We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Steeple

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Rear bedroom features an oak dresser with lift-up mirror.
Quality solid oak furniture, plush sofas and carpets, and a real cast iron fireplace.
An open plan lounge and dining area.
0.75km to Scarborough's South Bay beach
Instant hot water and a powerful shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sneppilc2...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What can I say! A beautiful holiday flat. The owners and Andrea property manager have thought of absolutely everything. I went prepared to flat as I have done to previous places with all the essentials. No need everything was thought of. What a great holiday we had, only a 10 minute walk and your at the sea front. Weather was great too. We are sure to visit again.
Thank you once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole overall experience.
Liked least: cant think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LozCarts
1 review
“Amazing apartment in an excellent location!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fantastic apartment that is well equipped-had everything you could need and more besides! It's a brilliant location, only 10 mins walk to beach but you wouldn't know because it's so quiet and peaceful. Owners were really helpful and informative and you knew they would be there if you needed them for anything. Lovely garden that was good to sit in, especially in the sunshine! The apartment was so modern, well decorated and very clean! Would definitely visit again and will be recommending it to everyone! Thank you :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank-you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are really glad you enjoyed your time and would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizSlinn
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and comfortable apartment.”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very pleased that we booked The Steeple in Scarborough. Everything was very clean and it had everything you could need and more. Loved the tea, coffee, sugar and biscuits on arrival. There were loads of toys for my 14month old toy to play with. About 10-15 mins walk to beach and 10 mins to town. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay at The Steeple, it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianeddie
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very very comfortable”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Everything you need is there ,we found it to be very comfortable and would be happy to go back.Great selection of dvds and books to watch and read.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable settees and beds.
Liked least: Could be drafty but the weather was bad.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANS55
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at The Steeples for a couple of nights . We arrived early and the owner was just leaving. He was working on the adjoining building as they had bought it . He was very polite and helpful which makes you feel welcome.
The pictures do not do it justice. It is a beautiful two bedroom apartment. You have everything you could need the owners have really thought about what they are offering. The decor is both modern but with an old fashioned charm. My partner absolutely loved it . You had everything you could need . From comfy beds, towels, toiletries to toys , games and dvd's if you had kids. There were logs so you could light a fire which we did and this really made you feel cosy.
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Paula texted to see if everything was ok which again is a nice touch. She was so helpful when booking the apartment.

The only negative was the central heating. As we were early we thought it would come on later so we went out for a few hours. The flat was still cold when we returned so we lit the fire which made the room cosy but the rest of the apartment was cold. We read the manuals so we found the timer switch in the rear bedroom but could not see what time it was set for so we used the advance switch which turned heating on then switched it off once the apartment got warm. Did the same the following day for a couple of hours .

The accommodation is a credit to you and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The location is also very good it is about ten minutes walk to the town centre. The entrance to the apartment is steep with steps but we knew this so was not an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILBURNS...
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived by train and walked to the apartment and found it easily after a steady 15-20 minute walk all downhill.

On first impressions the house the flat is within (it has one other flat above it by the way) seems normal for the area and nothing special with several very steep steps and a steep path up to the house and then a few more steps bringing you to the entrance porch. Definitely not for the disabled or people with problems with such obstacles, the steps were also incredibly slippy on icey mornings.

We collected the keys as instructed by the owners via email and let ourselves in, then the WOW began. Such a beautiful flat!

The layout is a large hall / entrance( ok to park bikes or prams in too) to the left as you enter one double bedroom facing the road, turn right and on your left you have two further rooms( the lounge / diner also facing the front road) and second bedroom (facing the patio/back garden) and the kitchen in front on you ,walking through the kitchen to gain access to the bathroom/toilet.

The outside space isn't something we haven't had before in a rental at the coast so this was nice, although it being February we didn't use I. Again very steep steps up to an enclosed sloping grassy area , not sure how much you would use it but in high summer it would be nice to sit out at least.

All the furnishings, beds, towels and décor were beautiful with everything you needed for a comfortable stay.

Our only VERY MINOR gripes were the heating wasn't on when we arrived and the booklet for the apartment said it was on a timer (still unsure when those times actually were) so we unpacked and went out to explore expecting it to kick in whilst we were out, it didn't. We were absolutely freezing! It was a bitterly cold night and minus five we had to route about and press buttons until something came on, because it was 10pm we didn't want to ring the owners , the windows are old sash windows and drafty and so we sat with the quilts off the beds to keep warm eating supper lol

They do leave logs and kindling for a fire but we couldn't find any logs? just some papers beside the fire , so in the end we gave up and went to bed.

Please ask the cleaners to set the heating to ON when guests are arriving!!

Also the kitchen and bathroom floors are tiled and ice cold in winter bring slippers or please put a rug in the bathroom at least?

And a final thing we would have liked to save the beautiful cream carpets was a boot tray in the entrance so we could have throw our sandy, wet boots into that rather than worrying we were going to ruin your lovely floors!

Aside from those tiny things, we would definitely recommend the flat, just bring slippers and
and warm cardigans in winter just in case!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor, beds and having some outside space
Liked least: cold, drafty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Steeple. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and awarded us a five-star rating.

I would just like to address a few of the issues raised because, however minor they may be, we like everything to be perfect for our guests. First, the heating. In winter, it is set to come on for three hours in the morning and four hours in the evening. So it's usually warm when guests arrive - which can be any time from 3pm to late in the evening.

It can get very warm in the apartment, so I can only assume that the previous guests turned the thermostat down. I can only apologise if it wasn't warm when you arrived. We want all our guests to feel warm and comfortable - and advise that they can turn the heating on whenever they wish. We really wouldn't have minded getting a call, whatever the time.That's what we're here for! There's an 'on' button on the timer that allows you to override the programmer. I think we may need to make this clearer.

As for the steps, we do advise that it isn't suitable for elder or wheelchair access. Stone steps can be slippy in icy conditions, so we will look into installing some gripping to address your concerns.

The logs... very sorry, that was our oversight! We provide logs, kindling and paper during the winter because guests like an open fire. On this occasion, we must have forgotten to provide logs. Please accept our apologies.

And finally, thank you for suggesting a boot tray. We do provide a shoe rack in the porch, but a boot tray in the apartment is a great idea. We try very hard to make the Steeple a perfect getaway. But we can't always get everything right - and we're grateful for your kind review and useful feedback, which will help us to address things next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMoelfr...
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent accomodation and such a helpful owner”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Wonderful apartment...such good value for money...exceptionally clean and kitted out with everything you would require...furniture, beds/bedding, kitchen & bathroom of the highest quality. The owner ,Paula, so very, very helpful and friendly. All the little extras made one feel very welcome, including the parking permits to enable one to park directly outside address....very convenient.
Only 10 min walk to shops and sea front ...therefore ideally situated.
We required a quiet break to chill and rest.....this turned out to be the best we could have hoped for....we will be back....can thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and comfort
Liked least: nothing...it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank-you very much for your review. It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad you got the break you were hoping for. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing