We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonky Wonky Wonky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonky Wonky Wonky”
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Just got back from staying at the Clifton at Scarborough. We were the for one night with B&B. On booking into the hotel the reception staff made you feel like a big fat inconvenience. Not welcoming at all.
Room was unreal. Could hardly move. Was like being in a cupboard. Then we found the floor sloped!!! Downhill!!! The bathroom was tiny and the light didnt even work above the shower!! Windows were not double glazed and dirty. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and i had a terrible nights sleep. Plus had loud banging pipes most of the night.
However the breakfast was good and had different choices. Waiters were helpful.
Hotel location was good as just above where seafront buses run so easy to get a ride to town centre. Would recommend buying an all day pass if can because £1.80 per person each way and only £3.20 each for all day one.
Didnt have evening meal in hotel but recommend an Italian restaurant just a 2mins walk from the town centre called "Tricolore". Food was beautiful and they also cater for children.
I would not recommend staying in this hotel and we will definately not be going back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Clifton. I can assure you the reception team have been taken to task about your remarks, as I understand that they are the first point of contact in any hotel, and first impressions mean so much.Regarding your room, I do wish you had mentioned this to me, as I could possibly have found you alternative accomodation within the hotel. Alas not much I can do after the fact.
Thanks once again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    368
    307
    213
    297
See reviews for
224
792
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I have recently stayed at the clifton for 2 nights with a few friends.
After reading other reviews i was somewhat apprehensive about my stay however do not listen to what the others say.
Yes the clitfon is a little old, however what do you expect from a victorian hotel.
The room was bright and clean, although i did find the bathroom a little small for my own liking.
The views from our room were absolutely stunning, and the overall cleanliness of the rom was much appreciated by myself and my partner.
It is true what they say about the staff.nothing is too much for them.
Both reception staff and management are friendly and willing to help, and the bar maids are always willing to have a laugh with you and general chit chat., and if theres anything you need they're already on their way to help you.
Food is wonderful..its so lovely to have a variety every night.
The night porter was very friendly and made our nights pleasant,

Overall a success story i would say.
Will definately be staying there again in the future.

Thank you to Julie and the rest of her team.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, Julie Bellwood, General Manager. at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Clifton. It is nice to know that people appreciate the effort that our staff go to in order to make their stay a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at The Clifton which we booked with Travelzoo for £30 pppn including breakfast and 3 course dinner. We had a free upgrade to a sea view room which was wonderful as I adore the sea. I read in a previous review that the hotel was smelly and this is definitely NOT the case. Yes the decor is rather tired but it is an old hotel and is obviously having work done as there were painters around (unobtrusively) during our stay. Again, the decor in our room was tired but completely clean and perfectly acceptable for the price we paid. Whilst walking around the bay area we checked out some B&B tariffs in the small guest houses and they were charging more for B&B than we paid for half board, so no grumbles there.

The food was perfectly fine and one thing that really pleased me was to be offered a jug of water at dinner as soon as we were seated as I don't drink, and it niggles me when, in lots of places you have to buy mineral water. The breakfast was excellent with various cereals followed by a choice of prunes or grapefruit. There were fruit juices and tea or coffee was brought to your table. There was also the usual full english assortment and porridge for those that wanted it, and of course toast and marmalade. So everyone was catered for.

As we had been out all day enjoying the area, (don't miss a visit to Thornton le Dale - it's the most beautiful village) we stayed in the hotel during the evenings and it was very quiet on the Sunday evening so we just read. However on the Monday evening we were entertained by a young singer named Joel who was outstandingly good, and I'm not that easy to please where singers are concerned. He was extremely professional and it would be worth another visit just to listen to him (but don't know how often he sings there).

All in all extremely good value for money - would certainly do it again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 3 April 2010
Thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We've stayed in The Clifton Hotel twice now - once in August last year and again in February. The hotel has fantastic views over the North Bay of Scarborough and lies between the busy town and the seal sanctuary. All members of staff were helpful and the hotel was clean and warm - very important if you're on the Yorkshire coast in February! The evenings meals were a bit disappointing and fairly sparse for vegetarians, but the accommodation is good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 3 April 2010
Thank you for your comments, and i do agree that the Clifton has fastastic views over the North Bay.
Regarding your Vegetarian meal option if you had mentioned it to your waiter the chef would have been happy to offer you an alternative.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

the worst hotel we have ever stayed in,its scruffy.The carpets in the bedroom covered in iron burns and cig burns. we paid for a sea view,couldnt look out as the wind blew through the ill fitting windows.The toilet seat was worn out all the paint worn off it.The front of the shower cubicle had pubic hairs and fluff all across the front.The room and the hotel smell dirty.The lift to the rooms was like something out of upstairs downstairs.very sad state of affairs that this type of hotels still exist.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
I am sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver to your expectations whilst staying at The Clifton Hotel and, although I find some of your criticisms difficult to accept, we do value your and all of our guests’ constructive comments and observations.

The Clifton is over 100 years old and is situated on the cliff top over looking Scarborough’s North Bay. Occasionally, if the weather is particularly windy, as it has been this winter, the rooms overlooking the sea can be susceptible to slight drafts. I can only apologise if you felt this was a little uncomfortable but unfortunately, due to the age of the building, this can prove very difficult to manage.

Without knowing which room number you stayed in it is difficult for me to respond to the comments about your room. Perhaps if you had aired your concerns to us during your stay, rather then after your departure on this public forum, we could have moved you to a room more fitting to your expectations.

I can only suggest that people’s expectations and taste vary and as you can see from previous comments, the majority of our guests find our rooms to be most acceptable.

As far as the cleanliness is concerned our housekeeping department strive to meet high standards and it is upsetting when we do not deliver. I have brought your comments to the head housekeeper’s attention whom I am sure will deal with them in the appropriate manner. Having said that, to say that the hotel ‘smells dirty’ is simply untrue and unfair.

In conclusion I can only offer you my sincere apologies and can assure others reading this review that experiences like yours are rare. Of course you don’t have to take my word for it, but please do take a moment to read our many other fantastic reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

bury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

booked a 4 day break with travelzoo for wife and myself.
£30 per day for full english breakfast and 3 course evening
meal plus war.m double room. with sea view.and reasonable bar prices and
special price deal on wine.the staff were polite and friendly
and service first class. little bit out of town but then again
great if you enjoy walks along the prom and beach

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franklloyd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, Julie Bellwood, General Manager. at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 February 2010
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay. The Travelzoo deal is a very popular one, which we offer on a regular basis, and we like to think you are made to feel welcome whatever the circumstances of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My husband and myself have just spent 2 nights at the Clifton Hotel and enjoyed ourselves very much. Nothing was too much for the staff working there, who were helpful and polite at all times. We had an excellent room which we paid a small extra supplement for as we wanted a sea view, and the view was excellent. The deal we had was breakfast and evening meal and the food was also good. Most people who were staying there were probably 50+ like ourselves!! We would definately return for another out of season break in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarletStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, Julie Bellwood, General Manager. at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 February 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We do try to ensure your visit to The Clifton is as pleasant as possible. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,304 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
421 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing