We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Clacton-On-Sea
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great Christmas break”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Reading the reviews I thought I had made a mistake booking this hotel but upon final payment for the booking got a nice email from the hotel confirming everyting was booked to my satisfaction. Upon arrival the hotel looked great on the cliff top and the staff awarded a pleasant greeting. The stay was very good and the food excellant. Well done to the staff for doing such a grand job. If in the facinity again will certainly book.

Room Tip: Book parking - well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    368
    307
    213
    297
See reviews for
224
792
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My husband and myself stayed at The Clifton Hotel 7th December for one night. I got a deal from the newspaper paying £11.80 for a double room only for 1 night. After reading reviews I thought we would probably walk straight out once we got there.
However, bearing in mind this is a really big old hotel, we got a warm welcome at the reception and the hotel was lovely and warm too. We were given our room key then went to find our room. While we were walking through the hotel I found it to be very warm due to the central heating been on which was lovely as the weather outside was so cold.
When we got to our room we found it to be very dated but it was warm, clean and comfortable. The furniture was very worn. Yes the room could do with modernising but it was good enough for a night or even a few.
The only negative thing is that I would have been dissapointed if I had paid a lot more to stay there and was given that room as I understand from reviews that some rooms have been refurbished. I also feel that it shouldn't matter how much you pay you still expect the quality of full price. Being given the full price quality would have made me want to stay there again at whatever price but although I didn't have any complaints I would not want to stay there in the same room or equivilent at a higher price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was a birthday surprise present for my wife, from our two daughters. The sun was shining on the hotel when we arrived and it looked at its best, as it is overlooking the sea, at the quiet North Bay of Scarborough.
We had a sea-view room, which was cosy and warm. The small bathroom had just been renovated, but my wife found it impossible to adjust the water flow for a bath, and had to settle for a shower. The shower head could not be clamped in place and had to be held. Withour these problems, I would have given our stay four stars.
The two breakfasts we had were really good and my wife certainly recommends the porrige. We were quite satisfied with the dinners; the food was wholesome, enjoyable and attentively served.
The staff we encountered were friendly and interested in our welfare
Altogether, it was a pleasant and memorable experience..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel looks grand standing on top of the cliffs but unfortunately that's where it ends. We booked a two nights stay for dinner, bed and breakfast having seen the offer on Travelzoo. On arrival the reception staff were polite explaining the parking problems and offering a sensible solution. Going to our room via an outdated lift reminded us of the last disaster weekend so we hoped for better. The room having paid for a sea view was satisfactory with a couch to enjoy the sea view. You had to move the couch to use the wardrobe. The light in the bathroom wasn't working but this was rectified promptly. The radiator in the bathroom was great but the one in the room didn't work. The staff brought up an electric converter. Although dated, the room was reasonably clean but the bed was rock hard and terrible. Now for the restuarant - breakfast the first morning was perfectly satisfactory althoug there was no grapefruit or anything other than cerial. The cooked breakfast was satisfactory. Breakfast the second day was also okay, however we were moved to a very small alternative room where the breakfast had to be delivered, all because a dance group took over the hotel.
Now the main area of COMPLAINT - the evening meal or dinner. The menu suggested that our inclusive dinner was valued at £25 yet there were supplements for anything worth eating. How about a £5.90 supplement for scampi on a £25 menu. I had to settle for cottage pie which arrived over-cooked, reheated and very dry underneath the gravy. The desert wasn't much better settling for 3 scoops of really cheap ice cream rather than pay a supplement for something possibly better. I felt really conned with this inclusive dinner offer. You can buy scampi and chips cheaper on the seafront. We didn't bother with dinner the second night deciding to try one of the local pubs for food.
I do hope the hotel management take time to read this (and perhaps some of the other reviews) and make some choice decisions on improving things especially the dinner pricing. I don't know if this is relavant, but there was a sign on the reception desk stating that the hotel was being managed by joint administrators. The confirmation booking also stated that.
Pity Travelzoo didn't mention it in their recommendation, or perhaps they didnt know.
It is unlikely I would ever use this hotel again unless things change drastically.
By the way there was a £20 deposit for having a TV remote control.

Room Tip: Check what you are getting for your money - stay clear of any inclusive dinner offer and eat elsewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were a party of 49 and as the organiser, was concerned at some of the reviews on the site. What a pleasant surprise - yes it needs some tlc- most of these older hotels do. The alternative is a faceless modern hotel. Room was really nice, warm and clean, overlooking the bay, food was good and plentiful, staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the lady who worked in the bar area and never seemed to go home.. Entertainment was ok and our trips to surrounding areas were very good. For what we paid for 5 days four nights it was good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

after booking our weekend at The Clifton Hotel, we were concerned after reading some of the reviews posted. However, we were pleasently surprised when we arrived! the corridors were tired, but the room was lovely with a great seaview, the staff couldnt have done enough, and Lucy the bartender was lovely! £34.50 per night dinner bed and breakfast is fantastic value for money, and the food was great and served impeccably! some people want to pay 2star prices and expect 5 star accomodation!! good luck to The Clifton, long may you reign! the Rices stayed 18 november to 20th x x x x

Room Tip: book a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Clifton Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

As a group of 53 people you would expect at least 1 complaint, non
we went to the Clifton for a Line Dance week-end in November. After reading some of the reports I was a bit concerned about what we would find.
Yes it's tired, yes it could do with a face lift.
But the staff were great, the food was of a good standard, the rooms were clean and warm, what more could you want,
If you want 5 star treatment you pay 5 star prices
would go back no problem

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Clifton Hotel,
and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,303 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing