We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$233
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,485)
Filter reviews
1,485 results
Traveller rating
172
410
341
235
327
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
410
341
235
327
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth bayplenty of hot waterbay windowbit datedplenty of choiceexcellent value for moneyjuliecastlecliffsseaside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,027 - 1,032 of 1,485 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is lovely, friendly staff, a bit dated perhaps but the food is good. The breakfast however, could have been better. The tea was made up in big jugs instead of tea bags and hot water, a big no, no. Entertainment a little sparse but rooms comfortable, some better than others. Good location unless you want to spend all your time on the South Bay then this is not for you.

Room Tip: sea views are best but most rooms have some form of view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

*Mold on the ceiling.
*Mold on the Walls.
*Old dusty tatty furniture.
*Bathroom had mold.
*Probably 'clean' at some level but after the initial impression we didn't trust it anymore than we would a public toilet.
*Scared to use the shower from fear of getting some kind of foot fungus or something.
*Lift feels really unsafe.
*Stairs are all over the place.
*Creaking and uneven floors.
*Damp all over the place
*Walls are in bad shape.
*Stayed only one night...worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I have been to many hotels all over the world...will never come back.
*Even though it claimed parking was 'available'...had to pay an extra fee and park in the street anyways.
*Gorgeous sea side view, but it's not worth it for what you get.
*Had we not stayed at a different hotel the next night, our holiday would have been ruined.

Room Tip: Seaside view or not...don't stay here...that's the best tip I can give you.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Black C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for one night for a friends 50th to attend the 40s weekend at pickering.
Upon arrival we were quite shocked at the outside appearance and wondered what we let ourselves in for? When inside it took on a different look and the receptionist was cheerfull and quickly booked us in we were all on the 1st floor in 3 rooms, the room was in need of updating as was the bathroom however everything was sevicable appart from the hair drier which looked broke this was not a problem for us though, the bed were comfy and the beding clean I had a good nights sleep, non of the usual hotel sounds that you can somtimes get. The view was great but the windows could have been cleaner, but on that sea front you must get a lot of weathering. Had breakfast next day,very nice all you can eat buffet but cold plates and cups made the food and drink soon loose its heat. I might stay at the cliffton again but scarborough isnt my type of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my husband (he was on a painting holiday)-hotel looks impressive from outside and has limited free parking spaces. We hadn't booked a see view but the scenery was so beautiful we did ask for one on arrival...we were offered one on 4th floor on side of hotel but as the window was chest height you could only see the sea if you were standing...we then had room 364 with a beautiful bay window with two tub chairs and coffee table in it-it overlooked north bay,the surfers and the imposing castle ruins which gave us beautiful views at sunrise. The room does need updating but I believe that the hotel has only recently been taken over by Britannia and I think this may be in the pipeline(the shower in this room wasn't especially powerful). The redeeming feature of the hotel was the food which was delicious with plenty of choice and variety . The hotel operates a 'Happy Hour' which ends at 6 it is worth buying a bottle of wine to go with your meal then as you have a saving of about £3 or£4. It is worth mentioning the dodgy lift .....you have to make sure that the internal lift gate is closed after exiting the lift for it to work-a lot of hotel guests are elderly and it is a treck to find out which floor the lift is stuck on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Have recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Clifton Hotel, Scarborough with my husband. We were on a coach trip to Scarborough from North Devon.
We were on the top floor room 492 we used up 5 towels in 24 hours along the window sill because water was coming in above the window. We know other rooms on that floor were also affected. On the top floor if one walked down the stairs water was coming in above the ceiling, it looked terrible. Also I had to put a towel on the floor by the toilet because there was a water leak from the back of the toilet. If I had not put the towel down on the floor when one got up in the night we would be walking in water.
Our room had not been vacummed before we had arrived either.
Outside of the Hotel the building is falling away we said it needs pulling down and rebuilding.
We did have a choice of menus but the first night the dinner was hardly warm, it did improve as the week went on. The vegetables when they were put on the table looked as if they had been in the dishes for sometime. My husband and I were pleased to get home for some hot meals.
We would definitely not go to this Hotel again.
There was only one member of staff that stood out was the young Lady behind the bar with long blonde hair she was most polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DearlingBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews