We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Scarborough

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YHA Scarborough
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just come back from a fantastic visit to Scarborough, staying at the YHA with our 3 yr old and 6 yr old. Perfect location just out of town + within 10-15 min walk of the coast. Quiet and relaxing with room for the kids to run around inside and out. Hosts were very welcoming and helped us out with everything we needed. Bedrooms and facilities are simple but clean and perfectly adequate. The kids had a great time and we got to relax as well. Definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thursday_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
2
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hi!
Recently stayed here twice in last 2 months. I first stayed here doing a mystery shop and liked it!
Its not the most up to date furnished mod cons youth hostel,but for me is important stop for the cleavelend way! Perfect location!

This hostel was up for sale a year ago and the new owners are friendly welcoming and just can't do enough for you. The hostel needs a overhaul which owners are aware of but saved it and are prepared to do it bit by bit! This I like! The rooms are big please ring them direct if you don't get what you want on line!

Its a bit tricky to find and be careful at the entrance, it needs a mirror to view traffic in the summer but in winter you can see the traffic coming down the hill. You come out of the entrance on a blind bend !

Its quirky but lovely :-) 3rd stay and will definitely go back :-)

Room Tip: Please ring if no 4 bed rooms free they will accomdate you ! I can't remember our room number bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights in February and was made extremely welcome. I arrived very late but got a cuppa tea, a towel (forgot mine) and advice for where to watch the match. Then in the morning a hearty breakfast to set me up for the day. Its run by a really warm friendly couple and the surroundings are cool. Definitely worth a visit ;-).

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We used this lovely hostel as a base for a w/e of MTBing at Dalby Forest. We didn't arrive until after 9pm on the Fri eve, but that was no problem as the reception is open until 10ish.

Our £65 / 6-berth room was comfortable and clean.

The kitchen and eating area a good size and has all of the utensils and facilities you need for self catering. We opted for the £5 cooked breakfast on the Sun am which was great food and value.

Dalby forest MTB centre is 30 mins away. Scarborough has a bike shop or 2 if you need spares, but there's also the bike shop at the Dalby visitor centre.

There's secure storage for bikes at the hostel

The couple running the hostel were very friendly and a great source of local info.

Please remember that this is a hostel with character i.e. old building with log burner etc. It is not a pristine, new, clinical hotel. Personally I prefer the former

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
2.3 mi away
The Boat Shed
The Boat Shed
#20 of 35 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ivanhoe Hotel
The Ivanhoe Hotel
#70 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
2.1 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Scarborough

Property: YHA Scarborough
Address: Burniston Road, Scarborough YO13 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Scarborough 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing