We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night away , great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One night away , great hotel”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit , my partner and I booked through mighty deals . The price was fantastic for , dinner bed and breakfast . The hotel was lovely and the staff very friendly and welcoming . We had a lovely dinner and relaxed in our room , the room was a great size and for the price very adequate . Breakfast in the morning was fantastic . We had a nice walk in the morning . I would recommend this hotel . For the price it was great . We will defiantly be staying again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beccafox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    373
    308
    215
    304
See reviews for
227
801
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just been to the clifton hotel for the first time this weekend 22/24 nova lovely christmas decs up, room very clean bedding nice and fresh, bed comfy,very very hot water and nice deep and long bath, the food was very good and very hot too. Some people have put bad reviews but what they really want is 5* hotel for 3* money, you can't knock it for value! will defo go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliewest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had a groupon voucher - would not have wanted to pay any more - unhelpful staff and shabby hotel - constant noise all night from cranky plumbing. Food edible but nothing special Us and another couple stayed and our expectations are not too high but there are some standards that really should be set at a minimum.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We returned to this hotel for three nights and loved it, last time we commented about it required
some tlc. This is now being carried out, with the outside being painted the roof re done and rooms refurbished (which is quite hard when still open) Staff,breakfast excellent and evening meal we had on one night superb value. Location is perfect just a ten minute walk to the centre of town. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night 16th November,thank god it was only 1 night,booked a double superior room with sea view,what we got was far from superior,on entering the hotel the lobby was quite shabby which had me worried from the start,our room 245 on the second floor was a total shock the moment we opened the door,the door frame had been nailed back to the wall to hold the door closed,the whole floor was so uneven it was honestly hard work trying to get to the bathroom without bumping into the wall,sounds funny I know but it's true,the bathroom was something else,black mould everywhere,cracked tiles,slimy dirty shower screen,loo with no flush,dirty off previous guests,hairs in sink and bath,no extractor fan,no window,the window in the bedroom was painted shut,so no fresh air from this mouldy smell,the wardrobe had thick dust and hairs in the bottom as did the drawers,all the furniture was chipped and badly needs replacing.2.30 in morning fire alarm sounded,everyone out,I counted 3 fire engines,40 minutes later everyone back in,no explanation,no head count,no one from the hotel,had this been a real fire a sure disaster would have occurred.breakfast was also a big letdown cold coffee,tea, full English was one of the worst I've tasted, really terrible. Went home early was going to make a complaint but was in a very long queue,only to be told that I would have to speak to the manager,and she wasn't in until 12. We had to be out the room by 11.this hotel is a joke please don't waste your money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Don't go read the reviews they can't all be makein it up haha went sat 16 Nov till 17 never again food terrable was my daughters biithday bought wine wen we booked, wine cooler had broke so wine was hot no more cold wine, refused to give my money back (jack barman) plonked a bottle down n said here £19.99 wine get that, (beccy)receptionist was rude, asked to see manager told the duty manager didn't start till 12 midnite ( are the staff left to there own devices) , woke up as 2.30 by fire alarm, stood outside for 40 mins b4 being allowed back in, the whole weekend was a nightmare no one wanted to take responsibility, no apologys,
'

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donny14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Things didn't get off to the best start when we turned up at the sister Grand Hotel, only to be told that they'd overbooked and we were going to be ferried to the Clifton, our reservation apparently worthless. We were told that we were lucky and we'd actually been upgraded. If that really was the case, I shudder to imagine what a room at the Grand is like.

Having wandered past crumbling plasterboard, filthy, worn carpets and a communal, sea view seating area so dirty there were actually thick black stains on the upholstery, we made our way into our room. The door jammed on the carpet, the lock got stuck, paint was chipping off the walls everywhere, there were damp marks on the ceiling, the bedside tables had hair in the drawers, the toilet barely flushed, and the hot tap didn't work, which meant I had to shave in the shower. By way of welcome, a laminated note on the floor told us to avoid taking drugs on the premises. (Thanks for the sound advice.)

We'd been promised a double bed, just as we'd booked. What we got was two single beds pushed together and made over with one set of bedding. In the hotel's defence, the beds were clean and comfy. However, our good night's sleep was disturbed somewhat by the unexplained 2.30am fire alarm and 40-minute evacuation, which took place without a single member of staff on hand to tell us what was happening or what to do.

If you're the sort of person who enjoys the naughty, sleazy vibe of staying in the sort of place a 1980s comedian might take an inexpensive call girl, then you might just have found the perfect place in the Clifton - but otherwise, stay well away.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing