We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's all that about?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Last night, £29 for two. A high back room, big enough and clean with refurbished bathroom. Polite staff, warm, in fact too warm. Breakfast in the ballroom was excellent. O K the corridors are a bit tatty and the lift ancient, but who cares at this price. Some of us like a bit of decrepitude anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

After reading many negative reviews I booked with the mind set that for £49 family room with breakfast I was nt getting the Ritz..and the Clifton did everything to justify the £49 although I should have had cash back in hindsight.. Work was been carried out on hotel so I put that aside..reception not good..looked messy.first impressions etc..downstairs looked ok...room on 3rd floor via old Victorian lift..to a horrendous shabby hallway...family room good size with bunk beds..decor terrible, fixtures and fittings terrible and falling apart..windows sealed up with paint..etc etc etc..boiling hot room..no heat control..managed to prise a sash window open eventually.(£49 I kept telling family lol).. Terrible nights sleep for all f us...I stay in hotels every week with work from bottom of pile to top end...this is down the bottom and purely because no matter what the decor etc if the room is clean top to bottom and some effort put into maintaining the room it goes along way...none of this was done. I don't know how our room in particular could be passed as acceptable......the owners and managers if there are any should be ashamed.

Could be a great hotel if money and care, attention put into it...a big let down to Scarbrough.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank bambamboothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just had a fantastic deal at this hotel £58 b & b for 2 people for 2 nights, Staff were very friendly hotel was very warm {cosy at this time of year} food was very nice, our room was lovely and spacious great base.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlNet28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just stayed for the second time at this hotel. Not disappointed excellent service at the front desk and really looked after,
Room clean and food plentiful and good.
Booked again for February.
Great value

Room Tip: Bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 229roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at The Clifton the weekend before Christmas and it was fantastic value for money. It wasn't 5* but we didn't pay 5* prices either. Sea views and a smashing room, good hearty food, warmth, the hotel undergoing work to improve it and staff who provided extra towels, pillows and a great welcome. We have been to the hotel before and look forward to returning early in 2014! If there was any request, it is to upgrade the quality of tea and coffee but these are to individual taste anyway. Well done and thanks to The Clifton and it's people!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheManshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in Dec 13, hotel is warm, clean and staff are very friendly. Our room was in a newer part of the hotel and because it was so cold, they put in a couple of extra electric heaters. Food was okay but a bit cold, breakfast was better and set us up nicely for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancitymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit , my partner and I booked through mighty deals . The price was fantastic for , dinner bed and breakfast . The hotel was lovely and the staff very friendly and welcoming . We had a lovely dinner and relaxed in our room , the room was a great size and for the price very adequate . Breakfast in the morning was fantastic . We had a nice walk in the morning . I would recommend this hotel . For the price it was great . We will defiantly be staying again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank beccafox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £31 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing