We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Clifton Hotel for 3 days with two of our Grandchildren from Sunday 12th August; it was great to having a parking space waiting for us on a busy Sunday. We were greeted by very helpful friendly staff.
Although this hotel is not in perfect condition, everywhere seemed clean the food was good, the linen & towels were spotless, our rooms were spacious with comfortable beds and pillows. All of the staff were friendly. We had a great time in this wonderful old hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Spent 3 days in Scareborough stayed at the Clifton Hotel, yes the building looks tired but ignore this. The staff were very helpful and were a credit to the hotel, room 364 had fantistic views of the North Bay and was very clean and tidyand the bed was extremly comfortable. We were booked in for dinner bed and breakfast, the evening meal was well cooked and was delicious as far as the buffet breakfast we can not praise this enough from the wonderful bacon to the soft fried eggs you can have as much or as little as you want. We will be booking in again as this is a great place to lay your head down plus the happy hour (2 hours) great idea. surgest that you pre book a parking space in the car park saves a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green1ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I booked the hotel for a two night stay Thur / Frid, 2nd & 3rd August because they had availability at very short notice, and as a party we were just looking for somewhere reasonable priced that served brealfast. I booked two twin rooms as we were a party of four adults. On arrival we parked in the small car park at the back of the hotel and noticed that some of the spaces had been reserved; on asking at reception we found that this service was available for a very reasonable amount of money. Reception staff were very helpful, and had a very typical droll, Yorkshire sense of humour especially with Lancastrians like ourselves. The rest of the staff we spoke to were all friendly. The rooms we were allocated were shabby and they do need upgrading and lots of tender loving care, however they were clean, as was all the bedding. Two of our party were allocated a sea view, (which we didn't expect) their room was in much better shape than ours. The rest of the hotel is in the same state; for the most part clean, but very shabby. It's obviously one of the older hotels in Scarborough and is now showing itself in faded glory; the lift was quite fascinating, especially for two of the people in our party who although in their early 20's had never seen anything quite like it, be aware you'll only get 2 people in there at any one time with luggage. Breakfast was totally acceptable with a choice of fruit juice, water tea or coffee, fruit, cereal, toast or 'full English' (buffet style; so you can have all if you're thinking of filling up for the day)!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nosnikta_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I recently stayed here, not the greatest hotel I've ever stayed in but it's an ok place to get your head down!! Rooms are clean, although a little small, if your fat (like me) you may struggle with the size of the double bed, which is more of a 3/4 size double, I left the Mrs on the bed & I slept on the floor (we where very drunk)
Breakfast was passable, remember you get what you pay for, remember it's Scarborough not the Seychelles!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisdwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I made the mistake of reading some reviews before we went. Our experience of the hotel was exellent. The staff were really helpful. The room was clean and of a good size. We had a lovely sea view. The breakfast had a good choice of cereal, toast and full english. We also ordered room service and the food supplied was fresh and delicious. Nothing was too much for them and they were very tolerant of our three energetic children!!!

Room Tip: We had a family room as weve got three children. It had an exellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I was also on the coach party that Satjock was on and yes the handing out of the room keys was disorganised and took time, the lift is old fashioned but it did not take 30 mins to reach your room, The rooms are not the best but as anyway if you are not happy you must tell reception and ask to be moved dont just moan about it and do nothing to sort the situation. Yes the hotel was not the cleanest but again complain and ask to be moved hotels if you are that unhappy. As for the moans about the food we were pleased with the choice and it was always piping hot, the veg was served seperately but again was always hot, no complaints from us, again if you were not happy with the food eat elsewhere. I will keep an eye out for the hotel being upgraded and would definately go back once its had money spent on it. We knew we were going to an old hotel and not to have the same kind of room as we usually have but for the whole holiday it was good value for money.

Room Tip: A sea view is nice but noisey seagulls, if you are not happy you must go back to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birthdaygirl006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I recently spent one night at the Clifton hotel with my husband and seven year old granddaughter.we booked through late rooms. For the price we payed we really could not complain, though thought the bed was too hard.the man at reception wasn't very pleasant and a course in customer service may be helpful,but all in all would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liiandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £37 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing