuesday to Sunday so we weren't disturbed by customers as we didn't get back until after 6pm each day. The birdsong in the mornings was nice but one swallow decided to be very loud just outside the door to the master bedroom...at 3am every morning, he was so cocky he even stayed there while I photographed him! Not complaining it's the countryside after all! There are some lovely walks on the way to Scarborough (after the left fork in the road on the right hand side there are three or four parking areas with great, well maintained, paths through the forest), Scarborough is just 5 miles away so can get the grand-kids to the beach in about 15mins. Double bedrooms, bathrooms are on the ground floor so might be suitable for some people with disabilities/elderly guests, just be aware that there are two steps up to the lounge/kitchen area. We will definitely be returning for a third time next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oatesyUk
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the everley cottage with our 20 month old granddaughter,the cottage was very clean and had everthing that you need,the owner had even left us a bottle of wine,some milk etc for our arrival.The cottage has two bedrooms,the main bedroom is en suite with a large roll top bath plus shower,the second bathroom has a shower,there is also a mezzanine baedroom.The modern kitchen is very well equiped with dish washer,washing machine microwave etc.The living room has a large leather suite,plus log burning stove, there is also a lcd tv with youview box and a dvd player.The owners were at hand next door if you needed them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaMags
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm friendly welcome awaits you.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I have just spent a lovely week at Everley Cottage,there was a welcome pack of wine,scones,milk,butter etc ,just the job after our journey.The owners couldn't have been more helpful and friendly,what a lovely genuine couple.There was a problem with the heating when we arrived which was dealt with as promptly as possible and nothing was too much trouble.The views from the garden are gorgeous and it was heaven to sit in the sunshine with a glass of wine and watch the birds ,very very relaxing.It was a pleasure to meet such a very nice couple and their family. We hope to return.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing