We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We got this through a KGB deal. We were worried about the reviews however enjoyed our stay! We stayed one night and it was in a great location and acted as a good base for us to explore! We had a sea view, needed new carpets but room was clean so no complaints! Breakfast was good, and the old lift caused us much amusement!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaandZak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    378
    314
    217
    309
See reviews for
229
811
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

when we drove up to the hotel it look terrible from the side view. The picture that is shown is so miss leading. The plaster is coming off the wall and it looks dirty. when we got in to the hotel it smelt of dampness. when we got into the room i was so taken a back to how bad it was. the windows were coverd in cobwebs they looked like they had not been washed in ages. the bath room was absolutely disgusting i felt sick at how someone or how a hotel could expect PAYING CUSTOMER to have a wash in it. tiles around bath had mould coming out of them and the bath itself was yellow and had cracks in it. when i asked to get moved rooms they couldnt gaurentee a sea view ( which i pay extra for) neither were they gaurentee to give me a double room. so after letting us see a few rooms we finally decided to take one that look a bit better than the rest. but most of th rooms had ALL the same problem. ALL needing a good clean. lucky enough i had got the package as a b&b as the prices of the food was unreal and well over priced for quality of the food. the bar prices were so overly priced although the lady at the bar was kind and helpful. the reception staff where so unhelpful and unpleasant after we asked to get moved. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless it had a major refurb.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was fortunate when I walked through the door on a busy Saturday night and took the last but one room available. It was reasonably good in that the bed and bathroom were clean [most all else not] but a £20 deposit for the TV remote says it all. It is used to being maltreated. Nevertheless the rate was cheap and leaving early I didn't experience the restaurant for breakfast which looked clean enough. Staff, such as I saw, seemed civil and well presented. I ate out elsewhere, the quite reasonable and nearby CoGinis Italian restaurant at top North Marine Road which is a five minutes walk from the Clifton. The hotel reflected the state of Scarborough, as the pub next door. Underinvestment over a long period of time and I think the hotel is in administration. But they offered me a room when all else seemed full. Thanks but I wouldn't take my girlfriend there to be honest.

Room Tip: barter and ask for more but be polite, yes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel has the potential to be great. Its in a brilliant location with fantastic views out to sea unfortunately during our stay thats all i could bear to do, look out to sea. Although the windows were in need of a good clean. The room was very old fashioned and in dire need of decoration. The bathroom was full of broken tiles and when you looked up there was cobwebs all round the ceiling. After having a very quick bath i realised that the glass in the bathroom wasnt frosted so with the lights on anyone outside could see through into the room.
The tv didnt have a remote control so was very difficult to control volume and channels. inthe end the children ended up watching a film on the ipad.
The walls were actually full of dust so when you brushed against them you got dust on yur clothes. On a positive, the breakfast was good.
All in all i wouldnt recommend this hotel unless it had a complete revamp and thorough cleaning

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsaholsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Got a cheap deal on KGB for this hotel. So glad we did!
This hotel is in such a wonderful location - right at the end of the road on the cliff top above the North Bay. The views were beautiful and has such potential to be a magnificent hotel. But this potential has most definitely not been realized.
The room we were given did have a view of the sea and clean sheets but that’s about as good as it got. The bathroom was dirty and didn’t look like it had been cleaned since the last occupant. The shower curtain was also dirty, as was the toilet seat which could do with being changed. The walls were in great need of repapering. There were two dark, greasy patches on the wall behind the bed where people had been sitting up in bed resting their heads against the wall. The tv was tiny and would have been impossible to see from the bed (we only used it for the radio). The kettle was dirty on the outside and really needed a clean. On the plus side the water was hot and the shower worked. It was a spacious room with a wardrobe and chairs by the window to enjoy the view from. And it was very quiet with no noise from the hallway outside or from the road below.
The staff were also friendly and accommodating. We couldn’t fault them at all. Although it was a little strange when the barman left a long queue at the bar to take someone’s bag to their room. Surely it would be advisable to employ enough staff to cover the busy times.
The pricing in this hotel is very strange. A 3 course evening meal was priced at £25 per person however there were various supplements such as an extra £4.95 for prawn cocktail (with the other choices being soup or that well-loved starter of ‘a selection of fruit juices’). If you wanted scampi it was another £6.95. All very strange. We gave it a miss.
There is happy hour at the hotel bar between 4 and 6 which brought the drinks price back into the realms of normality. The breakfast was your basic full English which is just what we wanted.
Overall, this hotel was very basic and had an issue with cleanliness however if you just want somewhere to sleep and shower in and spend most of your time exploring the wonderful surroundings then its fine. If I’d paid full price then I may not have been so forgiving.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatJames7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We booked a room at this awful hotel on a special weekend rate. It was so bad that we packed our bags after less than an hour and returned home. Room was filthy with ancient furniture and smelly bed sheets. The shower had mould and the facilities (such as there were) were dire.

I would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel, even if you were paid to do so.

I asked for another room but was told they did not have anything better than we had been given (God help them!). When we checked out within the hour the receptionist tried to book us a room at their 'sister' hotel. Apparently they could only do so if we paid them an additional £50! What a disgrace.

If you take my tip you will avoid this hotel like the plague, don't go near the place without a big vat of sanitising spray or, better still, just stay away.

Dreadful!

Room Tip: If you want a good room I would advise a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We booked this very cheap deal through KGB. We were welcomed warmly, and paid an extra £10 for a sea view. We expected it to be shabby due to the reviews, but the views/hotel location are great and we thought it would be fine for one night. Oh dear, big mistake. We were given the room keys and what a shock. The room was festooned with cobwebs and at least an inch of dust on the 'furniture' - which was stained 70s formica with drawers and doors hanging off. The bathroom was covered in mouldy tiles. The bedding looked very clean if old. I went to reception to ask for another room and was told that I hadn't requested a 'superior' room. No, but I had expected I clean room I said! The chap's demeanour changed completely and he begrudgingly offered a room on the fourth floor. That was even worse! Damp patches where the roof had leaked and water had run down the walls. The water had run into the headboard which was damp and stained - and even bigger cobwebs - like the Addams family house. I went back to reception and asked for a refund. I was then offered another room to look at. This was much superior in terms of decor and furnishings, although still shabby. We guessed this must be one of their 'suites'. The room had inches of dust on the light fittings and furniture, and the bath was full of hair, yuk. However, it was so much of an improvement, we decided to stay but asked for the room and particularly the bath to be cleaned. It turned out there were no cleaning staff available and we ended up with the Restaurant Manager coming to clean the bath. We decided that we would just laugh at our experience, and vow never to return. As previous reveiwers have said, breakfast was grim and ingredients were obviously cheap. Maybe the cleaners cooked the breakfast in a kind of role reversal! Served in a grimey 'ballroom' it was hard to find a clean bowl or plate, but fair's fair - it was a good cup of tea! Our voucher was worth £109. Even though we only paid £39 for the night, we should've stayed at the Premier Inn where cleanliness and service really is premium for that budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing