We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAKE NO NOTICE OF WINGERS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“TAKE NO NOTICE OF WINGERS”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

,stayed at this hotel feb 2011 for two nights and was plesently surprised,was wary to go to only a 2 star,and some bad reviews,but room was reallly clean and nice,the corridors need doing up badly this was the only fault,apart from restaurant food prices,[extortion] the meals were basic and no choices,for £25 each ,the lounge meals were cheaper and better,the staff were good and the waitress was loverly,we were in room 122 ,had a slight sea view but would rather have been at front,lounges were really pleasant and wellcoming,parking was a bit expensive £6 a night but there was no where else to park[wouldnt like to see it in summer,] would go back on a room only basis,love the location and really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    380
    314
    217
    309
See reviews for
229
814
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

excellent value for money with the Hotel being in an outstanding position.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We received a warm welcome and were given a fantastic room with a sea-view.The hotel has retained many of its original features and charm, whilst having the facilities one would want.. It is in the best position on the North Bay.

Throughout our stay the service was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the good wholesome cooking.

The ballroom is excellent and during our stay two dancing parties were displaying their excellent skills.

The hotel offers good service and great value for money. We will certainly visit again.

Christine and Michael

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank You for your comments, and i agree we do have some of the best view over the North Bay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Arrived at the hotel at 11.30am check in wasn`t until 15.00 which we were aware of we were greeted at reception by a very cheerful chap who gave us a form to fill in and told us what our room no. was good start. We went back to the hotel at 15.30 to be met at reception with about 6 people around the counter and the afor mentioned cheeful chap spotted us and gave us the key very good. The room was huge with a double bed and large bathroom, the whole hotel could do with updating and the breakfast was ok but it was hardly what I would call hot it is served by a waitress(who could of smiled) bacon,sausage,beans,black pudding,egg,tomato,fried bread(which was like concrete) served from piles of the stuff on silver trays with lids to supposedly keep it warm plenty of it but it just was cold looked good on the plate but wasn`t very appertising. Apart from that it was a good place to stay for one night very warm and cosy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slippy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto Trip Advisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Future.

Kind Regards
Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location and we enjoyed our upgraded room with a sea view. Throughout our 5 day stay the service was first class with the breakfast and evening dinner being served promptly with ample portions. All food was of a high quality.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarHor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

stayed over christmas [ 5 days ] ask for lower floor due to been disabled but was given room on 4th floor which was very small and cold [ not a good start ] but to be fair was given another room on 3rd floor. the lift is very old and needs updating . some of the rooms need a coat of paint and carpets replacing. lounge was comfortable with good tvs
food was good and the waiters and waitress were excellent nothing to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misselvis67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 2 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. I remember changing your room to a much larger one, at no extra charge, to suit your medical problems. You're welcome.
The lift you mention has regular services from the lift company, and they consider it to be one of the best examples of its type, and in excellent working condition. Why would we change that?
Refurbishment is ongoing at The Clifton, and may not get done as quickly as any of us would like, but we will get there. Thank you for mentioning our friendly, helpful staff, and our excellent food.
Kindest Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

My wife and I, together with another couple, enjoyed a 3 night stay during very cold weather. The hotel was warm and welcoming with a lovely ambience in the refurbished lounge area. All the staff were most helpful throughout our stay. The breakfasts were excellent and the 3 course dinners provided a good menu choice. The hotel is quite old and the bedrooms are in need of some updating, but we were very comfortable and felt the hotel offered excellent value for what we paid. The Clifton is well placed right on the cliff top and there is a regular bus service to the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 2 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We try very hard at The Clifton to be friendly, and it's nice to know our guests appreciate the effort we put in. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,798 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing