We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a lovely hotel if some money was spent on it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could be a lovely hotel if some money was spent on it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Myself and my husband have just returned from a two night stay at the Clifton Hotel in Scarborough. We booked the hotel as it was a kgb deal - £59 for two people for two nights b&b.

We read several reviews before we went and because of this we weren't really expecting that much from the hotel but to be honest overall we had a good time. I have tried to put things under headings to make it easier for people to pick out what is important to them.

The hotel

It is very sad to see a hotel that was clearly once grand and full of character being allowed to fall into such decay and disrepair. It will clearly take a lot of money to update the building and I'm not sure if the owners have the appetite for it. A lot of it is merely cosmetic - filling in the cracks, re-papering, re-carpeting or painting, but in such a large building it does look very tired, even from the outside.

The location

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the South Bay where everything happens, however if you are mobile it is pleasant and manageable. Especially if you go down the hill in front of the hotel and walk to your right along the sea front.

Parking

I wasn't sure whether to book parking or not as £6 a night seemed a little steep, especially when you have already paid to stay in the hotel but we ended up deciding to book it anyway last minute as we weren't sure what other parking options were available. I phoned to book parking for the two nights on the Monday before we went on the Thursday so to be honest I thought we might not get a space but the man on reception said it was fine and we could pay on arrival.

When we arrived we knew to look for our names in the car park for our reserved space - there wasn't one. My husband went inside to find out when our space would be available and we were told to park around the back and they would try to get us moved later in the day. The car park around the back does look a bit dodgy and not surfaced well at all but it was fine so we parked up and went out for the day. When we returned there was a cone in front of our car with our name on, that was clearly now our parking space! As the car park was pretty bad I was a bit shocked to be charged £12 for the two nights but although we felt it was a bit cheeky of the hotel it didn't bother us enough to complain. We never moved the car for our whole stay and it was fine. Also, there wasn't any parking around the hotel as it all permit only parking.

Staff

The reception staff on checking in didn't get up from their seat which was a distance from the reception counter and just shouted 'can I help you'. This seemed a bit poor but she did provide us with all the information we needed about breakfast times, checking times etc. She told us our room number and that it was on the second floor but didn't actually tell us how to get there or if there was a lift. We did however find it ourselves with no problems.

The staff at breakfast time were very helpful and courteous. Dot in particular was lovely.

The lady on the bar on Friday night was also very nice and helpful.

The room

We had a double room on the second floor which was very tired and in need of updating however for the amount of time we spent in it it was ok. The room was a little small but we have stayed in smaller. Clearly some attempt has been made at modernisation in the bathroom, however the hotel has been let down by the cleaners here as mould and mildew has been allowed to develop in the shower and the whole room basically hadn't been cleaned well at all. Cracked tiles on the floor also give the impression that upkeep is not a high priority for the owners. The shower again was a little small however it was lovely and warm and powerful.

The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of spare pillows in the wardrobe.

Breakfast

Some other reviewers have commented that the food is inedible however we did not find this the case. Both mornings we had a full English which was tasty and plentiful, several rounds of toast (white and brown bread available) and cereal (there were several to choose from and also porridge). My only negative about the breakfast is that the orange juice was a bit weak and not fresh juice. As mentioned above the staff in the breakfast room were pleasant and kept on top of replenishing all items.

Overall

We paid £59 for two nights bed and breakfast, so overall we cannot complain at the value for money we received. However, without the KGB deal it would have been £108 for the two nights and I have to say that had we paid this I would have asked for my money back and stayed somewhere else. I really wanted to like this hotel, and the staff and location helped towards this, however the lack of care that has been taken of the building and fittings really lets it down. The rating of 2/5 says 'poor', I think this is harsh but it would have been too generous to rate it 3/5.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellbob1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    370
    308
    214
    298
See reviews for
226
793
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is showing its age, food and the entertainment were fine the only downside was a bus party played bingo in the bar.Staff were very helpfull as i am dissabled and my room was perdect on the first floor and close to the lift.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberthturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The location of the hotel is great but when you arrive to the hotel you will never know what kind of room you will get. Some of the rooms are OK and some are pretty bad, they call them cosy double,which they are simply single rooms and they squeeze a double bed in them. They are tiny and uncomfortable and smelly unfortunately. We stayed in this hotel three times and it was OK for the value of money you get BUT our third time was terrible and we were given one of these cosy unbearable room and very smelly. MAKE SURE TO REQUEST A PROPER ROOM BEFORE YOU BOOK, The food is always good and the location is lovely and the place is a bit outdated but for the price is really ok but we will be very undecided if we go there again, unless we make pretty sure we get a reasonable room to stay in. However, we complained and changed the room for us but our friends did not get one in these pretty bad so called cosy doubles !!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the cosy double rooms .... make sure to request a decent room before you go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadviceshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed there on the 6 & 7 July, through a deal with KGB. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life. It is such a shame as the location is ideal for visiting Scarborough centre and being right on the beach front.

The entrance to the hotel was grubby, damp looking and very dated. The staff were not the most helpful and spent more time talking to each other than doing anything about the state of the rooms, hall ways and even the bar area.

Our room looked like it had not been hoovered in weeks and we did not have a bathroom but the smallest ensure shower room (box) I have seen. The shower didn't work, in as much as the water came out of the sides of the shower head and flowed over the top of the shower door rather than down into the shower tray. The flush didn't work properly and there was no way on this earth that you could even attempt to dry yourself in the room as it was just so small.

The windows were leaking and although we paid for a seaview, we could not see too much as the double glazing was so rotten the condensation stopped most visability. I don't think the windows have been cleaned since they were put in.

Breakfast was not very good either. We tried it the first morning but only had the toast on the second morning. You could see from just looking around that there was very satisfied customers in the hotel.

Dirty towlels were left outside rooms for the two days we were there which is disgusting and there is no reason for this at all. No matter how little money the hotel has.

It would be nice for Britannia to spend some money on this hotel as it has so much potential.

I would advise anyone who has booked to stay here to seriously reconsider.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked 3 nights B&B here on a KGB deal. First the compliments! Fantastically friendly staff, especially the lady who cleaned our room and topped up our in-room tea tray. Amazing sea views from our room, number 127, overlooking the splendid North Bay for miles. Very large room, great flat-screen TV, nice bed linen and matching curtains, really comfortable bed and we slept extremely well. Breakfast was a feast - especially the porridge! Sadly, not all of my comments are positive. The fabric and fittings of the hotel are old, shabby, worn and badly need a full refurbishment! The bathroom was hideous in pink plastic, held together with masses of mouldy-looking plastic grouting. Most woodwork was over-painted in many chipped and flaking layers, some carpets were frayed, doors looked knocked about, and we did not dare to attempt to open any of the ancient sash windows. If this hotel could find someone who could totally and thoroughly renovate it, this could be THE jewel in Scarborough's crown! As a disabled guest, I just about managed the tiny old fashioned gated lift and uneven floor, but really had to take care and move slowly. It must have been magnificent when it began and potentially could be great again, but I doubt if anyone will have the money to invest in this grand old lady of hotels to restore her to what must have been her former glory! For our wedding anniversary trip, this hotel did not evoke much romantic ambience!

Room Tip: Get a sea view! Don't pay full rate - it is simply not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel was booked for Father of the Bride and spouse attending my daughters wedding.
Due to dissabilities a disabled friendly room was requested as was ease of access/ exit to room. We also needed availability for them to arrive and book in smoothly, for a late return on Saturday evening and a late checkout on Sunday.
The front of house staff dealing with booking the room were very friendly and efficient in dealing with my requests on their behalf and according to my ex husband were friendly and efficient on arrival.
Although i didnot see the room myself, it was reported as being very clean and tidy, comfortable and appropriate for their needs. They reported a very enjoyable stay and recommended that we pay a visit ourselves sometime to sample the delights they experienced.
Although only breakfast was sampled they said it was very good.
From their comment i would recommend this hotel and do plan to go there when able.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneMaughanRailton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is tragic. It has the potential to be great, huge rooms and a wonderful location yet it falls way short.
Worn out carpets, flaking paint, damp patches on ceilings, torn wallpaper and decor from the 70s all contribute to an unsatisfactory experience. Perhaps more worrying is that the owners don't seem to be bothered and the staff don't care, our room was dirty with bizarrely an apple & scone from the previous occupants left for us to 'enjoy'.
I strongly recommend that you do not stay at this hotel until Britannia spend some money.

Also any promise of free wifi is a lie.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing