We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasent surprize”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 16 June 2014

having booked the clifton before reading reviews about it i was shocked when having read some and seen some of the photoes i was un sure weather we should go or not' but we took the plunge and were plesantly surprized' our room was clean reception staff very helpfull and freinly and the evening and breakfast meals were plentyfull hot and tasty no complaints at all

Room Tip: sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterrochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 1,456 reviews

An EasyToBook.com traveler
..Derbyshire
54
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile


Having put more though into the hotel we have also highlighted several more issues that we were not happy with. We stay in hotels of all different kinds on regular occasions whether it be for business or a getaway with the family.

1) Breakfast
a) The Tea & Coffee facilities were not fresh (they had labels on indicating different days which made no sense).
b) The Bacon, Sausage and Black Pudding were dry and they had been clearly left under the light for a considerable amount of time.
c) The Scrambled Egg was swimming in water.
d) The musali was stuck solid at the bottom of the container.
e) On Departure for from the dining room there was a gratitude box for leaving tips.

2) The Bar (evening)

a) We wanted to get some drinks on our return to the hotel, when we went to the bar we asked if we could open up a tab, however the bar person told us we couldn’t open a tab as there was no one working on reception we wasn’t informed about this on our arrival to the hotel.
b) We then asked if we could pay by card to which we were told there was no card facility and it was cash only.

3) Our Booking

a) On making our booking I specifically asked if there was car parking facilities and the man on the telephone said YES it is £6 if you wish to book a parking space, but it is free if you don’t book. The man who took our booking said the hotel isn’t full and there will be plenty of car spaces available (this can vouched for as the telephone call when making the booking was recorded).
b) On our arrival to the hotel we reported to the reception desk and informed the older lady at the desk that we has parked in the car space outside. Having explained the situation (above paragraph) she called me a liar and said that wasn’t what I was called and I haven’t spoken to a man when making my booking as only 2x females work on the reception. The older females attitude was completely unprofessional to which my fiancé told her that her customer service is absolutely appalling. Luckily Carragh was on hand and defused the situation and dealt with us to which she really was an asset to Britannia.

4) The Room (Rm 121)

a) On making the booking we were told that we would have a see view, we didn’t actually have a sea view, our room was overlooking a crown green bowls green, when we looked to the right hand side of the bay window we could just about see the sea.
b) The sheets in the Bed we not clean as highlighted in the photographs below, we reported this to the night porter and he said he will call up and have a look to which he never did.
c) At 09:00hrs the was a knock at the door and before we had chance to open the door or even say “come in” the door opened the male (older gentleman) walked into our room and said I have brought some fresh linen I don’t like seeing it on the floor by the door. I made a comment to him informing him of the dirty sheets, to which he replied “they were clean yesterday” and the exited the room.
d) The sink was falling off the wall (highlighted in the picture below) this had clearly been like this for a considerable amount of time, surely if the house keepers are cleaning the room to a high standard they could report this to reception and they could get this repaired by the appropriate person.
e) The walls by the head board we stained with sweat or muck stains.

5) The Corridor

a) Just on the corner from our room there was a corned side board to which it hadn’t been erected correctly and there were screws and other fixings laying on the floor next to it, (should a toddler been in the hotel this could have caused a serious issue)
b) There were some pieces of metal just by our room that had been left.
c) Card board boxes were left on the table.
I can understand that maintenance works may have been carried out but surley outside of working hours these should have been removed?

I must say that I was really disappointed with our stay at your hotel I seriously think the following needs to be addressed asap

a) Health and Safety Issues
b) Customer Relations
c) Cleanliness
d) Food

The only real valuable asset that we could see at the Clifton was Carragh. When departing from the hotel another resident heard me raising my concerns to which he said he agreed and he had also reported a dripping tap in his room which hasn’t be repaired yet, I asked him how long he was staying for and he informed me he is departing on Sunday (15th June). Maybe it would be a good idea to carry out a customer survey?.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

hi me and my wife stayed at Clifton hotel for three days after booking on latedeals on the day we travelled had asked for to reserve parking space also either first or ground floor on arrival no parking space and had to pay £6 to park on the roadside room on third floor lift you had to open door and then pull a gate open very difficult to use soon as you were in lift it shot away very quick arrived in bed room very small toilet you had to rest arm on sink it was that small bedroom underbed you could see where they had cleaned the carpet as the line of muck was underbed also some quaver crisps that had not been cleaned and kettle woke us in the middle of the night coming on I think there was a ghost in the room staff very unhelpful and not very pleasant to talk to breakfast looked good but bacon was burnt for the first two days and on the third day it was under cooked/tea was already made stewed in a flask if that's how you want to have a few days away on holiday to relax please do not go to the Clifton hotel

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Enjoyed the stay at the Clifton. Location is great. Work was going on. A dog had pooped in the corridor but it was the best deal available, by far. Not to be recommended but I accidentally left expensive earrings in our bedroom for the whole day. On our return the room had been made up and the earrings were untouched. I reported the honesty and was impressed by it. Rate and service were fair. Seagulls are noisy but not at night. Just early in the morning when you could be getting up for a jog along the cliffs!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 728Squeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on a KGB deal with my daughter. Bottle of wine and fruit basket on arrival.
The hotel is ideally situated on Queens Parade overlooking the North Bay, a few minutes walk to the town centre and a stroll to South Bay. Our twin bedded room was on the 3rd floor and had a lovely view of the bay. The beds were very comfortable and the bed linen OK. However the room was furnished in 1980s cheap MFI which had seen better days. The television and stand, I had thrown better away. The room was grubby and the sash window in the bathroom was full of cobwebs and flies and had not been cleaned in a decade. The towels were not changed at all during our stay. Tea and coffee, although in limited amounts, were replenished daily. On our arrival a young man was carrying out some maintenance work on the corridor near our room and the debris left was not vacuumed up for a further two days. The common rooms appeared to be OK. Breakfast was very good and always hot. There was a limited choice for dinner but what we had was very tasty (all meals self-service). Staff were all pleasant and friendly, particularly one lady in reception (don't know her name) who was very helpful. All in all we enjoyed our break in Scarborough but if the hotel had a thorough cleaning and some money spent on it, it could be brought back to its former glory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franko666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The Clifton hotel Scarbrough,just gets better and better with each vist.
We booked fri may 30th to sun June 1st.
We booked a double basic room and was given a upgrade for free to a superior double with sea view.
Breakfast self service,brill as usual,eat as much as you want,lovely clean room,with a beautiful sea view.
Just all in all a fantastic weekend,at the Clifton hotel.
Just can't wait till September,booking a full week.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ggs4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £31 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing