We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Building, Put in some more Investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Building, Put in some more Investment”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at the Clifton Hotel via a 4 day coach break with National Holidays, the staff are pleasant in all Departments from reception to cleaners, at this hotel I don't think there are any problems with the staff but the hassle they are put through is due to a shortage of much needed investment in the rooms people stay in.
The restaurant area was once a ballroom and is ideal and spacious to easily accommodate all the guests, the food was very good at the evening meal, the breakfast menu too was excellent, all food was hot, and hot plates were available, used plates were soon removed and areas kept clean by the waiters and waitresses, the chef gave regular visits to ensure food didn't go short, there was always plenty of fresh food being added.
We had a room that had been re-decorated, it was pleasant but had no opening windows in the bay, so all the moisture at this time of the year from the bathroom was condensing on the single glazed window, we even tried keeping the bathroom door closed at all times but still condensation constantly ran down onto the window sill which was so nicely painted and decorated, a shame really, when I asked the reception staff they did offer another room if I wanted or the use of an oscillating fan, which I used, here again I can appreciate the staff are trying to do their best in reception to resolve the issue.
Another annoying problem with the room was the creaking from the floor of the bay on the room above, it was impossible to get to sleep until the folk above had gone to bed, it was better than any alarm clock the next morning too, the reason for this may be that the ceilings and walls had been plaster boarded with no expansion mastic, and were flexing to the joists above.
Both the bathroom and the bedroom didn't seem to have been cleaned during the stay but just had the waste bins emptied, and the bed sheets etc put into place, the floor was not vacuumed and no toilet roll replacement was left as a spare.
The sheets and towels were clean on arrival and the bed was comfortable, perhaps a notice asking visitors to leave towels on the bath if they should want them changing, within reason, may be helpful.
The hotel has an ideal location and probably on a much more pleasant bay than the Grand Hotel depending on what sort of atmosphere you like.
All in all a good stay staff very pleasant, I don't blame any of the staff here for any untidiness in the building itself it seems they all try to do their best, but probably the hotel group could do with far more investment, this may lead to less stress to all present staff and the unwanted comments they have to deal with.
I understand investment may be happening in smaller stages, but probably may need to be pushed, to higher levels if possible.

The hotel was always warm and homely and the shower and bath worked very well.

Would stay again, friendly great food. Get some money into it Brittania a good hotel with good staff look after them, and they will look after you.

Room Tip: Have a look at the room, it may be worth not having a sea view but a refurbished room instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landscaper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    386
    325
    225
    318
See reviews for
238
833
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton england
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed in room 327 overlooking the beach ( sea view ) with my daughter , the room was spacious, bathroom large but a few cracked tiles ok though ! Very clean and newly decorated

Food was good , staff lovely !

I would stay again .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have to say we have stayed in some places and usually don't say much but this hotel is in a great location but in a pretty poor state even the lady who works in reception is a really meisable women there is a smell of new carpet being laid down but it's the cracks and the damp on the walls that's everyone can clearly see the hotel is fully booked for two nights and they have one old guy (Len) running around doing bar and even ferrying the disabled clients bags up the stairs the hotel needs yo employ more staff I would say without a shadow of doubt I would say it's about time Britannia hotels group start spending some money on there hotels and send there staff on a customer cars course for a start

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darren09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Boston Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We made a return visit to the Clifton hotel for 3 days on 7th February, this hotel has had and is still having a lot of work done to improve it but it is keeping its great character. We found every member of staff we had contact with warm friendly and helpful. Our room was clean the sheets & towels were pristine. The food was good and plentiful. I would advise not to take notice of bad review and give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to a sea view room and pre booking a parking space with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

stayed saturday after paying £29 for 2, recieved a lovely chicken, gammon meal on arrival which was lovely, the room was small but very clean and freshly decorated, we never saw any mess at all, the hotel is alittle tired but clean! The staff were lovely, breakfast the next day my husband found great i was feeling slighty rough after a good night in Scarbourgh, were we found the turks head a good friendly little bar with live music. we would return again for a nights break

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Well.... Are you sitting comfortable then I'll begin .. The problem with this hotel is that it is nothing like the images on the website . The hotel is in a good location but is in grave need of TLC. The rooms are filthy and in need of updating . A little bit of hoovering and dusting wouldn't go a miss. Carpets in the main corridors are tired and worn. While we were waiting for a refund we overheard another guest complaining about their room saying that previous guest had left a calling card in the toilet . The staff tried to upgrade our rooms but on inspection were worse than the ones we had been given in the first place. The staff did their best but can't work a miracle. Need I go on ?.... Avoid like the plague .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lozi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3nights in Feb,very pleased as we only played £ 29 per night and that included breakfast which might I say was great,plenty to eat from cereal to fruit to toast and as much fry up as you can handle,tea,coffee and fruit juices,OK it does need a bit of work to tidy it up a bit but the staff were friendly and the bar area was lovely we sat for hours drinking and playing dominoes ha ha,the room was basic but had a lovely see view bed was comfy pillows were great and shower was powerful,we got clean towels every morning.if I had a gripe it would have been nice to have the room hoovered as it was a bit messy and also dusty round lights and fan in bathroom,but this hasn't put us off we will go again it was a bargain for what we payed

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,871 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing