We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful bb, a true hidden gem”
Review of Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay House
Ranked #51 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Bay house over Easter and had a great time. We rented the room with the poster bed and it was truly beautiful. The BB was renovated last year to an excellent standard, in fact I want the same wallpaper in my house. The hostesses were friendly and gave us good tips. And the breakfast was excellent, I usually avoid English breakfast coz I'm fussy about what I eat , but this one was so delicious I had it every day. I know my husband and I will go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaandnickWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for that lovely review. You are a lovely couple and we look forward to seeing you soon. Can let you have the wallpaper names and codes any time. Quite a few people have asked. It's one of the things me and my husband usually argue about when doing a renovation but we always choose these. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here two nights in April for an event at the Spa Complex, reached via the cliff railway or zig zag path and steps in just 5-10 minutes. Our room (10) was at the top of the house with good views, good storage, comfortable bed and small en suite shower room (which smelt a little damp). The breakfast choice was good with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast made yourself in the provided toasters, juices, coffee, teas and cooked items to order. The owners are very friendly and although check-in was a bit disordered the stay was enjoyable and comfortable. Note that there is no lift and a lot of stairs which may make it difficult for those less mobile.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much Lesley, giving us two nice reviews. It shows how important it is these days to check guests previous experience. Am glad you enjoyed your two night stay. Once again apologies if the shower room (which actually I think you will find very large compared to most in a b & b ) smelt a little damp. I can again assure you that the whole 5 storey gorgeous Victorian house was totally renovated this time last year including stripping out every bedroom and shower room and starting again (inside and out) there is no damp but I will of course as I previously responded, investigate your concern. We are a very relaxed family owned small guest house and we like every one to feel at home and again (in the room information-as in the case of hair-dryers it tells you this clearly and that If you wish to make your own toast, help yourself but of course, we are more than happy to serve you). Thank you so much, it is so nice to know that we have happy guests, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and i often stay in scarborough, and i must say i haven't had a more lovely time than staying in this B and B. Host Linda was wonderful and very welcoming (but not too overbearing which i like) . The room was spotless and had everything we needed including wi-fi and a fridge (somewhere to chill a cheeky bottle of wine or 2) which i loved! the breakfast to die for,and everything of a very high standard but very relaxing and comfortable and cant wait to return. oh and if that wasn't enough it's ideally located for everywhere. What more could you possibly want or need!!!! i do however feel the need to comment on Phil W review, we actually stayed on the night he did, his behaviour was disgraceful and he is talking utter nonsense, and if Linda did ask him to leave i would find that totally acceptable as he was a pompous moron!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joby_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you very much for that Jo and Mike, we really appreciate your support too. As far as that review goes, we are glad you were there to see how unfair and untrue it is. We look forward to seeing you both again, weather gorgeous here at mo. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked over the phone with owner.

Agreed day of arrival and room number over the phone.

Arranged for flowers and bubble in the room for my partner.

Arrived on the day and was greeted by the owner who I had spoke to on the phone.

She said ... I thought you were coming yesterday .she then said ,you can pick your room from rooms , 3,8 10.

We chose room 10 as that was the room I had agreed with her on the phone only 4 days earlier .

The owner then said I will have to move the flowers and bubbly from room 3 then. Even though they should of been in room 10 as per the phone booking.

Flowers were in an old vase as she had got them on the Friday ,a day early.

I put the bubbly on the dressing table and it slid straight off onto the floor.

The wardrobe toppled over when I opened the door

The smell of paint in the room was over welming

The owner then text me to force me out of bed to go down strairs to pay her.

We were in for the night having got up at 5pm that morning but she insisted I paid her there and then. I reminded her that we were in for the night and booked for breakfast at 9am the next morning and I would pay then. No joy, even though my partner was asleep she wanted to come up to the room and get the money.

I got dressed and went down to pay her.

I pointed out all of the issues with the room. Her reply was..... " thanks for letting me know and don't go near the wardrobe."

I was as carm as can be and asked for a tender of the bill and her reply was,if your not happy go to another hotel.

I pointed out that the wifi in the room did not existe, she replied that it did.

I was forced to,go up the 3flights of stairs to get the ipad and walk back down to prove that it did not work and only picked up the signal on the first floor.

She replied... Thanks for letting me know. I replied , please refund my card we are leaving.

Someone should make a sitcom of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Anybody reading your rubbish, please have a look at all our lovely reviews by our lovely guests.

Have been expecting this from you, even your partner acknowledged that it was 'thanks to you' that you had to leave.

Your card was declined when you attempted to pay a deposit for your one night booking and it was clear on your arrival that you did not want to pay and that we would have a problem with you.

I gave you a choice of rooms as were quiet and I thought it would be nice to offer give you the option from double to huge family rooms especially as room ten is up several flights of stairs.

The refurbishment was finished in June so there is definitely no smell of paint, you could probably smell the new carpet (Wilton so very thick). This did cause a very slight leaning of the dressing table (apologies for that) and the wardrobe and I apologised and jokingly said not to go near the wardrobe.

You asked for flowers and bubbly and I arranged the flowers in a beautiful crystal vase left to us by a very discerning collector. You however wanted them left in the paper so you could take them with you!! no hotelier would ever do this without being instructed to do so, it is very cheap and unprofessional.

Oh apologies as I had entered the day before on my system which I am still getting used to.

I felt threatened by you and actually rang the police as I thought there was something very strange going on as you only complained when it became clear you could not get out of paying in advance which is perfectly normal practice. Even your partner was upset by your behaviour.

I had my two male friends (one a bouncer) come as I had to remind you that you needed to leave after I had refunded you all your money which was my suggestion as I did not and do not ever again want you in our premises, you are barred. Your lovely partner however, is not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my sons, mum & friend. We had 4 rooms between us all of which were decorated to a high standard. The rooms were spotless, beds so comfy, lovely to have a fridge in the room, also tea & coffee making facilities as well as the little added bonus of biscuits :).
I had booked the superior room with sea view as this is what I love about scarborough but with some confusion with the booking I ended up in a twin room on the top floor. Linda was apologetic & the alternative room I was offered was lovely. (Please note this was a misunderstanding with the booking nobody was to blame but please confirm your room number at the time to avoid disappointment).
The hotel is situated in a lovely part of scarborough near to the spa & close to the tram which is handy especially on the way back.
The breakfast was lovely & nothing was too much trouble for Linda & Anita.
They allow well behaved dogs too & just to let you know if your not a dog lover they are not allowed in the breakfast room & you can not smell any trace of them either this is because Linda & her wonderful girl team do an amazing job with looking after this place (their home) every credit to you all can't wait to come back again thank you for a wonderful stay Lisa x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaellen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Wow, thank you so much Lisa, it's lovely when we get such a positive review and makes it all worthwhile. Hope you all come again and will definitely reserve number 5. You and your family were a pleasure to look after. xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were in Scarborough visiting relatives and needed somewhere to stay at short notice, after being let down by another hotel. We are so please we found this lovely b&b.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome.
The room was spotless, had a fridge and tea making facilities and nice comfortable beds. My daughter loved the light up shower head!
Breakfast was excellent and again they made a special effort for our 2 year old with warming up weetabix and providing kids yogurts for her.
We would definitely recommend this b&b and on our next trip to Scarborough will use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you very much for that lovely review. Am glad we were able to help after your awful introduction to Scarborough. Pleasure having you all stay and we hope you come back again.

kind regards, Linda Paul Beth and Anita.xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I would have rated as excellent but for the 67 steps to my room on the top floor! But having said that - I found the accommodation clean and functional. An excellent breakfast on offer each day with very friendly staff. I would happily recommend Bay House and I will be staying there on my next visit to Scarborough.
Steve B.

Room Tip: Lower floor unless you dont mind the climb to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveb1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loolooscarborough, Owner at Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for nice comments Steve. I know the stairs are a climb (am down a dress size myself!!)
We offer double occupancy in the family rooms and one is outside the dining room on first floor so would recommend that one next time. See you soon.

Regards, Linda Paul Beth and Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#18 of 26 in Scarborough
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#54 of 183 in Scarborough
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#53 of 183 in Scarborough
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#122 of 183 in Scarborough
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#28 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#23 of 183 in Scarborough
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House

Address: 9 Esplanade Road, Scarborough YO11 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £36 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay House is a beautifully refurbished guest house convenient for cliff lift (two minute walk). Dining room on first floor with sea views and views of Oliver's Mount. Scarborough has Europe's largest outdoor theatre and is convenient for travel to York and Flamingo Land. The town centre is a short walk away the spa complex is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing