We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on a KGB deal with my daughter. Bottle of wine and fruit basket on arrival.
The hotel is ideally situated on Queens Parade overlooking the North Bay, a few minutes walk to the town centre and a stroll to South Bay. Our twin bedded room was on the 3rd floor and had a lovely view of the bay. The beds were very comfortable and the bed linen OK. However the room was furnished in 1980s cheap MFI which had seen better days. The television and stand, I had thrown better away. The room was grubby and the sash window in the bathroom was full of cobwebs and flies and had not been cleaned in a decade. The towels were not changed at all during our stay. Tea and coffee, although in limited amounts, were replenished daily. On our arrival a young man was carrying out some maintenance work on the corridor near our room and the debris left was not vacuumed up for a further two days. The common rooms appeared to be OK. Breakfast was very good and always hot. There was a limited choice for dinner but what we had was very tasty (all meals self-service). Staff were all pleasant and friendly, particularly one lady in reception (don't know her name) who was very helpful. All in all we enjoyed our break in Scarborough but if the hotel had a thorough cleaning and some money spent on it, it could be brought back to its former glory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franko666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The Clifton hotel Scarbrough,just gets better and better with each vist.
We booked fri may 30th to sun June 1st.
We booked a double basic room and was given a upgrade for free to a superior double with sea view.
Breakfast self service,brill as usual,eat as much as you want,lovely clean room,with a beautiful sea view.
Just all in all a fantastic weekend,at the Clifton hotel.
Just can't wait till September,booking a full week.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ggs4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a lovely two night stay here. Paid a bit more to upgrade to a great room on the fourth floor. Food was surprisingly good. Nice dinning room. Found staff to be efficient and friendly. You can get vegetarian sausages for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

the hotel is in a good posiotin and is being improved the food is good evening meal and breakfast the only fault with the hotel is some mebers of staff the receptonist could be a lot moore welcoming we stayed at this hotel on the 2nd to 6th of june and did not have the room cleaned all the time we wear there we wear in room 234 saw the manager on the second night it was not done she told us she would check to make sure it was done the next night and gave us a bottle of wine to have with our meal the next night surprise not done again bak to recepton who sent some one to do it and gave us a free drink in the bar its a pity the staff cant get things wright first time

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 213andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just spent a night here it was on a wowcher deal with dinner ,breakfast ,wine and fruit basket . It is a large hotel and it is been refurbished but what we could see was work in progress with mimimum disruption . We had a ground floor room which had been refurbished and had a nice modern look to it what we like most is the views and the easy access to either bay . The meals had a number of choices ,tasty and were hot . We will be back for a longer stay

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nornimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Dan and Alexandra in the dining room helped make this a very good break. They were very attentive, friendly and efficient. The bedroom did need updating but Rome wasn't built in a day. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent. We feel that a £6 per night charge for parking is excessive - it should be free, especially considering the distance from the centre of Scarborough.Reception staff could be more amenable.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We took a Wowcher deal for a single night here - - we wish it was for longer, We got one night with Evening meal, and Breakfast with a basket of fruit and a bottle of wine of OUR choice,

OK it's not 5* but the hotel is clean, the staff are amazingly friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had Sunday Evening meal which being Sunday included a roast, a fish option and a vegetarian option was available. Whilst the starters were a little off taste wise the main courses and sweets were as good as many pub menus but with the added touch of being able to select your own vegetables.
The wine was of our choice and my wife selected an Italian Rose which we knew from trips to Malta and was perfect for her (I do not drink). The fruit basket had four types of fruit and was enough for us to snack on all next day.
The Full English breakfast was just that Everything from Eggs and Bacon ,sausage to Black pudding and Hash Browns as well as Cereals and fruit and Yoghurt and unlimited Tea coffee and fruit juices as well as toast .

The hotel is positioned on the headland above the North Bay and is visible as soon as you round the headland so it really is in a good position and if you get a sea view room it really is a fantastic view.
There are lots of reasons this place could be improved for especially with the group of the hotel being so large (Pontins) it deserves some attention and it could be made very acceptable

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madcaravanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing