We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaded, Worn - the photos don't lie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 1 November 2011

28/10/11; A late booking for a short week-end stay. Rooms on third floor were very run down. The breakfast was luke warm. If you're uncertain of the mixed reviews then take a look at the photos - they do represent the reality. We loved Scarborough and the surrounding area but we'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marakie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Rooms were better than expected for the price we paid and on the whole I was pleasantly suprised even though we had no sea view.
Location was excellent along the North bay with lots of nice walks around and also within easy reach of the South bay and castle ruins on the hill dividing the North and South bays. Lovely beaches down below the cliff tops and thought that the North bay in particular had a very nice beach.
There were a few decent pubs and restaurants to get a drink and meal apart from the hotel's own pub (bit pricey) and restaurant about which I cannot comment on as we did not actually get a chance to eat there.
Reception staff were average which is ok in my books.
There is also quite a bit to do in the immediate area as well as a indoor bowling green next to the hotel which is quite fun to try.
All in all, a pleasant hotel in an amazing area and would definately go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My partner and I found a great deal through a third party consisting of 2 nights stay, three course meal both evenings and breakfast both mornings for only £59pp.

I thought this was an absolute steal until i came on Trip Advisor and read some of the reviews (some with added pictures) and I was instantly crashed back down to Earth with the realisation that yes, there was a catch. Alot of the reviews on here are poor and some are really quite good so I was quite apprehensive as to what would be in store.

The greeting by the receptionist was very pleasant and she was very willing to help (and quite humerous!). The entrance / lobby / bar area is dated but quite pleasant, clean and tidy. I was surprised to find an old gated lift that I think is character building and i was told by the staff - grade 1 listed. Anyway, the room was on the fourth floor with a great view. Yes the room was dated, yes the bathroom was dated and the decor could have done with a little tlc here and there. My room certainly was not as bad as some reviews have suggested on here.

The sheets were clean, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean..................long story short - for what we paid we cant complain but it is an old building and no doubt very hard and expensive to maintain. I would have been quite unhappy if we had paid more but it was comfortable and thats all that mattered to us for a cheap weekend getaway.

The food was good! (though perhaps not worth the £25 per head for three courses stated on the menu). Yes, it is served in a dated dining room with dated plates but they were clean, the food was hot and served very quickly.

All in all, I enjoyed my weekend and I feel bad about dreading my stay as i was pleasantly surprised. Its not the Ritz but its got all the basics right apart from a few cosmetic issues. I would recommend this hotel but i do think if people have paid alot of money, there is a chance they may be disappointed in terms of decor / presentation but that can be changed - the staff were lovely!!

Oh and the bars happy hour between 4pm and 6pm is an absolute bargain! £3.50 for a pint and a glass of wine!

Room Tip: Unable to comment as I did not see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

i didnt read reviews until i booked . im glad i didnt as i would have gone elsrwhere. Yes the roomwas in need of up grading but it was clean, the food was really good and the staff were very pleasant and friendly.As the hotel is in liqidation i think they are making every effort to make our stay good.

Room Tip: I did not have a sea view but it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from a weekend at this hotel and feel some of the comments are unfair. Yes it is in need of a refurbishment and there are some cleaning issues but if it WAS refurbished it would be SO much more expensive to stay there wouldn't it!!
The staff are very helpful and friendly. Food is very good. Bar prices a bit steep, especially for soft drinks but they do have a "happy hour" and there are other pubs in the area.
Lovely location overlooking the North Bay so easy to stroll down to the beach or very close to Peasholm park which you MUST visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Arrived at the Clifton Hotel Friday 21st October for the weekend first impressions form the outside is a Hotel in need of repair.We had booked through Travel Zoo and paid extra to upgrade to a luxury sea view room the only part of the upgrade that was true was the seaview.The room smelt musty the carpets were threadbare and stained the windows so dirty the sea view was difficult to appreciate.Cracked windows had sellotape over the cracks curtains were dusty cobwebs on the light fittings.Dining room was equally as bad with wallpaper hanging of the walls food was very poor only ate in the hotel on one evening and was ill the following day.Staff were extremely poor and not interested in any complaints.Would not reccomend this hotel if it was free

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I'd read some less than enthusiastic reviews about the Clifton, so I wasn;t expecting anything great. I booked in on my own B & B for a long weekend and got a very good deal.
Yes, the hotel is ready for a makeover, but but I couldn't grumble, the staff were very good, and so were the breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £29 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing