We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Stamford Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had booked via wowcher for our wedding anniversary. Arrived at lunchtime and received a very warm welcome. Our room was ready and we checked I. Room very good, clean and bright.

Evening meal was a buffet with the choice of four main courses. We both thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the buffet breakfast the following morning.

Super hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 649gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    382
    316
    223
    314
See reviews for
233
823
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just left the clifton hotel in Scarborough. Booked a twin room for my daughter and myself via website. Room 116 was oppresive. Yes it was clean but it only had 1 tiny window up near roof for natural light and there was no air flow. Inside room, strangely shaped, so difficult to access seats as you had to squeeze past bed. Very noisy water system. Got the feeling it was a store cupboard until recently. Breakfast was very poor. Arrived half an hour before end of service but no glasses, no hot coffee, remnants of bacon and scrambled egg in trays. Wanted to make comments at checkout but simply gestured to throw keys through hole by person sat at desk. Didnt want anything fancy... Guess I got what I asked for!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank huddstyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Clifton Hotel. Room 482 3 Star plus, Dinner 3 Star plus, Breakfast 4 Star and ALL staff 5 Star. Negatives: Entertainment on only 2 out of the 4 nights and no slice of lemon available with our Gin and Tonics!!! Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Clifton to friends and family. Special thanks to Tour Manager Eddie and Ian our coach driver.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We didn't even get to the hotel. They called me an hour after setting off to say they were full and had booked me in at a sister hotel. (the grand, that I also would not recommend after the treatment we received there!) I understand that this can happen from time to time so I said this was fine and went to the new hotel. On arrival there the room was less than satisfactory for my 6 week old, 3 year old my partner and myself. However when I asked to be moved to a better room I was told there weren't any and to ring the hotel I had booked as it wasn't their problem! So when I called the Clifton almost in tears after a long journey with 2 small children and an awful room they said there was nothing they could do as I had now checked in at the grand! The manager I spoke to was rude and extremely unhelpful and I ended up asking for my money back and finding another hotel at 8.30 pm on a Friday night! Beware of this chain there is a reason they make you pay on arrival! Having worked in hotels myself for 10 years I understand that mistakes can happen but I also expect some level cos decent customer service and the hotel to at least attempt to rectify matters when they do!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rochelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

You need to pre book a parking space otherwise you have a problem parking. We we lucky and have a blue badge so we could park out on the street. The greeting at the reception was pleasent, but unless you pay by cash there is a charge if paying by debit/credit card. The room (No 7) was a double but small, The back of the bathroom door had been kicked in, which we reported so hopefully it has been replaced. Tetleys only £2.00 pint, I ordered 2 large G & T's (£2.40 per single) £9.60 for the gin and another £6.20 for the tonic. Had Tetleys the next time. Breakfast is self service. The exterior of the front of the hotel has had a lick of paint, pity about the back. Would we stay again, yes, it's also close to CoGoni's restaurant which is the best in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I usually go self-catering when we come down to Yorkshire, but took the opportunity of a special deal at the Clifton. We started off with a 2 night booking, and ended up staying 5 nights. We were absolutely delighted that we did and most certainly will be back in the future, all being well. Everything was to our entire satisfaction and great value for money with excellent food, clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been going to the Clifton for a few years and it's been going down but this time we were pleasantly surprised, they are slowly refurbishing it the room had been decorated new carpets and beds + bedding duvets instead of old fashioned sheets and blankets. Breakfast buffet was very good. Most of the staff were very friendly the only downside the parking a bit of a nightmare but you can reserve parking at £6 a day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing