We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run down hole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
grimsby
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“run down hole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

i wouldn't recomend anyone to stay at this place! food service cold and rushed felt like we were at a cattle market, very tired and run down place. rooms were clean, windows filthy. the only good thing was the sea view.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy36Grimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    370
    308
    214
    298
See reviews for
226
793
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

The tatty, aging room was very Victorian...and it hadn't been decorated or properly cleaned since Victorian times.

We got a special deal from travelzoo which made it just about bearable. However, we would not stay there again - even at half the price.

On a positive note some of the dining room staff were well trained but we couldn't say the same for some of the reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

North Yorks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

I stayed here with my husband, who was on business, and my parents, as we were celebrating my mother's birthday. Unfortunately we didn't arrive until 6.30 pm and the restaurant closed at 7.30 pm, so it was a quick turnaround. We thought the menu choices were good - there seemed to be something for everyone and although the food was fairly basic we thought it was plentiful, well cooked, nicely presented and good quality. After dinner we adjourned to the bar to find that entertainment had been laid on for a coach party of OAPs who were staying for five days - a really good Phillipino male singer who sang Matt Munro and Andy Williams type songs. A real bonus! In fact we thought he was far better than some of the X Factor contestants!

Our en suite bedrooms were huge and the only very minor problems my husband and I had were they forgot to leave towels and the hairdryer didn't work!

Apart from the reception and public rooms the hotel is very tired looking but it was warm and clean and the views from the dining room over the bay were lovely. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful.

We paid very little for this night away and thought it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManorNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

Went for a 3 night stay as part of a dance group in Nov 2008. The Hotel has seen better days and needs a lot of refurbishment. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a wonderful view over the bay towards the sea life centre. It was very cold during our stay but the central heating was on 24hrs and kept the room reasonably warm until the last evening when it became very windy. The seals on the double glazing were so poor that when we walked into the room I thought we had left the window open!
The bath was so old that we did not like to use it but there was plenty of hot water through the shower. The food varied between quite good and stone cold. The drinks were very expensive and the staff quite miserable although I think there was a dispute going on when we were there. The only member of staff that seemed able to smile was the lady who was usually in reception.
The ballroom has a good floor but the tables were positioned in a way which made access to the dance floor very difficult.
As I said before it is typical of the large British Seaside Hotel that is run on a shoestring with staff that are poorly paid and that really is beyond viable operation.The maintenance costs must be astronomical!

  • Liked — The View was fantastic
  • Disliked — Cold Food
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pier49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
246 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

stayed here for 1 night 16/11/2008 got an excellent rate for bed breakfast and evening meal,yes hotel is old,but it has a certain charm,we had side seaview room on 4 th floor,very impressive view,food absolutely gorgeous,drinks a bit pricey in the bar,but for a 1 or 2 night stay for the right price very well worth doing

  • Liked — price we paid
  • Disliked — prices for drinks
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todareistodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

Booked on the offer suggested by Travelzoo, which quoted a 50% discount. This was a birthday surprise, so the choice was important, despite the discount. I was looking for a U.K. seaside hotel, reasonably close to home and the Clifton Hotel certainly seemed to fit that aspect, being bang on the cliff, overlooking the North Bay of Scarborough. The second criteria was a hotel which served an evening meal as well as the usual full breakfast. Again the Clifton Hotel gave us that option. Travelling across country, darkness was descending, but we haphazardly found the hotel, with luck. Car-parking was pre-paid (£10.50 for three nights). It is a good idea to pre-pay, as the car-park is not large for such a multi-storied hotel. Your name will be clearly marked in a reserved space. Reception was efficient. In fact all the staff were efficient and courteous. I would not go beyond courteous and efficient, but it would seem that most large hotels have difficulty in breeding warm, family, intimate atmospheres. Our double 10' square room on the fourth floor, with adjoing bathroom suite was adequate and functional, a little subdued with lighting but warm and clean. The view from the window gave us a long open view towards the SeaLife Centre, with uninterrupted views of both sandy coastline and the sea. Breakfast was served at the hot buffet - not exactly cooked to individual perfection, but O.K.
The 3-Course Table d'hote evening meal was good and sufficiently varied each evening. If staying only B&B, this evening meal can be added to the account for an extra £10 pp. Wine is expensive, at £13.95 to £17.95 per 75cl bottle. Outside the hotel and within easy level walking distance, we pre-paid for the SeaLife Centre. Good worthwhile investment. The town centre is not too far away on good feet. We paid an afternoon visit to the Stephen Joseph Theatre to see a live production of "Jack Lear". Again another good investment of time. The main seaside amusements rest in the South Bay including the harbour. The costs involved for the 3 nights stay for two adults was as follows:
Dinner, Bed, Breakfast £165.00, SeaLife £6.47, Car Parking £10.50, Wine x 2 £29, Theatre £30. Economies could be made, but we certainly enjoyed the experience of an old seaside Hotel with a little secret history - Wilfred Owen, the WW1 poet war was billeted to this very Hotel as part of his convalescent, prior to his 2nd stint on the front line, where he lost his life aged 25yrs at the Battle of the Sambre.

  • Liked — The price and location
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquestati007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

worried when read previous reviews, we dont normally stay at 2star hotels, the hotel is very old and a bit shabby, we were on the 4th floor and had lovely views of the sea. The room was old and a bit worn but had clean sheets and tea/coffee in room, also had a hairdryer in, if the rooms were updated this would be more than a 2 star, but I have to say that the food was lovely and the staff very profesional and helpful, which more than made up for the shabby room.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank geordiegirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing