We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clifton hotel scarborough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clifton hotel scarborough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 night, the room was an executive suite which was an extra £20. The room was old fashioned, looked like it hadn't been touched since the 70's! but nice and very roomy. Looking back a standard room would have done us just fine which would have been £49. We had a few drinks in the bar at night which was friendly, cosy and very comfortable. The breakfast which was a full English buffet style, was terrible. The sausage was horrid and had a funny smell, a bit like a dirty dishcloth, and the tea was grey and yuk yuk yuk! it was not drinkable IMO. The breakfast lets this place down and would be the only reason I would not stay here again. Note to Clifton hotel: buy better quality sausages and bacon and some proper tea, serve the tea in individual teapots on the tables, rather than those tall flask things you would expect from a butty van on the side of the road!!! wouldn't take much to put things right!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    362
    305
    212
    293
See reviews for
222
786
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My partner and our 1 year old daughter stayed at the Clifton for 1 night in September. The hotel is in a good location right on the clifftops overlooking the beach and has some onsite parking which is useful.
The hotel was covered in scaffolding at the time- (possibly having the paintwork redone I think) but it did spoil what would otherwise have been quite an attractive building. (Obviously we understand this is a temporary thing which cant be helped)
The hotel lounge and groundfloor areas are nice- however the stairways and bedrooms are a bit 'past their best' to say the least. Having said that for what we paid (£49.00 B&B) we were booked into a good sized family room, with a travel cot at no extra charge, and a sea view- so we were quite satisfied with the room for that price.
The receptionist on duty was very friendly and helpful- she let us borrow an umberella when we headed out for a walk- as the weather really was awfull! (curly haired lady with a southern accent- sorry didnt note her name) we really appreciated that.
The breakfast the following day was in the restaurant which is quite a nice room, the breakfast could do with being modernised somewhat- not much choice of items other than the full cooked breakfast. limited cereals, couldnt see any toppings for toast, no pastries or muffins etc, and only orange/grapefruit segments by way of fruit.
It would be nice to see the owners inject a bit of cash into the upkeep of this hotel- then we would definitley look to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahRah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My stay at this hotel was part of a coach holiday and came as a pleasant surprise given past experiences of such trips. Although well past what must have been a glorious heyday, the owners are sprucing the place up on the outside and have plans for the interior too. I thought the room i had for four nights was adequate. However I cannot praise highly enough the pleasantness and helpfulness shown by all staff members during my stay. As far as the food was concerned, they were definitely punching above their weight offering an excellent breakfast and well cooked on evening meals. I would go back in a heartbeat. The negative reviewers seem to want the Ritz experience without paying Ritz prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Likklelorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having read the reviews for this hotel I cannot help but be amazed and wonder if we talking about the same hotel. It is true the hotel has seen better days but they are gradually doing something about that. I have come home today after a 5 day stay via Newmarket Holidays, cost £220, this price included notel, travel, courier and excursions. So budget price, the offered a very clean room with as much tea/coffee as required. The food was excellent at dinnertimes with always at least 3 mains choices, well cooked, delicious and served buffet style. Breakfast, was frankly hearty, with fruit, cereal etc pkus full freshly cooked. Obviously the usual toast and spreads. Not too sure what some people want, even given the budget price we paid, it was way better value than that. When a fellow traveller took ill with a stroke they could not have been kinder or more helpful. If you want 5* then pay 5* prices, even then you may not get better, helpful, friendlier service than this, but it might be prettier surroundings!

Room Tip: We had room 244 that had an excellent sea view, even better so did the lavotory have the same view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mags0703_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Me and my partner went here for 2 nights, after reading the reviews we knew not to even try using the lift so we walked up the stairs thats taped at the ends with black tape and walked along the uneven corridor where there are signs up where people have corrected the staff's spelling on it and they have still left them up so me and my partner couldn't stop laughing, the food is manky but if you like horse stew and netto crougettes then hey you might like it lol yeah the breakfast was hot because the plates where lol I ended up having sausages and toast only done on 1 side and passed the next morning same with tea the next day as there is a weatherspoons in the main part of town. The red square bar in the main part was fun with weird cocktails out of sand castle buckets and cones. We had a good time but it was not due to this hotel personally I would avoid it and book the premier inn in the centre where I know thats not going to let me down and has decent size beds that we arn't going to worry about falling out of as a 3\4 is no good for 2.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if you have to stay here Do not use the lift if possible Eat out and save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I would have to say a lot of the people who give this place a bad review, you need to get some perspective on things before you write so much negativity.

Just stayed at the hotel for two nights for a trip to the Gold Cup with friend's and it is no where as bad as people describe.
I agree that it looks a bit tired and worn in places but from the moment we checked in the staff were brilliant, all were friendly and everyone we spoke to was happy and really helpful.
I split the room cost with a friend so ended up paying £44.00 for two nights stay including breakfast and I feel I got a good deal at that.

We booked a twin but got a family room (room 372), the beds were comfy it was clean and spacious. If I wanted to be anal about detail.... yes a couple of tiles were cracked and the washbasin cupboard could do with a coat of paint .... but for £22.00 a night each its little things like that you overlook and put it down to being part of the fun.
Having paid half that to sleep in a muddy field in a tent with no amenities in the Isle of man during TT week it hardly seems like such a bad deal.

The breakfast was hot, plates weren't massive but it wasn't an all you can eat buffet so once again I didn't feel short changed.
The lack of car parking was solved by parking around the corner from the Hotel in the Pay and display car park opposite the Scarborough Bowls Centre. I paid £5.00 for 24hrs and was the only car there..... had to walk about 100ft with my bag but that was hardly the end of the world.

The North Riding Brew pub around the corner at the back of the hotel was brilliant best beer I had all weekend and I would certainly use the hotel again if I was looking for a base to visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dakk1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

the management of this place should have closed during a refurb food,terrible,,car parking a joke.,not enough staff, previous comments spot on. will never go here again,only one word describes it a nightmare place,

Room Tip: read others reviews, yes its a real faulty towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zelda136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing