We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scarborough hotel does exactly what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scarborough hotel does exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We have been to Scarborough many times over the years as a family, but decided this year just to go as a couple. We thoroughly enjoyed this very welcoming hotel, with a fantastic location and sea view. The staff were very friendly and the food was enjoybale. The rooms were comfortable and warm, and we will look forward to returning upon the completion of trhe renovation project. The only criticism I would add is that the windows barely opened, which obviously I acknowledge is a safety regulation, but the room was too hot. However, this hotel provided a perfect platform to take in Scarborough's sights and represents good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyTeeHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Thank you for your coments, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    373
    308
    215
    304
See reviews for
227
801
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This was an excellent hotel which we very much enjoyed. The service was excellent as was the cleanliness of the Hotel. The food was excellent with good quality and very good service. In room 237 which we were in the state of the room was plenty of room, clean and tidy with excellent views over the bay, the only complaint was that the room was far too hot even without having the radiators on, and with only one window that opened 6 inches we found it very overpowering. But apart from this we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone that wanted a restfull and peacefull holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Thank you for your coments, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The hotel stands in a superb position with excellent views of the bay. Our room was clean and comfortable and had everything that we needed. The only criticism was that it was very hot and the window only opened a little way. The dinner was well cooked, plain English food, which we enjoyed and the waitress was pleasant and efficient. We felt it was very good value for what we paid and will definitely return to the Clifton.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgetandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

After reading other reviews, I was so worried that I had prior booked and paid for two days DBB at this hotel for a sentimental return trip to Scarborough with my two now grown up children plus one ( son, daughter and her partner) that I emailed the parent company's central reservations to express my concern. A very nice gentleman phoned me up and assured that he would contact the hotel's management to allocate us the best rooms available at the price (my major concern).

On arrival, there was no indication from the hotel management that they were aware of this communication and certainly gave no sign that they recognised my name. However the twin room on the second floor had been refurbished at some stage fairly recently, was clean with a decent bathroom, and, though looking over the car park, was perfectly acceptable. The double room on the fourth floor was somehat tired and in need of redecoration but was adequate for purpose. Neither of the rooms were of the standard featured in the hotel's website which I can only assume are premium rooms available at a supplement (something the hotel is VERY keen on). The servicing of the room I was in was extremely efficient and thorough.

Meals, both breakfast and dinner, were served in what I would categorise as a very basic breakfast room. The ballroom, which other reviewers have referred to as a location for dinner was utilised throughout for a party of elderly afficionados of the organ (the musical one as a waitress advised the next table!). Breakfast was not self service, was of just competent guest house standard and nowhere near worth the £15 quoted on the menu if you were not on an inclusive rate.

If I may quote the hotel's own website re dinner " using only the best of local produce the menu will impress even the most discerning gastronome". You might not agree, if you had a first course of orange juice or "florida cocktail" (tinned grapefruit and mandarin segments), a main of lasagne or shepherds pie as a main and ( tinned!) peaches and cream for dessert, that this was local produce gastronomy and worth the £22.50 price of the table d'hote dinner. If you went for the options of prawn cocktail, scampi and chips and cheese and biscuits, supplements took the price up to almost £35!!!! I've had 3 courses in 4 star country house hotels and in Michelin rated restaurants at less than this! On the other hand, if you selected a rather good mushroom soup, an adequate roast beef and yorkshire pudding and a nicely spiced apple crumble from the menu you might feel that it was reasonable value IF it was part of a cheap all inclusive package - but with the best will in the world you could not regard it as an epicurean experience.

Service was extremely variable. An pleasant young lady looking after the bar and an efficient room maid were the highlights. One waitress, after asking me if I wanted to taste the wine and me saying "yes, I better check it's OK", responded with "well, it's opened now away". A waiter on being asked about the trifle responded with " have you ever seen the picture on a packet of Dream Topping - well, it's just like that". One female receptionist was helpful with regard to on-street parking, another (male) just previously had not offered us the hotel pass which allowed us to do that. One wonders why. Note that the hotel car park is very small and if you want to guarantee a space that's another fiver a day!

The open plan lounge area is fine as is the small lounge bar area and another little bar with a pool table. The staircases and corridors throughout are in a very poor state and urgently in need of refurbishment and redecoration.

This is potentially a rather grand hotel which has fallen on rather hard times, has only two stars -which tells you a lot in retrospect - and seems to cater primarily for a rather aged coach tour clientele, Like a lot of the reviewers, I think this is a shame.

The hotel's website provides expectations which it just cannot deliver. However if you can get yourself a decent room at an all inclusive DBB rate of £59 per night per room or thereabouts and you avoid all the supplements like the plague, you might wish to consider it reasonable value albeit as a return to early 1970's dining! If you are going to be paying much more than that, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cageybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Peterborough
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

The views across North Bay are stunning, and if you're lucky enough to get a sea view room you can spend hours staring out at the castle and the sea. The room was well furnished and comfortable. There was plenty of tea and coffee and the bathroom was spotless. It is a little further away form the town than I expected, but it was so quiet and peaceful. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and always make time for each individual guest. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The Clifton Hotel looks like a smart luxurious hotel on its website. The prices are what you would normally pay for a good hotel therefore we thought this would be a safe option for an autumn weekend in Scarborough. However, we were very wrong.
We booked two rooms, a single and a double with sea views and paid the additional £5 for a reserved parking space totaling £170 for 1 night. The ignorant excuse for a human being who greeted us at the reception upon arrival was unbelievably rude. I asked him if he would confirm that the rooms allocated to us had a sea view he replied "Did you book a sea view?" when I replied "yes" there was no further communication other than sign here, here and here. Our room was on the top floor; however the window looked onto the scaffolding that had been erected at the front of the building. The ceiling had damp patches from roof leaks; generally the room smelled fusty and was very small for a double room. We returned to the reception to ask if we could change our room but the hotel had a weekend block booking from a dance school and there were no more rooms with sea views. Credit where credit is due, the girl on reception was very polite and understanding. The grouch we met earlier on reception had disappeared onto the car park to pick an argument with other arriving guests. Trying not to be too dis-heartened we decided to give the hotel bar a try. When we eventually found the bar person who was doubling up as kitchen help due to staff shortages, we thought it might be a good idea to order some food. Another bad idea, as this was going to be too much trouble for the puffing and blowing bar person, plus the food was nothing to write home about. Breakfast was adequate but very little choice. Positives are that the scaffolding was for painting the outside of the building which is a good start to decorating a very tired looking hotel. Generally, hotel is in need of a large hotel group investor to refurbish everything and to train the staff and management in day to day customer service.
The Hotel has vast potential but that’s about it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonny1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Our room was AWFUL. Dirty, shabby and missing furniture. Requested another room and was told there was no chance by a manager with bad attitude. Would never, never , never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynethMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing