We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grotty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“grotty”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and will not stay here again. The reception area, lounge and dining area were all nice but when we opened the door to our room, we thought we were in a different hotel! dirty carpets, chipped skirting boards, wallpaper coming off the walls and a tv from the last ice age and as for the bathroom....broken and loose floor tiles, dirty toilet seat, tiolet paper stuffed into holes to block them up, chipped emamel in the bath, an electric towel rail so hot that it could burn skin with no means to turn it off as we far as we could see and the floor and walls were dirty.
We went down to reception to report these things, but as the hotel was full were could not be re-roomed, the receptionist did try to get us in at The Grand which is the Clifton's sister hotel, but no sea view rooms were available, she also offered to give us our money back, but it was late on in the afternoon and all other hotels were fully booked, we knew this as we had just walked around Scarborough and noticed the no vacancy signs in the other hotels windows, so we had to put up with the room for the night. We paid just under £100 pounds for one nights bed and breakfast (this included parking), we did not expect it to be anything like this!!!

Room Tip: Try and find another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    378
    314
    217
    309
See reviews for
229
811
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnybridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Where to start good points towels clean bedcovers clean some receptionist s were fab
Bad points we arrived room appeared OK but dirty used razor in bath and muck so never been cleaned hardly any toilet paper receptionist\general manager was not amused when brought to her attention,did rectify. Bath panel falling to bits definately in need of an overhaul dated feels like a scene in a carry on film!!hoover is only used around furniture dust is obvious black lines in bath as well as filthly behind toilet. for 2 days a used dingey and dirty towel lay in hallway aswell as glasses etc also at one level on stairs lay hoover laundry bag and somthing else (fire exit!!) Breakfast was like get in get out and everrything tasted like it was cooked together eggs and toast were OK car parking if going phone and reserve as a pain due to restrictions

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Grimsby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I really don't know where to start except by saying that this is the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in. on arrival the reception staff didn't smile and were Moody. The room looked like a university form small, claustrophobic and grotty! The floor was slanted so badly it was disorientating and there was a hole in the floor board! The window wouldn't open properly so it made it even worse on a hot day. The hotel is in poor condition and the Bannister was wobbly with bits of plaster falling off and at 6 months pregnant frightened me it's a disaster waiting to happen. The breakfast was disgusting. Everything was cheap quality like warm or burnt! It was not good value for money I've stayed in basic b&b in Scarborough and had a much better experience. I will never stay here or any britannia hotels ever again if this is the standard!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_travellers142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I took our daughter and granddaughter on a mini break.
As you approach the hotel it looks very imposing with a great location and excellent views.
When we got in side it soon became evident that the interior had seen better days looking tired and worn.
We were very disappointed with the reception staff who were not at all welcoming the person who initially greated us took our documentation off us then she went to the back of the reception area where she was discussing our ??documents occasional glancing over at us like we were going to rob a bank for at least five mins.
We had two small dogs which were very well behaved and for which we we recharged forty pounds. We were lectured about our responsibilities in a very patronising manner.
Our room were on the third floor which meant we had to take the lift which was an Experience in its self for example the door opened on to a busy corridor if some one was walking from the other
Direction they could get a nasty injury ! Also to hold the door open then to hold the grill door to stop it closing automatically was difficult to do.
The rooms were basic but adequate
The dining area was pleasant enough the staff were very helpful.
The menu was very good with plenty of choice/variety .
I realise we did get a very good deal for this trip but the stay could have been do much better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Value for money, this was ace. (BBE, wine and fruit bowl) A bit of a blast from the past for me. Our room 120 had a good view of the North Bay (as well as the bowls centre). The room had been recently up dated and looked good. Public rooms looked good too.
The serve yourself buffet didn't look to promising but the food tasted (very) good.
We had to park on the road but the hotel reception provided us with a parking disc to cover for an hour, late afternoon /early morning.
Staff very friendly and helpful.Entertainment available at the sister hotel.
When weather is good Scarborough can't be beaten and neither can this location! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

OK, before I start, I know we didn't pay a lot - for the sake of the review, I will leave off any comment about the abysmal food served in the restaurant, but simple cleanliness should not be a problem to a hotel in this day and age. Booked double seaview room, and were given room 245. The furniture in the bedroom was tired and in bad repair - to be honest I don't think a charity shop would offer it for sale. Yes, fabulous views from all angles, but the bathroom was absolutely filthy. I refused to take a shower in there, it was so bad. Thankfully only there for one night and we went on to Premier Inn the next night and a good room/bathroom. Would not recommend the Clifton at any price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed two nights at the Clifton Hotel in Scarborough with my three year old great grandson. The staff was really helpfull and nothing was too much trouble for them and they are good with the children. We was lucky to have a sea view and the rooms was clean and the beds very comfortable.we had breakfast and evening meal but the second night we ate out as there wasn't much to choose from from a great grandma

Room Tip: Bay windows are nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E5233HYElizabeth_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing