We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate our golden wedding. We are regular visitors to the hotel and, as always, the staff were very welcoming, friendly and accomodating (my husband is disabled and they are always very willing to help). The food was of its usual high standard and the hotel made our visit extra special for us by surprising us with champagne and chocolates - Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2009

Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure having you at The Clifton with us for your Golden Wedding Anniversary. And
look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,358 - 1,364 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2009

When I saw the price for Dinner, B & B for two nights, I was a little sceptical that it would be alright. We need not have worried. This Victorian hotel is in a great location overlooking the beach and the rooms were perfectly adequate. We were actually given a family room with a double bed, single and two bunks. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. It is probably worth prebooking a parking space at busier times as the car park is not very big. Overall a very enjoyable break and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2009

Thanks i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Clifton, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We have stayed at the Clifton many times and are always welcomed warmly. My partner has a strict Coeliac diet and is catered for without any fuss. The staff are fantastic, everyone knows us as we are 'regulars' there and get on well with the friendly and helpful Clifton team, who are willing to go out of their way to make your stay a pleasure and as comfortable as possible. Twice a year my dance group take over the whole hotel to accommodate a Dance weekend for 100 people and I am sure the staff look forward to our weekends there, as much as we do. I do recommend the Clifton and always try to get a small party of friends together for our dance weekends. Its like home from home and we are already making plans for our next 'dance-athon' in a few months time. First Class!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balloonbontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2009

Thanks for your comments, we are all looking forward to your return in 2010, for another fun weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We had read negative comments before we went to stay at the Clifton and upon arrival, saw scaffolding around the front of the building, we were rather apprehensive!

But, the rooms were clean, comfortable, with a fabulous sea view. Although it is an old, traditional hotel, it was warm and inviting.

The food was comparable to any in higher star rating hotels that we have stayed at.

There is absolutely nothing to complain about, thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful stay, we would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2009

Thank you for your coments, and we look forward to welcoming you again is the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We have been to Scarborough many times over the years as a family, but decided this year just to go as a couple. We thoroughly enjoyed this very welcoming hotel, with a fantastic location and sea view. The staff were very friendly and the food was enjoybale. The rooms were comfortable and warm, and we will look forward to returning upon the completion of trhe renovation project. The only criticism I would add is that the windows barely opened, which obviously I acknowledge is a safety regulation, but the room was too hot. However, this hotel provided a perfect platform to take in Scarborough's sights and represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyTeeHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Thank you for your coments, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This was an excellent hotel which we very much enjoyed. The service was excellent as was the cleanliness of the Hotel. The food was excellent with good quality and very good service. In room 237 which we were in the state of the room was plenty of room, clean and tidy with excellent views over the bay, the only complaint was that the room was far too hot even without having the radiators on, and with only one window that opened 6 inches we found it very overpowering. But apart from this we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone that wanted a restfull and peacefull holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Thank you for your coments, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The hotel stands in a superb position with excellent views of the bay. Our room was clean and comfortable and had everything that we needed. The only criticism was that it was very hot and the window only opened a little way. The dinner was well cooked, plain English food, which we enjoyed and the waitress was pleasant and efficient. We felt it was very good value for what we paid and will definitely return to the Clifton.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgetandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £36 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing