We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our 2nd Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Our first visit to the Clifton was not enjoyable at all in 2011, however this recent mini break was excellent.
Our room was compact but clean & modern. Small double bed but enough room for us both.
The hotel appears to be making changes which are noticable from our last visit 2 years ago. People should give this place a try because you can't beat the views.
We paid £15 per night per person with breakfast. the breakfast was basic but enough to choose from.
Happy hour at the bar from 4pm-6pm is a nice touch.
parking wasn't an issue for us as we utilised the street parking on the first day. reception give you a parking disc. On the second day we spotted a space on the car park!

The only thing that we can grumble about is some of the staff need to be a bit more welcoming. In particular the reception staff. For example I found a mobile phone in the bar area & handed to reception. the female receptionist barely lifted her head to speak to me & said nothing when I handed it to her.

The two days we spent at the clifton were great & we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishcouple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Having read the awful reviews before going I was on the verge of cancelling our two night stay. Glad I didn't. Our room was clean and comfortable, if a little basic, with sea view. Yes there were dirty windows and minor niggles but i'd rather have the clean room! Car parking is limited but plenty of roadside parking for a small fee.The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment which obviously takes time. We had a pleasant stay overall and had value for money. Don't expect 5 star accommodation unless you are paying 5 star prices.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and the rooms I viewed were clean and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from a Groupon deal. Heeded advice and pre-booked carparking space which worked out well. On checking in we were reminded we had a bottle of wine as part of the deal, for our meal or to enjoy in the lounge. Allocated an adjoining family room on 3rd floor right next to lift shaft with a view to the rear. Expected noise but was NOT disturbed by lift shaft. Room was GREAT. One broken drawer, were we bothered? No! Our beds were comfortable and we had plenty of storage space. The rooms were bright and cheerful. Nice hot shower and full sized bath. The room and linen smelled noticeably FRESH. Staff were lovely. Food was good (carvery one eve and 2 x breakfasts - plenty of breakfast choice much to my children's delight which meant they ate well to start their day 6y & 8y). I also thought the dining room was comfortable and prefer to self serve. We had after dinner drinks in the bar and they were very reasonable. The hotel has lost its glamour but it served us well, it is clean and tidy and felt like a great base. Yes paint flaked in some areas, carpets were a little worn on stairs, were we bothered? No! The location is FANTASTIC. In the less commercialised North Bay the family friendly park is around the corner. The beach is superb with both dog and dog-free beaches, life guards and a clean toilet facility. The rock pools on this beach are great. There's a little supermarket close to the beach too. You can walk to the North Railway which takes you to the Sea Life Centre or you can walk to it. The open top bus depot is also there to take you to the South Bay (or you can walk). We also walked into town (10mins) for the evening 'Oliver' show at the YMCA Theatre. Not using the car was a real bonus for us and we enjoyed the hotel as our base. The hotel is undergoing a renovation in part of the Bar area and I believe they are making a family games room. The exterior paintwork is also being redone. We wish the hotel and the excellent staff well with that. The high ceilings in our rooms were lovely - not at all a 'box'. We got a good deal for the money we paid and enjoyed our 2 night stay. Thank you. PS I read reviews that the lift stops at the 3rd floor - no it doesn't I saw it go a floor higher than mine!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwannagoplaces33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Couple with friends stayed Sat 18th and Sunday 19th May 2013
We had booked a weekend away with friends at this hotel through the Groupon website. Two nights for £79 (for two people) which included full English each morning and a buffet meal with wine on the first night - that is the value for money part.
A week before going we looked at the reviews and were shocked by some of the comments on how awful this place was. We had a pow wow with the other two couples and thought we'd give the hotel the benefit of doubt, but only after having called the hotel and spoke to reception. We mentioned the reviews and asked if we could be guaranteed the best rooms and we were offered newly refurbished 'bay view' rooms but at a cost of £10 per room per night. This still only made the break £99!
The three couples had 3 rooms next to each other - 242, 243 & 244 (ours was 244)
On the whole the rooms were nice, spacious and clean (both bedding and towels a brilliant white). Plenty of hot water and strong force of water for having a good hot shower. But even having just been refurbed they already showed signs of damp coming through on outer wall, cracks in ceiling, mould on sealant in bathroom. Sun bleached and ripped lining of curtains and bits of paper stuffed in sash of window! The bathroom window of one of the other rooms was cracked and had a piece of sticky tape holding it together!
The rest of the hotel, well, shall we say, is in need of a total facelift and bringing up to modern standards. And to be honest Britannia Hotels is spending a lot of money on this place and major refurb work is under way and will be for some time.
The staff are really friendly, there's not many of them, seeing how huge this place is, but they are very efficient at what they do. The barman can even multi skill, during the 'happy hour' on the Saturday he was pulling pints of Carlsberg one minute then off to unblock the toilet in our friends room in the next minute, then back to the bar - Superman!!!
Julie the manager and Liz & Jemma on reception were polite and very helpful as was the night watchman.
Food was of good quality, the evening buffet we had on our first night was ok, 3 courses if you can eat that much. Starters were tomato soup or tuna salad. There was a choice of 3 mains, the steak and mushroom pie was delicious but the other two options, gammon or chicken breast were very dry and didn't look very nice. The veg to go with it was nice. For dessert there was either chocolate fudge cake or peaches, cream or ice cream.
Breakfast was good old English - all the usual items were there. There was also grapefruit and mandarin segments, porridge, fruit juices, two tea & coffee stations, two industrial toasters with loads of bread, cereal & porridge. More than enough and would satisfy everyone (you would think). There is also 'happy hour' 4pm to 6pm with a pound off lager and bitter, making it £2.20 a pint and I think a small glass of red or white was the same.
Had a great time with great friends and we all agreed that you have to look past the frayed carpets and peeling plaster and appreciate what you are actually getting for £99!
Would go again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra tenner per night to get a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel from Monday 20th May 2013 for four nights. Shared a twin room with my mother and overall we were more than happy. Our room was clean with plenty of space and a large bathroom. The bed linen was spotless and the matresses appeared new, very comfortable.
We were at the back of the hotel on the fourth floor so were spared the noise from the rough seas and the wind.
The food in the hotel was of a high standard, it is not a restaurant, with four choices each night. It was piping hot and you could help yourselves.
The hotel itself was quirky, the lift was an experience and had trouble coping with a coachload of people arriving at once but what the heck, you are in no rush.
The staff were friendly and helpful and overall for the price paid it was great. We only used it as a base so it didn't matter that some of the decor was a little tired, I have seen far worse in more expensive London hotels.
The hotel had a lot of character and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stopped at the Clifton' really looking forward to it as I had never been to Scarborough before, but boy was I disappointed, the room was not very clean, windows were painted shut so you could not open them, FOOD was not the best quality and not very hot, ended up eating out for 3 of the 7 nights we were there, brittania hotels have took over this hotel and I really think it would be a wonderful hotel if they updated everything, tried to gets drink in the bar and there was never anyone around, just a bell which you had to keep ringing, gave up in end, some staff were OK others didn't seem to be bothered, I wish I had read other reviews as I would have kept well away from it, brittania do you have anything to say, dispite all this I had a lovely time in Scarborough, and would definitely go back, but I will steer clear of this hotel, unless it gets done, so pull your socks up and spend some money on this once beautiful hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This Hotel is very outdated and very grubby, it needs a lot of work doing to bring it into the 21st century. My husband had paid for an upgrade so dread to think what the original room would have been like. The room wasn't very clean the light fitting was dangerous, there was a nail sticking out of one of the drawers. The bathroom had a tiny bath in it, I couldn't lie down in it and I am only 5 foot 3 tall. The stair carpets had been taped where they were worn the floorboards creaked, some of the chairs in the Lounge area were so old that the arms had not leather on just the foam sticking through. There was a cocktail bar but they didn't do cocktails! The list goes on and on.

Despite the state of the hotel we had a good weekend Scarborough, and had a lovely Italian meal (not in the hotel I might add) and will probably go back, but it definitely wont be the this hotel.

All in all very very disappointing and we will be making an official complaint to Britannia about the poor standard of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veuvecliqout60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £29 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing