We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top value for money.”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Room 480.
1st impressions are paramount,GET IT PAINTED.After seeing exterior I was dreading entering the Clifton. Im glad i did. its dated ,sure , but i like its charms even the quirky floor boards. very warm welcome. room good size and very warm on a horrible wet foggy day. slept better than at home ,probably helped by the cider over ice which was normal price.great shower too. no noise disturbed me not even the Ghost. The buffet breakfast was much better than i expected and if you leave hungry its your own fault as its an open BUFFET.Staff very helpful even after I lost my keycard!!!the lift is a bit daunting .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boldybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    373
    308
    215
    304
See reviews for
227
801
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It is easy to tell that the Clifton has been a top hotel in its day, it now needs considerable investment to retain that status,
Breakfast, buffet style, help yourself, food ok, but many waits to replenish popular items,
evening meals excellent.
Room, clean , well equipped but draughty around old fashioned windows.
Staff, run off their feet and it showed, Reception, young lady pleasant and helpful, opposite shift, gentleman, unhappy, maybe not trained up for the job, square peg in round hole,
Lift, antique, often wondered if it would get to our floor and tiny inside, poor disabled access.
needs a lot of renovation and upgrading.
Bar expensive except for `happy hour`
Superb position on North Cliffs, marvellous views over Scarborough Bay, saving grace is the price, you cannot expect luxury and bargain prices, middle of the road.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannygrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is lovely, friendly staff, a bit dated perhaps but the food is good. The breakfast however, could have been better. The tea was made up in big jugs instead of tea bags and hot water, a big no, no. Entertainment a little sparse but rooms comfortable, some better than others. Good location unless you want to spend all your time on the South Bay then this is not for you.

Room Tip: sea views are best but most rooms have some form of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

*Mold on the ceiling.
*Mold on the Walls.
*Old dusty tatty furniture.
*Bathroom had mold.
*Probably 'clean' at some level but after the initial impression we didn't trust it anymore than we would a public toilet.
*Scared to use the shower from fear of getting some kind of foot fungus or something.
*Lift feels really unsafe.
*Stairs are all over the place.
*Creaking and uneven floors.
*Damp all over the place
*Walls are in bad shape.
*Stayed only one night...worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I have been to many hotels all over the world...will never come back.
*Even though it claimed parking was 'available'...had to pay an extra fee and park in the street anyways.
*Gorgeous sea side view, but it's not worth it for what you get.
*Had we not stayed at a different hotel the next night, our holiday would have been ruined.

Room Tip: Seaside view or not...don't stay here...that's the best tip I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for one night for a friends 50th to attend the 40s weekend at pickering.
Upon arrival we were quite shocked at the outside appearance and wondered what we let ourselves in for? When inside it took on a different look and the receptionist was cheerfull and quickly booked us in we were all on the 1st floor in 3 rooms, the room was in need of updating as was the bathroom however everything was sevicable appart from the hair drier which looked broke this was not a problem for us though, the bed were comfy and the beding clean I had a good nights sleep, non of the usual hotel sounds that you can somtimes get. The view was great but the windows could have been cleaner, but on that sea front you must get a lot of weathering. Had breakfast next day,very nice all you can eat buffet but cold plates and cups made the food and drink soon loose its heat. I might stay at the cliffton again but scarborough isnt my type of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my husband (he was on a painting holiday)-hotel looks impressive from outside and has limited free parking spaces. We hadn't booked a see view but the scenery was so beautiful we did ask for one on arrival...we were offered one on 4th floor on side of hotel but as the window was chest height you could only see the sea if you were standing...we then had room 364 with a beautiful bay window with two tub chairs and coffee table in it-it overlooked north bay,the surfers and the imposing castle ruins which gave us beautiful views at sunrise. The room does need updating but I believe that the hotel has only recently been taken over by Britannia and I think this may be in the pipeline(the shower in this room wasn't especially powerful). The redeeming feature of the hotel was the food which was delicious with plenty of choice and variety . The hotel operates a 'Happy Hour' which ends at 6 it is worth buying a bottle of wine to go with your meal then as you have a saving of about £3 or£4. It is worth mentioning the dodgy lift .....you have to make sure that the internal lift gate is closed after exiting the lift for it to work-a lot of hotel guests are elderly and it is a treck to find out which floor the lift is stuck on.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Have recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Clifton Hotel, Scarborough with my husband. We were on a coach trip to Scarborough from North Devon.
We were on the top floor room 492 we used up 5 towels in 24 hours along the window sill because water was coming in above the window. We know other rooms on that floor were also affected. On the top floor if one walked down the stairs water was coming in above the ceiling, it looked terrible. Also I had to put a towel on the floor by the toilet because there was a water leak from the back of the toilet. If I had not put the towel down on the floor when one got up in the night we would be walking in water.
Our room had not been vacummed before we had arrived either.
Outside of the Hotel the building is falling away we said it needs pulling down and rebuilding.
We did have a choice of menus but the first night the dinner was hardly warm, it did improve as the week went on. The vegetables when they were put on the table looked as if they had been in the dishes for sometime. My husband and I were pleased to get home for some hot meals.
We would definitely not go to this Hotel again.
There was only one member of staff that stood out was the young Lady behind the bar with long blonde hair she was most polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DearlingBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing