We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hornsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

great views and great food.stayed here k=lots of times and is my favorite value for money hotel.Very relaxed and comfortable for the price ,low price but good value.If you pay 27 pound for bed breakfast and evening meal ,you don,t expect much ,but very surprized food was the best ever ,a three course meal and a full English breakfast with Waitor service.Top of Hotel room small warm cosey very out dated but everything clean and working good for 27 pounds ,Paid 59 pounds got much larger room with big bay window and better furnished and better curtains,but the 27 pound room was good value for money depends on what level of comfort one wants,Yv the same each room,Cheaper rooms are at the very top of hotel and great views.

Room Tip: front rooms have bay windows with tables and lounge chairs as well as ensuite large rooms. top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bezziness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    362
    305
    212
    293
See reviews for
222
786
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have stayed at the Clifton on and off over many years and seen it in good times and bad. The hotel has changed owners yet again since our last visit some years ago and there has been some redecorating and renovation work. I know that the rooms do vary but this visit we stayed in one of the "castle view" rooms which was large, comfortable and clean with great views of North Bay and the castle. Of course some things about the hotel are a little jaded but the staff are very pleasant and friendly and the buffet food is adequate and good value - the breakfast was better than most. We enjoyed our two night stay.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for a good sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoSpringChicken353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Clifton for 3 nights and loved this Hotel. The receptionist was helpful and had a great deal of knowledge on Scarborough and shared this with us. (Chantelle) serving behind the bar was run off her feet, but had a smile for each customer and when clearing the tables she would have a short chat to the customers, If I ran a hotel, I would lure this girl away to work for me she is a credit to the Clifton. The food was lovely and plenty of choice, the dining staff clearly work really hard and always smiling and asking if everything was ok. Our room on the ground floor was very clean, a welcome surprise to find a shower over the bath and plenty of tea,coffee ect. You get what you pay for BUT for the price we paid, we most certainly didn't expecting 1st class. Well done to the Management but mostly to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

En route we decided to stop in Scarborough if a reasonable rate & hotel could be found. The Clifton looked excellent, imposing looking, fantastic views across the North beaches and short walk to the beach. Seemed just what we wanted.
I could not book direct at reception but had to phone central reservations. They asked me to name a price! I said offer me the cheapest and was surprised it was so reasonable at £80 for dinner, bed & breakfast for 2, with a sea view. No cancellation possible, or we would have done.
From then on the hotel did not live up to expectation. The room on the 4th floor had high windows so the sea view was only visible by standing up. The room was 'tired looking', marked furniture and a stained bath (no shower). Two unwanted stained duvets were visible on top of a dusty wardrobe. They were fully booked so a room change was not possible - the receptionist did try. (I suspect other rooms were much better - but not seen). The hotel was catering for 2 or 3 coaches at I suspect at a very reasonable rate looking at advertisements seen in brochures and the lift. The meals were self service and reasonable for the price.
We had a very poor nights sleep, due to consistent loud dripping noise from the radiator not stopped by turning it off. Finally I masked it by covering the radiator with a duvet and using earplugs! No phone in the room to report the problem. It was such a shame that a hotel with such potential was such a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Do not choose the 4th. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank textbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here just after Christmas last year 2013 and it was brill
This time we went for my 49th birthday and was even better from parking the car in car park to check in the room was brilliant very large comfy bed with sofa and chairs in room looking out to a sea view cleanliness of the room was perfect also they have new carpets on the landings.
The food was to die for once again complements to the chefs and dining staff .
They say on TV stay in a premier inn forget that stop in Clifton its even better first class bedding.
Would we stay here again of course we would.

Room Tip: we was given 127 peeeeeerfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fandango70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Clifton had declined to a standard that stopped us booking. Heard about the improvements and stayed 14/15 March.
Initial room - 239 not acceptable due to the aroma, promptly changed to another which was OK. I could criticise both bathroom cleanliness and decor quality though in fairness I feel the price was good value when scored against the overall stay. The staff were also much more helpfull than in the past.
Always be sure to get a seaview room as seem a better size, no seaview room and I would not stay - the top floor rooms used to be horrendous though I cannot comment on them now.
Overall a good stay with a good atmosphere in the bar. We will return to what appers to be an improving hotel and look forward to further strides forward.

Room Tip: Sea View room everytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at The Clifton Hotel for three nights from 10th March, to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The view from our room was "Fabulous"..however my heart sank when I saw the bathroom. There was a very badly cracked floor tile...very dangerous! And it was filthy too, I don't think the under-side of the toilet seat had ever seen a cleaning solution or cloth, the floor was dirty with hair in the corner. Around the base of toilet the grouting was so discolored with urine, that it was brown the side wall matched! Good job I took bleach and wipes with me, after reading previous reviews. The bedroom furniture looked newish, well most of it, very nice. However once again the cleanliness was poor, under the bed and chest of drawers and corners of room look like they have never seen a hoover since the carpet was fitted, it takes just a few minutes to use an attachment or to move a bed, there was two cleaners "working" together..it could and should be done surely. I would stay again as the rest of stay, food, staff and views were great, but I would say something if the cleanliness had not improved.( Also the coffee was awful).

Room Tip: Take your own coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseRudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing