We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Steeple

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rear bedroom features an oak dresser with lift-up mirror.
Quality solid oak furniture, plush sofas and carpets, and a real cast iron fireplace.
An open plan lounge and dining area.
0.75km to Scarborough's South Bay beach
Instant hot water and a powerful shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MILBURNS...
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived by train and walked to the apartment and found it easily after a steady 15-20 minute walk all downhill.

On first impressions the house the flat is within (it has one other flat above it by the way) seems normal for the area and nothing special with several very steep steps and a steep path up to the house and then a few more steps bringing you to the entrance porch. Definitely not for the disabled or people with problems with such obstacles, the steps were also incredibly slippy on icey mornings.

We collected the keys as instructed by the owners via email and let ourselves in, then the WOW began. Such a beautiful flat!

The layout is a large hall / entrance( ok to park bikes or prams in too) to the left as you enter one double bedroom facing the road, turn right and on your left you have two further rooms( the lounge / diner also facing the front road) and second bedroom (facing the patio/back garden) and the kitchen in front on you ,walking through the kitchen to gain access to the bathroom/toilet.

The outside space isn't something we haven't had before in a rental at the coast so this was nice, although it being February we didn't use I. Again very steep steps up to an enclosed sloping grassy area , not sure how much you would use it but in high summer it would be nice to sit out at least.

All the furnishings, beds, towels and décor were beautiful with everything you needed for a comfortable stay.

Our only VERY MINOR gripes were the heating wasn't on when we arrived and the booklet for the apartment said it was on a timer (still unsure when those times actually were) so we unpacked and went out to explore expecting it to kick in whilst we were out, it didn't. We were absolutely freezing! It was a bitterly cold night and minus five we had to route about and press buttons until something came on, because it was 10pm we didn't want to ring the owners , the windows are old sash windows and drafty and so we sat with the quilts off the beds to keep warm eating supper lol

They do leave logs and kindling for a fire but we couldn't find any logs? just some papers beside the fire , so in the end we gave up and went to bed.

Please ask the cleaners to set the heating to ON when guests are arriving!!

Also the kitchen and bathroom floors are tiled and ice cold in winter bring slippers or please put a rug in the bathroom at least?

And a final thing we would have liked to save the beautiful cream carpets was a boot tray in the entrance so we could have throw our sandy, wet boots into that rather than worrying we were going to ruin your lovely floors!

Aside from those tiny things, we would definitely recommend the flat, just bring slippers and
and warm cardigans in winter just in case!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor, beds and having some outside space
Liked least: cold, drafty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Steeple. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and awarded us a five-star rating.

I would just like to address a few of the issues raised because, however minor they may be, we like everything to be perfect for our guests. First, the heating. In winter, it is set to come on for three hours in the morning and four hours in the evening. So it's usually warm when guests arrive - which can be any time from 3pm to late in the evening.

It can get very warm in the apartment, so I can only assume that the previous guests turned the thermostat down. I can only apologise if it wasn't warm when you arrived. We want all our guests to feel warm and comfortable - and advise that they can turn the heating on whenever they wish. We really wouldn't have minded getting a call, whatever the time.That's what we're here for! There's an 'on' button on the timer that allows you to override the programmer. I think we may need to make this clearer.

As for the steps, we do advise that it isn't suitable for elder or wheelchair access. Stone steps can be slippy in icy conditions, so we will look into installing some gripping to address your concerns.

The logs... very sorry, that was our oversight! We provide logs, kindling and paper during the winter because guests like an open fire. On this occasion, we must have forgotten to provide logs. Please accept our apologies.

And finally, thank you for suggesting a boot tray. We do provide a shoe rack in the porch, but a boot tray in the apartment is a great idea. We try very hard to make the Steeple a perfect getaway. But we can't always get everything right - and we're grateful for your kind review and useful feedback, which will help us to address things next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMoelfr...
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent accomodation and such a helpful owner”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Wonderful apartment...such good value for money...exceptionally clean and kitted out with everything you would require...furniture, beds/bedding, kitchen & bathroom of the highest quality. The owner ,Paula, so very, very helpful and friendly. All the little extras made one feel very welcome, including the parking permits to enable one to park directly outside address....very convenient.
Only 10 min walk to shops and sea front ...therefore ideally situated.
We required a quiet break to chill and rest.....this turned out to be the best we could have hoped for....we will be back....can thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and comfort
Liked least: nothing...it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank-you very much for your review. It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad you got the break you were hoping for. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilf1960
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home,every little extra catered for and meticulously clean.”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely old victorian house with lovely features with a modern twist..The property is well positioned close to a local co-op and walking distance to local pubs beach, harbour and seafront shops.
Any problems or concerns are quickly resolved by Paula.
If you want a nice break in a lovely clean house this is the one for you, highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la_rain50
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Steeple in Scarborough for 3 nights. We found it just superb, spacious and homely. Actually we were spoiled as the provisions that were included were plentiful which we had not found at other self catering establishments. The beds were very comfy as was the furniture to relax in after a day out. It was spotlessly clean and we only wished we has stayed longer. Paula was delightful. Her friendliness and help from my initial enquiry until we had departed was exceptional. She even promptly posted some items of clothing that were left behind to our next address. I will definitely return to the Steeple ...it was wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, presentation, amenities, easy parking, friendly host.
Liked least: lack of path lighting as we arrrived at night however it has been sorted since.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemsi_1
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb apartment!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

the steeple is brilliant value for money for the quality of accomodation offered. it felt really homely and had everything we needed for our stay. the apartment is well located with south bay beach, gardens, town centre and the train station all within easy walking distance. we hope to stay again next time we visit scarborough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Steeple is a lovely holiday apartment. It is a modern, stylish and comfy apartment. It is maintained to a very high standard and very well equipped. Paula has really thought about what is needed in a good holiday let. The location is excellent, it was a very easy walk to the Cliff Lift to reach the south beach and the Spa. It was also easy to get out and about to other coastal towns such as Filey and Whitby. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Steeple and would recommend a stay there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank-you, We are grateful for your feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and would love to have you stay again. Kind Regards Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the best holiday place I have stayed in, beautiful and spacious. There has been a lot of consideration by the owners to provide the guests with everything they need. Comfy beds, soft towels, well equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, and a pretty garden. Thank you to Paula for all her help and for providing DVDs and DS games which were appreciated by my daughter! I appreciated the heating coming on in the evening!!! This is very convenient property with a Co-op at the end of the road and short walk to the sea front or the shops. Also a great base for Whitby, and other locations. I felt really relaxed and refreshed staying here and would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We put a lot of thought into catering for our guests so it is wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay. Thanks Again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing