We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Again”
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Just had another 2 night break here, and once again everything is great. Food and service up to their usual high standard. Maybe the bedroom could be a bit cleaner, but didn't spend much time in it, so not too much of a problem. Many thanks to the Manageress and her lovely staff for another nice time.
PS Ask for room 125 for the best views in Scarborough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruitykaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Clifton Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards
Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    382
    316
    223
    314
See reviews for
233
823
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2010

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and tidy. The breakfast was very good value for your money. I have no faults with this hotel whats so ever. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 December 2010
Thank you very much for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The website looks good they show a room which I think may of been done up recently the reception and bar areas all very nice freshly painted. However when we went up to our room on floor 2 it was very basic but we can live with that if clean. We had no soap, shampoo or shower gel and no towels on arrival, but were told we could not book in when we arrived at 2pm as room not ready we waited until 3pm and got our key what were they doing in that hour obviously not preparing it. We overlooked the front door and every time revelers went out for a cigarette we were woken by the cough cough of the smokers. They should of had the party in the carpark not bothered booking a room. The meals were discusting and breakfast was thrown at us, luke warm. It was a shame cos the staff were so lovely it is not their faults. I will never go back to Scarborough it is a dirty place full of dog mess. If they spent more on the decor and luxuries for hygiene sake instead of having the rooms like a furnace that may help as the heating bill must be costing a fortune. Never, Never again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillymintwinsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 December 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to post a comment. I'm sorry that on this occasion you were not happy with your stay at The Clifton. I find it difficult to understand why you did not bring any of your concerns to my attention during your visit, as that is what I am here for. It's impossible to rectify the problems after you have left, and I hope to have the oppurtunity to show you what we can do in the future.
Unfortunately I cannot accept responsibility for the dog mess in Scarborough, and don't really understand what this has to do with your visit to The Clifton.
Regards
Julie Bellwood.
General Mnager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Me and my husband came to Scarborough for a long weekend and chose to stay at the clifton as we had previously stayed on the south side. We had a spacious double bedroom with amazing views of the north bay. The room was very clean and comfortable and had a homely feel about it. We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and they even had our luggage took to our room for us. The food was of a high standard and the waiting staff very friendly. We would definately recommend this hotel to anybody lookin to visit Scarborough and will return in the future!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol_3920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I have stayed in so many hotels but this hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. It starts with the check-in, you get a very warm and friendly welcome. The staff is so friendly and helpful. I was given a room on the 2th floor with a good view on the city. The room was spotlessy clean. The bed was very good and I had a good sleep. Be aware that rooms may not be soundproof. Breakfast was excellent, and again the staff here was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is not exactly in the citycentre altough you are not far form it. I can recommend this hotel for sure. Try to get a good rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave111967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Clifton Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future

Regards
Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My husband and I stayed recently at this hotel we had such a great time, the staff and management are great espically the young gentleman that checked us in as a good sense of humour. And the food was lovely all home cooked
We would like to thank all the management and staff for a wonderful stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeyore3993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Clifton Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards
Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

we stayed here for our anniversary and was thrilled with how well the staff treat you. the hotel was beautiful- full of character. the food was delicious, i can't fault it in any way. the rooms were really spacious and clean. the views are out of this world. we''ll definatly go again as the staff were so polite and made you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugh_rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Clifton Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards
Julie Bellwood
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing