We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GO!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a tired old hotel to say the least which appears to be having an external paint up at the moment. We booked a 'sea view' room. Only problem being the netting and scaffold outside the windows which totally obscures the view! We were not told of this and paid full price for a 2 night stay. We stayed in room 128 for the first night, after travelling 4.5 hours we were too tired to mess about with rooms. We were moved at our request to room 130 without the netting...scaffold still there though. We asked the manageress to ensure it was clean, she said she would. This room was awful ,windows painted shut, carpets and walls dirty and we could not use the spa bath as the jets and valves were encrusted with dirt as was the showerhead. There were cobwebs in the corners of the floor around the bath , and even a ciggie stump nestled in the dust. As this was our last night we felt it a waste of time complaining. The staff appear totally disinterested in the guests and there is no atmosphere what so ever to the place. The restaurant however was clean and the breakfast acceptable. I feel the housekeeper should take lessons from the restaurant manager. I (did) use Britannia hotels regularly this being the 3rd one but will never again after this. I will be mailing this review to Britannia H.O.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a voucher
I think we had the worst room in the hotel 234. Next morning workmen drilling, sawing, hammering, just too much we had to complain. Got moved to 237 along corridor but opposite side. Much better room' brighter, bigger everything, from the cups to the bed. Could not get WiFi at all. Food was fine for breakfast but evening buffet food was .quite awful. The soup was lovely but main meals were cafe-like, tasted wrong. The price was good but I would eat out at night if I went again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank evieb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked this on the internet from Brittania Hotels E shot . One night dinner bed and breakfast with free bottle of wine in a double standard room price £49.50 total
We arrived at the car park at 11.30 am and although we could not access our room until 3 pm they checked us in and we were able to leave the car and spent the day walking round Scarborough.Returned to our room at 4.30. Room was very clean and we had no fault with it at all.
The lounge area downstairs is nice with plenty of room. There is a tv area as well.The dining room is very nice and intimate.Ref the dinner, it was okay,no complaints and we shared a bottle Rose which was free. The breakfast was standard for Brittania hotels and again no complaints there.
Ok the hotel is a bit dated but it has been up a long time and they are now refurbishing it.We found the staff fine and only too eager to help.Ok it is not the Ritz but you are not paying Ritz prices LOL.I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonnieb197247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights! The room was disgusting, the floors looked like they had not been cleaned for an eternity! And the staff were very unfriendly, the sea view was spoilt by all the scaffolding and diet and the window was briken

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

the room was smelling and the furnature was falling apart the decor was dirty.
the shower screen had a half inch of dirt along the base.
the mirror was black like smoke as the kettle was under it and the bathroom floor had a big
crack in the tile.
the headboard had big screws sticking out if the wall that it was fixed to and the room door had to be puhed hard to close it.
the staff looked fed up, although they were polite, but the food was not very good, the bed was clean and the bath and towels also

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My advice, don't bother. Looks like it hasn't been decorated since it was built, food awful, could have been cleaner in some areas, some members of staff in desperate need of customer service training. Our welcome to the hotel was an argument about our dog, which we had pre-booked and paid for, not pet friendly as advertised. Paid extra for a sea view room only to find scaffolding up at the window and windows so filthy we could hardly see through them. Saving grace of the whole weekend, the weather was lovely so we didn't have to be in there for any great length of time. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went to the Clifton last week with a friend sharing a twin room. The room was a bit musty, and the decor was very sad. Bed comfortable, room warm, bathroom tired. The staff were friendly - we ate there (self-service) OK but nothing to write home about sadly. Got the impression that they hotel chain are trying very hard to get the place back to its former glory which in its hay day must have been lovely. Staff were friendly - singer on the night we were there was actually entertaining. Hope the hotel chain pull it off and restore the Clifton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELEGRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing