We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time had” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great time had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

very friendly, dedicated staff. thanks to daniel for making our stay special, he works so hard but always has time for a chat. food was excellent, well cooked and always hot, our compliments to the chef. will definately be returning.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alices1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 January 2010
Thank you for your comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Clifton. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    362
    305
    212
    293
See reviews for
222
786
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

After reading some of the other reviews I was a bit concerned and wonder what we would find on arrival. The Hotel is new painted and looked tidy from the outside, yes it a bit dated but what do you expect it's an old building! The staff were very welcoming and pleasant and the hotel was really warm and cosy, just what we wanted after walk along the coast in the snow.

In my opinion it was a great deal for what we paid, the food was basic and traditional but it was hot and plentiful.

But the views are the selling point of this hotel, excellent!!! It is out of the main town but not too far a walk to the main area. Scarborough is a really friendly place and I can't wait to go again. The real ale pub next door is good too!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allymeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwell, Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

I booked a Christmas break a couple of months before "The Day" and went to pay for the stay during November to be greeted by a load of scaffolding, a minuscule car park and a very cold reception area - but don't be put off by first impressions.

I'd booked for a four-night Christmas break for myself, my lady friend and her parents in two double rooms.

On arrival we were booked in and Len (best described as Hall Porter, Jack of All Trades - and master of most) whipped our luggage up to the two rooms (351 & 352).

The lift is an adventure in itself. All of the other comments about it being awkwardly placed with a quirky mechanism and liable to display a mind of its own by seemingly running empty are all true, but as I'm reasonably fit, a walk up the stairs wasn't a problem on a couple of occasions when the queue was too long.

The corridors that we used were also a bit quirky, a few creaky floorboards and also in need of decorating.

The two rooms were at the end of the third floor corridor. No sea view was booked but the Hotel is high enough to lookout over the rooftops of the nearby town rather than into more Hotel windows.

Both rooms used blankets and sheets rather than duvets

The wooden windows were well painted - many times, and no doubt draughty if the weather was windy.

The shower room/toilet wasn't heated, and both shower cubicles had traces of mould on the tiling grout.

The TV screen in my room hadn't been cleaned and was covered in the usual grime associated with TV's

The room heating seems a little quirky, seeming to go off in the small hours of the night and come on again an hour or so later with quite a bit of knocking and rattling. The heating system also seems to have a "rest" period during the afternoon. That probably isn't a problem during the summer, but over a snowy Christmas?

If all of the above seems to be negative, don't be put off the Clifton.

As I mentioned, my stay was for one of the 4 night Christmas breaks.

The Restaurant/ballroom is a nice, airy room. Our only complaint being that our table for four was located opposite the kitchen entrances but directly in front of an emergency exit door. Unfortunately the door had a gap underneath and the curtains didn't quite reach the ground. Result - draughts. Admittedly the management did try to cure this by laying a sheet of something at the bottom of the door

The food in the restaurant was excellent with pleasant waiters and waitresses and a good choice for breakfast, lunch and evening meal.

Of the four nights evening entertainment, I would rate the first two as Very Good - as my lady friend managed to persuade me (non-dancer) to get up on the floor, and I enjoyed every minute.

The third (Boxing Day) evening’s entertainment was a bit hit and miss - the few who stayed in the room gave up any hope of dancing very quickly.

On the final evening, "Joel" provided the entertainment, and he is best described as superb. My only complaint being that he wasn't on long enough.

As it was Christmas, of course they'd managed to persuade Santa to visit.

In all, it was a welcome break with considerate staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxtonmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

We had a 2 night stay at the Clifton the room was very cold but nice and clean we had to ask for blankets as it was so cold also the shower was broken and I had to hold it while showering not an easy task the bath needs a none slip mat in it as its dangerous getting in and out.
the dinner at night was not good soup OK but main course awfull the staff were nice but food needs sorting if it is to get people to return again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandylincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Notts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

Newly refurbished room, helpful staff, good quality homemade food.

On North Bay side of town which suited us.

Good real ale pub around the corner.

Unfortunately, unable to use large restaurant for the whole of the stay due to time of year,ie. xmas parties

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank percyandgert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We recently stayed at the Clifton for a weeks holiday and as always found everyone to be so friendly and helpful. Yes the hotel is an old building but the lift has been repaired and the outside is being re-painted, hence some scaffolding. Congratulations to Julie and her staff who we cannot speak highly enough. This was our seventh or eight visit this year and we always receive the same courtesy, so much so that we're already planning holidays next year. Thanks to everyone at the Clifton.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpepsi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, The General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2009
Thank you for your comments, hope you both have a Happy Christams and we are looking forward to seeing you both in January 2010.
Regards Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashfield
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

This is our 4th stay at the Clifton Hotel Scarborough, ok its an old hotel so expect wear & tear although its being renovated outside(Dec '09). together with a renovation programme inside. The place is warm, staff friendly & helpful, food good, location good, bed & bath linen clean, rooms well sized & last but not least some great deals / offers £'wise for the time of year we like to visit. There seems to always be some awful reviews for most of the hotels we have stayed in which can be very off-putting & obviously only the reviewer & his/her experience at that time can prevail. Personally I go for VALUE FOR MONEY and the CLIFTON gives us this every time! This last visit we took 2 sets of friends with us & likewise they were impressed with value for money.
PS. I do not work for, & not connected in any way to the Clifton Hotel or the hotel trade.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashfield22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing