We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden treasure - perfect location, perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MollieCol...
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure - perfect location, perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a perfect holiday with our two granddaughters aged 4 and 9. Dalby Cottage provided us with the ideal place to stay. It was spotlessly clean and exceptionally well furnished with everything we needed for a family holiday, from plenty of cooking equipment, to games and books for the children. The surroundings are breathtaking with views from every window. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating and are happy for the children to enjoy the fields and help with the animals. Porker the pig was a huge hit with our granddaughters! We especially enjoyed the company of Oscar and Ronnie the family dogs who provided us with daily entertainment. The accommodation is well placed for popping into Whitby or Scarborough whilst giving the peace and sanctuary of the countryside. The hot tub adds that touch of luxury which makes you feels that you are somewhere very special. We will definitely return - In fact the owners struggled to get rid of us as we said extra nights!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely well maintained and spotlessly clean
Liked least: There is nothing I would change -even lack of phone signal was a welcome relief.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne D
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We will be going again”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The accommodation was excellent, it was quiet and the area was picturesque, the place was ideal for visiting different places and we will be going again

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph k
bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

absolutely fantastic. quiet with wonderful views yet close to whitby and scarborough. a real bargain!

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughes15
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location for a holiday”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our extended family, 7 adults, 4 children, aged 13, 7, 5 and 7 weeks booked Dalby, Bickley and Wykeham cottages for our family holiday. It was great to be together but also to have our own space. We really liked the set up of the cottage complex and found the family who own it very friendly. The children loved the horses and dogs and enjoyed playing with them. A good spot to visit lots of different places . Everything was nice and clean and the cottages were cosy. A big field with play equipment kept the children happy when it was fine but we had a few rainy days and would have liked the hot tub to be up and running. This was very disappointing for the children as we booked this cottage as it was advertised as having a hot tub and we specifically were told it would be ready for our visit.. Even so we all said it would be a place to return to in the future.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Many Thanks for your reviwe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biskitbee...
Wardle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Really nice cottage, lovely area. A car is a a must as quite remote, cottage was very nice and cosy,It wasn't without its minor problems but nothing that would spoil your holiday. Child's play area could do with a upgrade as slide there is not suitable to use. Charlottes mum is very nice and pleasant who seems to run the place , never did find out her name. Could have done with a little bit more info when arriving perhaps something like a printed leaflet with information on where the bins were, where the hot tub is etc. as I said apart from a few minor niggles all in all it is a lovely place very peaceful and quite, remote and I would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and peaceful
Liked least: Too many flys
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Many Thanks for your review and the comments noted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & privacy
Liked least: More hot water would be nice!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2013
Many Thanks for the review. glad you enjoyed your stay and noted on the hot water situation which we will address straight away. We look forward to welcoming you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.