We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$233
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,485)
Filter reviews
1,485 results
Traveller rating
172
410
341
235
327
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
410
341
235
327
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth bayplenty of hot waterbay windowbit datedplenty of choiceexcellent value for moneyjuliecastlecliffsseaside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,367 - 1,372 of 1,485 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Having read the 'dirty' review we were well pleased with our 2 day break. Our room in the tower had an incredible view in all directions and was perfectly adequate.The breakfast saw us through to the evening meal which in itself was very good.Yes, the lift is very old fashioned but the hotel was built before lifts and this was obviously added later in the only space available - if you dont like it there is a fine staircase.The staff were all friendly and we drank Theakstones! An incredibly good value stay - we felt that we were robbing them.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginaandbobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your stay at The Clifton Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Firstly we booked the last minute break via travelzoo who we use on a regular occasion with no disappointment. £30 per person per night bed, breakfast & dinner.
However the Clifton let us down some what, if it wasn't for the spectacular views I would have moved to another hotel. Arrived at hotel in motorbike gear at 2pm told we couldn't have our room until 3pm even though it was ready. We had to get changed in the toilets!!

The room was small but clean with updated en suite, view to the rear of hotel over looking the car park but fine. we noticed the bed was broken & not a single spring left in the mattress!! Asked for new bed & we got a new room. Fantastic we thought they even said it was an up grade!! We were moved to a very dated 4th floor room with no shower!! It didn't look clean & I was reluctant to stay. The view was fantastic though over looking the bay.
Decided to give it a go never the less. Evening meal was very 70's which caters for the masses in the hotel i.e we were the youngest couple I am 29yrs my partner 41.
The second evening meal was better beef & yorkshire pud but paid for the it the next morning!! Breakfast wasn't much better, grape fruit, prunes, cereal & toast or you can pay an extra £5 for full english...we are so glad we didn't pay the extra on looking at other peoples plates.
This hotel needs bringing up to date.
The staff are very helpful & friendly. Views are fantastic & the location ideal. In the end I had a really nice time but that was down to the great weather and company.
Clifton hotel will remain a 2* until the food & rooms improve. I would re-visit when the improvements have been made.
P.S the hotel is currently being decorated & we were told some of the rooms have been renovated. If you are going to stay here ask for one of the new rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishcouple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver to your expectations whilst staying at the Clifton Hotel.
As far as the cleanliness is concerned out Housekeeping department strive to meet high standards and it is upsetting when we do not deliver. Perhaps if you had aired your comments during your stay, rather than after your departure we could have moved you to a room more fitting to your expectations.
Regarding your comments on the food i have to disagree as you can see from previous comments.

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The views were lovely. Our room had a pleasant view and was very clean. The halls were dated, but having said that, there appears to be an update in process and given the size of the building that is going to take some time.
Unfortunately, (because of the age of the building), the hotel bedrooms are difficult to access for disabled people. My 85 year old Mother's small scooter would not fit into the lift because of its extremely narrow access. The staff immediately had a wheelchair delivered for us from Scarborough which was very helpful. However, even with the wheel chair I struggled to get it into the lift and someone older or less healthy than myself would really have had problems. However, I would rate the hotel very highly for the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to be helpful. They could not be faulted in any way.
I had booked the hotel through Travel Zoo on an amazingly cheap deal. Dinner was adequate but had I paid full price for it I would not have been as happy. Very good starters and puddings but the main courses were generally bland or served with inappropriate side dishes. Having said that, I had no difficulty when asking that my Lasagne was served with salad rather than the prescribed boiled vegetables (this appeared to me to be an odd combination). Breakfast was very good.
I would certainly return to the hotel on a deal but not with anyone who had disabilities.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAVY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2010

Thank you for your comments, and yes i agree the staff here at the Clifton are always Friendly and always will try to do that little bit more to help. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed for a weekend break when this hotel was very busy. The front line staff were unhurried but very efficient which meant that no-one waited long in the dining room or the bar. They were very respectful and friendly and worked as a team. The view is superb from the front. The whole of the North Bay beach could be seen from our room. The hotel is a Victorian building with thick walls so other guests cannot be heard in neighbouring rooms which is a bonus. Our bathroom was tiny and perhaps it would have been better to have a shower room only. There is no double glazing so the surf can be noisy at night. All this and Theakstons Bitter on draught, my husband was in heaven.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and yes i do agree the views of the North Bay from the Clifton Hotel are stunning.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Booked a famly room through Superbreaks for a weekend stay. Arrived at hotel and car park seemed full, I checked with reception and they immediately radioed for someone to come and sort a space. Within minutes my husband was directed into a parking space, offering to reserve it for us if required. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was reminiscent of something out of Faulty Towers, not in a bad way, just we felt like we had gone back in time - but this seems to add to its character, rather than being a typical modern sterile hotel. The family room was large and spacious with great sea views both from the bedroom and bathroom. There was a separate bedroom off the main bedroom with bunk beds for the kids. The rooms and hotel, though dated, were immaculately clean. On returning to our room late that evening we realised the heating had come on and the room was quite hot, fortunately the windows opened sufficiently to get air into the room and we were able to turn the radiator off. Breakfast was very good and the restaurant staff helpful. If you want a modern hotel then this is not the one for you, but if you want a bit of character and don't mind an old Victoria building then I would recommend a stay here. All in all, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie52england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at the Clifton Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews