We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely weekend in Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sunny Scunny
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend in Scarborough”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Clifton Hotel at the weekend (7th - 9th March) and was pleasantly surprised. Having read some of the reviews beforehand we were a bit nervous about what we were going to find but it was lovely. We had a double room on the ground floor (6) which was newly refurbished and very clean and quite a reasonable size too. The double bed was a good size, the matress firm but comfy and the pillows very comfy. The ensuite was very clean with a full size bath with shower over, toilet and handbasin and a small selection of individual toiletries were provided. This room is at the rhs of the hotel towards the back and although it looked out over the bowls centre it also had a bit of a sea view. WARNING - as you go down the corridor to get to the room there is a fire door, immediately behind that fire door is a step. Although there is a sign on the door warning you of the step it is easily missed if you are carrying luggage and looking at room numbers, as we found out. We hadn't noticed the sign and I tumbled down the step, luckily I wasn't injured (just shaken) but an older person might not have been so lucky. Note to management - a larger sign and maybe a different colour carpet to draw the eye would help? Don't let this put you off, you just need to be aware that there is a step there! The hotel itself has been recently refurbished and it was clean and welcoming everywhere we went. The breakfast was good, being a self service bufffet affair, and the evening meal at £10 per person for 3 courses was very good value, again self service but good plain food. The bar was a bit expensive but they do have a happy hour (4pm - 6pm each day) and there is a 99p bar deal available with some internet bookings, but we didn't have that so I'm not sure how it works. The location is good if you like being in the North Bay and only about a 20 minute walk into the town centre. There is parking at the hotel but it costs approx £6 per day to reserve your space, you can park for free (with a permit) on the roadside and its perfectly safe. Permits are issued by reception. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely look to stay here again off season, as during the summer months I suspect it caters to bus trips which would make it a much busier hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of the step in the corridor leading to the ground floor rooms. Although there is a sign on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv-the-lights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    368
    307
    213
    297
See reviews for
224
792
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Clifton Hotel from the 24th to the 27th Feb, We didnt find out untill a couple of days before we went which hotel we would be staying in as we went with National Holidays and assumed we would be staying in the Grand, Having found out it was the Clifton i read a few of the reviews of which most were not very appealing, Well my advise is dont believe all you read, as we were very pleasantly surprised with every aspect of the hotel, The staff were very helpful, reception staff Julie and Karagh ( sorry if i didnt spell your name correctly) went out of their way to be helpful, The Meals were really nice as were the restaurant staff, The girl on the Bar Charlotte was lovely as were her family who were also staying there for a few days, Our room No 9 was really nice, its one of the new ones on the ground floor, we had a patio door, which was great as we were lucky enough to have a few nice days, all in all we had a great time, i shopped till i dropped, met some really lovely people and couldnt of asked for any more value for money than what we got, ps i would also like to mention Kerry and the other Housekeeping staff who do a great job, and even the maintenance man from the Clifton, but who we bumped in to in the Grand, thanks for all the information and advice you gave us

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms are either new or have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Clifton Hotel, and was pleasantly surprised. The room was lovely. We had a ground floor room (Room 10 - twin) it was freshly painted and newly carpeted. The bathroom was spotless.

Evening and breakfast were buffet style with staff constantly topping up the hot fresh food.

All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgal6109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

WE stayed at the clifton last weekend despite reading some bad reviews. We paid only 40 pnd for adouble room including buffet breakfast. WE had a room with a sea view. Although some of the furnishings are a little dated and tatty they add to the character of the place. We met some great people in the bar. There was an excellent breakfast selection. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Book a sea view, otherwise you might have a view of the bins, like our friend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed last weekend in the Clifton hotel with my husband and we had a lovely time,from some of the reviews we certainly was not looking forward to it much at all. We were pleasantly surprised ,paid 40 pound for both of us with evening meal breakfast and a bottle of wine . The room was beautiful great sea view and very clean,the staff were very polite and friendly and honestly nothing to complain about really.The hotel is very old but that adds to the character of the place ,also can recommend the pub the north riding I think it was called, round the corner of the hotel as they sell some of the best ales we have ever tasted just work your way through the list on the board but be careful walking back as they are very strong. Thanks to everyone at the Clifton for a great weekend we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: Second floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed overnight at the Clifton last night, with my daughter and my grandson. Although check in says from 3 pm we arrived just after 12 and the receptionist , very pleasant and helpful checked to see if our room was ready and we booked straight in. We had reserved a car parking space which was very easy to find as it was clearly marked with our name. The room (244) was very large with a larger than kingsize bed and bunk beds ,coffee table and chairs, nice decor and red carpet and with a stunning sea view over the bay
.Breakfast next morning was very nice, hot and plentiful.The hotel itself is a little faded and worn in some public areas but it is an old hotel so only to be expected and it adds to the character
.It was spotlessly clean, Staff were friendly and helpful and i would certainly stay there again..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marykathleen_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

first room we were offered was more like a dirty homeless squat and not fit to be rented out to paying guests. We asked to be moved and was (the staff on reception were nice and helpfull). The second room was better and had had a level of refurbishment, but still when you looked round it was still not very clean. When in restaurant for breakfast workmen were stopping in hotel and having breakfast in dirty overalls and boots, not what i expect from a holiday hotel. We didnt pay much for 3 nights but after 2 nights had had enough and left. The young man on reception on checkout was also covered in paint and looked like a workman.Manager did make an apperance and said they were going through a refurbishment program, that is fine but you cant rent out uninhabitable rooms while you are doing it. Instead of buying large run down hotels brittania would be better off refurbishing the ones they have.

Room Tip: ask for room that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,303 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing