We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake to die for!”
Review of Stepney Hill Farm

Stepney Hill Farm
Ranked #120 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Belper
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cake to die for!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We visited here to see the new born lambs and had tea and gateau in a tearoom with a wonderful view over the valley. We arrived at 2.45 and we're unaware that the cafe closed at 3p.m. But it did not deter them from making us most welcome and we were not hurried at all. The added bonus of the new lambs and their mums gambolling outside the tea-rooms was just the icing on the cake. Next time, we'll arrive a lot earlier and spend more time looking around the farm, at the "sheep-pigs." And the other animals. Well done for making us feel so at home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very homely.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a small breakfast and a bacon sandwich, both very nice. Quite surprised about the poorer reviews about this place. Although at the time there was only us two in, a little more pricier than some other places but as a one of every now and again i would pay it as it has stunning views over the valley to the sea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have eaten here on many occasions, usually breakfast but on Sunday we went in, it has been altered which is nice but there were few people in and it took 35 mins for our order to arrive, we had finished out drinks. There were three members of staff stood doing very little other than chatting to each other and one staff member was sneezing very dramatically and didn't leave the serving area to sneeze away from customers.Sadly we will not be returning here again but maybe try the actual farm itself. Sorry

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepneyHF, Owner at Stepney Hill Farm, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Trish

You are probably unaware but the restaurant in town no longer is associated with Stepney Hill Farm, it is under new management to which we understand may not be working out too well, we always appreciate customer feed back and hope that this experience has not put you off trying our tea rooms up here on the farm.

Many Thanks

Stepney Hill Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was really looking forward to going here but was unfortunately very disappointed. It felt more like a children's crèche thsn a café the service wasnt very good there was only filter coffee nothing special. The views are lovely though and the lambs were lovely but everything else was basic. The toilet was filthy you had to clean the seat before you could use it there was mud everywhere. I do relise this is a farm but it should still be clean. They need to go to Marton farm cafe and shop in Bridlington to see how they do it that is great.like I said a real shame it doesn't live up to what they advertise on facebook.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepneyHF, Manager at Stepney Hill Farm, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Sue

I am saddened by your response to your experience up here at the farm, We try to make the Tea Rooms suitable for all guests including children, the day you came up to the tea rooms we also had a little boy and his family being shown around the farm as a gift for his amazing recovery after being involved in a car accident, you may have heard of the story in local press, we all know if children have the chance they will get muddy. Our kitchen staff were quite busy that day and did attend to the issue immediately after you raised it and were very apologetic at the time, we can only apologize again for the experience you had and hope that it does not put you off returning to our tea rooms.

Apologies
Stepney Hill Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Burger in Town!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Ok you wait for it, but it's freshly cooked and absolutely the best burger you will taste, good things come to those that wait. The staff have always been polite, I can't fault it, reasonable as well!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stepney Hill Farm also viewed

East Ayton, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Stepney Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing