We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 night stay - Turkey and Tinsel 2l.11.11 to 25.11.11” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“4 night stay - Turkey and Tinsel 2l.11.11 to 25.11.11”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were a party of 49 and as the organiser, was concerned at some of the reviews on the site. What a pleasant surprise - yes it needs some tlc- most of these older hotels do. The alternative is a faceless modern hotel. Room was really nice, warm and clean, overlooking the bay, food was good and plentiful, staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the lady who worked in the bar area and never seemed to go home.. Entertainment was ok and our trips to surrounding areas were very good. For what we paid for 5 days four nights it was good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    362
    305
    212
    293
See reviews for
222
786
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

after booking our weekend at The Clifton Hotel, we were concerned after reading some of the reviews posted. However, we were pleasently surprised when we arrived! the corridors were tired, but the room was lovely with a great seaview, the staff couldnt have done enough, and Lucy the bartender was lovely! £34.50 per night dinner bed and breakfast is fantastic value for money, and the food was great and served impeccably! some people want to pay 2star prices and expect 5 star accomodation!! good luck to The Clifton, long may you reign! the Rices stayed 18 november to 20th x x x x

Room Tip: book a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Clifton Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

As a group of 53 people you would expect at least 1 complaint, non
we went to the Clifton for a Line Dance week-end in November. After reading some of the reports I was a bit concerned about what we would find.
Yes it's tired, yes it could do with a face lift.
But the staff were great, the food was of a good standard, the rooms were clean and warm, what more could you want,
If you want 5 star treatment you pay 5 star prices
would go back no problem

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Clifton Hotel,
and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011


I stayed in the Clifton Hotel in Scarborough on a Saturday night in October.
 
Firstly, when I arrived at Reception, nobody knew anything of my booking. I was first told I must have booked a different hotel however I showed the Receptionist that this was not the case by bringing the email (from booking.com) up on my phone. After numerous phone calls, we were finally given a room on the second floor. The receptionist was not apologetic, and seemed irritated at best.
 
There was a sign on the reception that stated that 'due to the digital switchover', some televisions in some rooms may not be working. I was surprised that we hadn't been informed of this on booking - it is unreasonable to expect guests to watch tv in the lounge, with others - surely they should be given a choice at what to watch? Instead of watching a communal television. There has been plenty of notice for the digital switchover, to allow for the hotel to replace TVs or even buy freeview boxes. Our TV had 2 channels, however as we were out for the evening this was not too much of a problem. I would imagine that this would not be the case for some of the longer term guests.

The bathroom was generally grotty/ old/unclean - but the fact that what was quite obviously a pubic hair was left in the bath, did not fill me with confidence for the cleanliness of the rest of the room. It made me feel rather uncomfortable, and I wouldn't really consider myself a 'clean freak' but I wouldn't expect to have to clean a hotel bath out before use. As it was, we elected not to use the bathroom. We checked in to a hotel in Filey the following night instead.
 
After the toilet flushes, or the sink is used in our room or neighboring rooms, there is a horrible squeeling / squeeking noise that follows for a few minutes after. This continues through the night and caused us to wake up on a number of occasions. Apparently this is known as water hammer, caused by high water pressure, but is easily managed.
 
Also, the heating in the hotel is unbearable. We were not afforded the luxury of controlling our own heating(!) instead the heating is turned on and off centally, for the whole hotel - the room was unbelievably hot. I rang reception at around midnight to ask if something could be done, as the plumbing noises, combined with the very uncomfortable temperatures meant that sleep was very difficult. We opened the window, to try and cool the room down but this just caused the door to bang as there was a slight breeze (again causing interruptions to our sleep).
 
Other minor things to note are the fact that there was only decaffinated coffee available (no good after the poor night's sleep we had!) and that there was no shampoo, just shower gel. This was an inconvience and as I travel frequently, I know that this is not typical of a 3* hotel. There was also a collection of empty wine bottles in the corridor on floor 2 ....which remained there until we checked out. This does not give a good impression.
 
When we returned in the evening after we had been out for a meal, and we had to wait just over 20 minutes for the night porter to provide us with the key we'd had to hand back in on leaving the hotel. This was highly irritating, especially because we then only had time for one drink in the bar (where coke is served flat, out of a bottle) before it closed. 
 
In the morning, the Housekeepers incessantly knocked on our door until we checked out at 11am on the Sunday, surely to inform the housekeepers WHEN a guest has checked out would be better practice?
 
We paid £65 room only, so I really do not feel that this was good value for money. I don't think I am being picky about things, many of the items such as the shower gel and wait at reception I would have let go as a one off - but it just seemed to be one thing after another and it ruined what would have been a lovely weekend for us.
 
I have paid far less per night at B&Bs and enjoyed a much higher level of cleanliness, better customer service, nicer rooms and of course, a breakfast for nearly half the price! I am sorry to have to write such a negative review, but staff were not very helpful in dealing with my complaints. I emailed, and the Manager, after a few days, offered a free upgrade for next time I return. I will spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peach1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Clifton was a fine hotel in its' time but is now slightly shabby. The staff were brilliant and very friendly. Food was reasonable and our room was massive with a bay window overlooking the sea. We had a great weekend and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Go for the seaview upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redlaneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

28/10/11; A late booking for a short week-end stay. Rooms on third floor were very run down. The breakfast was luke warm. If you're uncertain of the mixed reviews then take a look at the photos - they do represent the reality. We loved Scarborough and the surrounding area but we'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marakie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Rooms were better than expected for the price we paid and on the whole I was pleasantly suprised even though we had no sea view.
Location was excellent along the North bay with lots of nice walks around and also within easy reach of the South bay and castle ruins on the hill dividing the North and South bays. Lovely beaches down below the cliff tops and thought that the North bay in particular had a very nice beach.
There were a few decent pubs and restaurants to get a drink and meal apart from the hotel's own pub (bit pricey) and restaurant about which I cannot comment on as we did not actually get a chance to eat there.
Reception staff were average which is ok in my books.
There is also quite a bit to do in the immediate area as well as a indoor bowling green next to the hotel which is quite fun to try.
All in all, a pleasant hotel in an amazing area and would definately go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing