We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, first class staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
1 review
“Excellent hotel, first class staff”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Have stayed here many times now, the location is ideal. The staff and management cannot do enough, the stay as always first class

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
It's nice to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed, and we appreciate your very kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    374
    308
    216
    304
See reviews for
227
804
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

we have stopped at the clifton before and it was ok so we went back, the hotel had deteriorated decor wise. We were given a room that had not been cleaned, there was food on the floor and the toilet was still dirty and smelly. When i asked for another room, the duty manager was rude and obnoxious. We were given another room and this was more satisfactory. There was a big dance event taking place and it became obvious that the other guests were going to struggle to get any service at all, we were shoved in another room for breakfast. There were at least 10 other couples like us who all had to have their breakfasts warmed up in the microwave, not a healthy way to start the day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment.
The Duty Manager agreed with you regarding the state of the room, which is why he was quite HAPPY to move you to an alternative, rude and obnoxious he isn't. The big dance event that you mention is an annual event at The Clifton, and we like to think that the service to all our guests is equally attentive. our guests are not 'shoved' into a room. Over the weekend you were dining in the Alexandra Suite, which is actually the main dining room. Regarding breakfast on Sunday there was a problem with the chafing fluid keeping the food warm, but it did not affect 10 couples, or anywhere near, as you suggest. I find it very strange,that, considering the obvious unhappiness with your stay, why you didn't ask to see me before you departed to relate your concerns to me personally, as I am always willing to listen to constructive criticism provided it's has validity.
Kind Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We were in the hotel for a dance week. The ballroom was just right for our needs. The staff were brilliant and any problems were sorted out imediately. Even the bar staff came and chatted to us in the lounge after they came off duty. The evening meals were superb - lots of choice and well presented and just the right amount for a dance group. Breakfasts were serve yourself with lots of choice. Bedrooms varied from large to little larger than a boxroom, some with sea views - but who got what was left to the hotel and (considering the price) no one complained.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

,stayed at this hotel feb 2011 for two nights and was plesently surprised,was wary to go to only a 2 star,and some bad reviews,but room was reallly clean and nice,the corridors need doing up badly this was the only fault,apart from restaurant food prices,[extortion] the meals were basic and no choices,for £25 each ,the lounge meals were cheaper and better,the staff were good and the waitress was loverly,we were in room 122 ,had a slight sea view but would rather have been at front,lounges were really pleasant and wellcoming,parking was a bit expensive £6 a night but there was no where else to park[wouldnt like to see it in summer,] would go back on a room only basis,love the location and really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

excellent value for money with the Hotel being in an outstanding position.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We received a warm welcome and were given a fantastic room with a sea-view.The hotel has retained many of its original features and charm, whilst having the facilities one would want.. It is in the best position on the North Bay.

Throughout our stay the service was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the good wholesome cooking.

The ballroom is excellent and during our stay two dancing parties were displaying their excellent skills.

The hotel offers good service and great value for money. We will certainly visit again.

Christine and Michael

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank You for your comments, and i agree we do have some of the best view over the North Bay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Arrived at the hotel at 11.30am check in wasn`t until 15.00 which we were aware of we were greeted at reception by a very cheerful chap who gave us a form to fill in and told us what our room no. was good start. We went back to the hotel at 15.30 to be met at reception with about 6 people around the counter and the afor mentioned cheeful chap spotted us and gave us the key very good. The room was huge with a double bed and large bathroom, the whole hotel could do with updating and the breakfast was ok but it was hardly what I would call hot it is served by a waitress(who could of smiled) bacon,sausage,beans,black pudding,egg,tomato,fried bread(which was like concrete) served from piles of the stuff on silver trays with lids to supposedly keep it warm plenty of it but it just was cold looked good on the plate but wasn`t very appertising. Apart from that it was a good place to stay for one night very warm and cosy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slippy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto Trip Advisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Future.

Kind Regards
Julie Bellwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#22 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing