We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay House
Ranked #53 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coldstream, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked over the phone with owner.

Agreed day of arrival and room number over the phone.

Arranged for flowers and bubble in the room for my partner.

Arrived on the day and was greeted by the owner who I had spoke to on the phone.

She said ... I thought you were coming yesterday .she then said ,you can pick your room from rooms , 3,8 10.

We chose room 10 as that was the room I had agreed with her on the phone only 4 days earlier .

The owner then said I will have to move the flowers and bubbly from room 3 then. Even though they should of been in room 10 as per the phone booking.

Flowers were in an old vase as she had got them on the Friday ,a day early.

I put the bubbly on the dressing table and it slid straight off onto the floor.

The wardrobe toppled over when I opened the door

The smell of paint in the room was over welming

The owner then text me to force me out of bed to go down strairs to pay her.

We were in for the night having got up at 5pm that morning but she insisted I paid her there and then. I reminded her that we were in for the night and booked for breakfast at 9am the next morning and I would pay then. No joy, even though my partner was asleep she wanted to come up to the room and get the money.

I got dressed and went down to pay her.

I pointed out all of the issues with the room. Her reply was..... " thanks for letting me know and don't go near the wardrobe."

I was as carm as can be and asked for a tender of the bill and her reply was,if your not happy go to another hotel.

I pointed out that the wifi in the room did not existe, she replied that it did.

I was forced to,go up the 3flights of stairs to get the ipad and walk back down to prove that it did not work and only picked up the signal on the first floor.

She replied... Thanks for letting me know. I replied , please refund my card we are leaving.

Someone should make a sitcom of the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Anybody reading your rubbish, please have a look at all our lovely reviews by our lovely guests.

Have been expecting this from you, even your partner acknowledged that it was 'thanks to you' that you had to leave.

Your card was declined when you attempted to pay a deposit for your one night booking and it was clear on your arrival that you did not want to pay and that we would have a problem with you.

I gave you a choice of rooms as were quiet and I thought it would be nice to offer give you the option from double to huge family rooms especially as room ten is up several flights of stairs.

The refurbishment was finished in June so there is definitely no smell of paint, you could probably smell the new carpet (Wilton so very thick). This did cause a very slight leaning of the dressing table (apologies for that) and the wardrobe and I apologised and jokingly said not to go near the wardrobe.

You asked for flowers and bubbly and I arranged the flowers in a beautiful crystal vase left to us by a very discerning collector. You however wanted them left in the paper so you could take them with you!! no hotelier would ever do this without being instructed to do so, it is very cheap and unprofessional.

Oh apologies as I had entered the day before on my system which I am still getting used to.

I felt threatened by you and actually rang the police as I thought there was something very strange going on as you only complained when it became clear you could not get out of paying in advance which is perfectly normal practice. Even your partner was upset by your behaviour.

I had my two male friends (one a bouncer) come as I had to remind you that you needed to leave after I had refunded you all your money which was my suggestion as I did not and do not ever again want you in our premises, you are barred. Your lovely partner however, is not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    29
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
32
54
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my sons, mum & friend. We had 4 rooms between us all of which were decorated to a high standard. The rooms were spotless, beds so comfy, lovely to have a fridge in the room, also tea & coffee making facilities as well as the little added bonus of biscuits :).
I had booked the superior room with sea view as this is what I love about scarborough but with some confusion with the booking I ended up in a twin room on the top floor. Linda was apologetic & the alternative room I was offered was lovely. (Please note this was a misunderstanding with the booking nobody was to blame but please confirm your room number at the time to avoid disappointment).
The hotel is situated in a lovely part of scarborough near to the spa & close to the tram which is handy especially on the way back.
The breakfast was lovely & nothing was too much trouble for Linda & Anita.
They allow well behaved dogs too & just to let you know if your not a dog lover they are not allowed in the breakfast room & you can not smell any trace of them either this is because Linda & her wonderful girl team do an amazing job with looking after this place (their home) every credit to you all can't wait to come back again thank you for a wonderful stay Lisa x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaellen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Wow, thank you so much Lisa, it's lovely when we get such a positive review and makes it all worthwhile. Hope you all come again and will definitely reserve number 5. You and your family were a pleasure to look after. xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were in Scarborough visiting relatives and needed somewhere to stay at short notice, after being let down by another hotel. We are so please we found this lovely b&b.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome.
The room was spotless, had a fridge and tea making facilities and nice comfortable beds. My daughter loved the light up shower head!
Breakfast was excellent and again they made a special effort for our 2 year old with warming up weetabix and providing kids yogurts for her.
We would definitely recommend this b&b and on our next trip to Scarborough will use it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you very much for that lovely review. Am glad we were able to help after your awful introduction to Scarborough. Pleasure having you all stay and we hope you come back again.

kind regards, Linda Paul Beth and Anita.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I would have rated as excellent but for the 67 steps to my room on the top floor! But having said that - I found the accommodation clean and functional. An excellent breakfast on offer each day with very friendly staff. I would happily recommend Bay House and I will be staying there on my next visit to Scarborough.
Steve B.

Room Tip: Lower floor unless you dont mind the climb to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveb1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for nice comments Steve. I know the stairs are a climb (am down a dress size myself!!)
We offer double occupancy in the family rooms and one is outside the dining room on first floor so would recommend that one next time. See you soon.

Regards, Linda Paul Beth and Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Second visit this year and extremely satisfied with everything, great friendly service, beautifully decorated, nothing too much trouble, comfy bed, tv and fridge in room, fresh milk for a cuppa, lovely and clean, great breakfast and super location, thanks for everything Linda, we'll be back next year

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thanks so much for that Dot and Keith, really nice to see you again and look forward to you visiting next year. hope you get that juicer, you'll be bouncing!

xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

stayed in the four poster room which was beautifully refurbished and spacious,spotlessly clean en suite had a great shower but the sink and toilet were not as nice although they were very clean,linda was extremely welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful, she even rang up to book us a table at the tuscany too which is just up the road and saved us the walk into town.breakfast was lovely,choice of cereals, fruit,toast or crumpets and whatever you want for a cooked breakfast all served with a big smile.we had a great stay and would definately stay again if we go back to scarborough.also a big thank you to the lady who helps linda out she was really friendly and helpul too

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stockdale28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments, glad I could help and have told Anita as she's fab. Sorry about the sink, it's the only thing we didn't completely strip out as we still have some jobs for winter such as changing the taps and other little tweeks as we go. It was such a major job. Hope to see you soon and really appreciate the positive response, Thank you, regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Bay House Scarborough, thank you so much Linda... very accommodating, friendly, helpful and polite staff, great breakfast, clean and tidy place...
you can see how much effort has been put there to create a welcoming place to stay. Highly recommended! Well done Linda, keep going and see you next year!
and Leo is saying hello to Biscuit... Regards and good luck xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponglishkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much, it's lovely when someone recognises what effort has gone in to Bay House and we really appreciate the feedback. See you next year. Hey, we're doing murder mystery weekends in the winter too. Regards xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#55 of 183 in Scarborough
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#24 of 183 in Scarborough
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 183 in Scarborough
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 183 in Scarborough
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House

Property: Bay House
Address: 9 Esplanade Road, Scarborough YO11 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 4 stars by Quality in Tourism, Bay House is a beautifully refurbished guest house convenient for cliff lift (two minute walk). Dining room on first floor with sea views and views of Oliver's Mount. Scarborough has Europe's largest outdoor theatre and is convenient for travel to York and Flamingo Land. The town centre is a short walk away the spa complex is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing