We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, quiet hotel with stunning view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed for a weekend break when this hotel was very busy. The front line staff were unhurried but very efficient which meant that no-one waited long in the dining room or the bar. They were very respectful and friendly and worked as a team. The view is superb from the front. The whole of the North Bay beach could be seen from our room. The hotel is a Victorian building with thick walls so other guests cannot be heard in neighbouring rooms which is a bonus. Our bathroom was tiny and perhaps it would have been better to have a shower room only. There is no double glazing so the surf can be noisy at night. All this and Theakstons Bitter on draught, my husband was in heaven.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and yes i do agree the views of the North Bay from the Clifton Hotel are stunning.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

Booked a famly room through Superbreaks for a weekend stay. Arrived at hotel and car park seemed full, I checked with reception and they immediately radioed for someone to come and sort a space. Within minutes my husband was directed into a parking space, offering to reserve it for us if required. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was reminiscent of something out of Faulty Towers, not in a bad way, just we felt like we had gone back in time - but this seems to add to its character, rather than being a typical modern sterile hotel. The family room was large and spacious with great sea views both from the bedroom and bathroom. There was a separate bedroom off the main bedroom with bunk beds for the kids. The rooms and hotel, though dated, were immaculately clean. On returning to our room late that evening we realised the heating had come on and the room was quite hot, fortunately the windows opened sufficiently to get air into the room and we were able to turn the radiator off. Breakfast was very good and the restaurant staff helpful. If you want a modern hotel then this is not the one for you, but if you want a bit of character and don't mind an old Victoria building then I would recommend a stay here. All in all, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie52england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at the Clifton Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We booked on Friday at 2pm and were at the hotel at 6pm. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly with a special mention to the dining room staff for their courteous, friendly and helpful manner.
The only fault we could find was that the dinner servings could have been larger but apart from that thanks to all for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WakefieldMadHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2010

Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

From the moment we arrived, smiling faces from all the staff and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, clean and warm. Although some stairs carpets were a bit worn and floorboards squeeky it is such a classy hotel. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, like the good old days when taste and manners mattered. And the food !!- It was so good, couldn't refuse! There was such a variety and the menu changed every day . The restaurant is well set out, and with fresh flowers on each table - and so well run the service was top class. We simply couldn't manage Full English on the last day.
We we so lucky picking the first good weekend of this year but even if the weather was bnad there's plenty to do, both in the hotel and close by

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2010

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at the Clifton Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Came here at the begining of April for two nights. Upgraded to room 127 which was well worth the extra lovely view and fantastic room. Food was excellent both breakfast and dinner. The sea view is fantastic. Me and the wife enjoyed it so much we came back for another two nights only two days after getting home. On our second visit we booked a sea view but was gives a side view. Although the room was nice we asked for a sea view so went to ask to be moved. We where offered a room on the top floor which wa@ not a very nice room. So off back to reception again, we whew then told the only room left with a sea view was a family room. We took this room as it was very nice with an outstanding view. So where people have said on other reviews about unhelpfull staff I reckon they must have been in a different hotel.

To sumerise

Yes its old but its charming. Food is excellent. Staff are helpful especially the night porter. Good location. Lift is a bit special. Only two faults 1 the Windows need a clean and 2 the carpark is too small reserve a space in advance. Overall we enjoyed our stays here.

Would be going again .

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyd358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2010

Thank you for your positive comments regarding you stay at the Clifton Hotel.
And you look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the Clifton Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good. The menu was varied and the restaurant staff were very helpful. We thought it was good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satisfiedguest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2010

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at The Clifton. Wwe look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Just got back from staying at the Clifton at Scarborough. We were the for one night with B&B. On booking into the hotel the reception staff made you feel like a big fat inconvenience. Not welcoming at all.
Room was unreal. Could hardly move. Was like being in a cupboard. Then we found the floor sloped!!! Downhill!!! The bathroom was tiny and the light didnt even work above the shower!! Windows were not double glazed and dirty. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and i had a terrible nights sleep. Plus had loud banging pipes most of the night.
However the breakfast was good and had different choices. Waiters were helpful.
Hotel location was good as just above where seafront buses run so easy to get a ride to town centre. Would recommend buying an all day pass if can because £1.80 per person each way and only £3.20 each for all day one.
Didnt have evening meal in hotel but recommend an Italian restaurant just a 2mins walk from the town centre called "Tricolore". Food was beautiful and they also cater for children.
I would not recommend staying in this hotel and we will definately not be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Clifton. I can assure you the reception team have been taken to task about your remarks, as I understand that they are the first point of contact in any hotel, and first impressions mean so much.Regarding your room, I do wish you had mentioned this to me, as I could possibly have found you alternative accomodation within the hotel. Alas not much I can do after the fact.
Thanks once again for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £36 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing