We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Fantastic Place To Go!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forge Valley Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forge Valley Inn
Ranked #158 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly Fantastic Place To Go!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having read some of the less appealing comments made about the Forge Valley Inn on here I think certain individuals need to come down from their high Pedi stool and understand the realities of what we are reviewing. This is not a fine dining a la carte restaurant but indeed a country pub serving excellent hand pulled beers and quality pub food sold at very reasonable prices. All tastes are catered for and personally If you are told there is a twenty minute wait for food then that shows you are receiving a quality home cooked meal made fresh and not from the microwave. I have visited the Forge in Ayton a few times and have always found the landlord and landlady very accommodating and professional in their approach. The staff are as equally helpful and polite, they will do anything to make your time at the forge be a comfortable one. The beer is well looked after with hand pulled guest ales available.The ambience of the place is welcoming and relaxing. Jo and Simon I believe have only recently took over the pub and have transformed the place immensely since there arrival. Traditional Carvery's served twice a week, steak nights and even a tea room option throughout the day appeals to couples and families alike. A good sized beer garden and ample seating for food with a separate bar for drinkers all contributes to pleasing everyone. If you are looking for a traditional style pub which welcomes everybody with good food and quality beer, please look no further!! A truly great example of how a place should be run and credit to the owners for delivering this. It saddens me to here people reviewing a normal public house in the same light as Gordon Ramsey's style restaurant. If that's what you want then off you go and leave the normal down to earth people to enjoy themselves!! Thank you I will be visiting again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    0
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Staying locally on holiday we visited one night for dinner. Was very pleased with the service and quality of the food ...... Good straight forward pub grub. We all enjoyed it so much, we returned the next night and enjoyed it every bit as much! ...... Great value for money! Hubby was delighted you serve the black sheep ale too! Would definitely recommend and will pop in if ever back in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaywkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Called in for evening meal. Greeted with scruffy interior, one inept staff member and very poor service. Ordered food which we were told would be served in 20 mins. Did not arrive. We walked out. Avoid!!!

Room Tip: If the resteraunt is the advertisement for the hotel don't even risk a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stopped off for lunch here on our way back to our hotel from a day in Scarborough, and we so wished we hadn't bothered! We should have turned round as soon as we entered the front door as the smell of the place was quite unpleasant and the grumpy greeting from behind the bar should have been another warning. We only had baguettes and chips which were uneatable, and most were left We couldn't leave quickly enough

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank moonraker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

On the last night of our holiday we popped into this small hotel for dinner. 4 adults and one toddler. Spotlessly clean dining room. Comfy chairs at the table. Lovely menu to suit even the fussiest person. Order was taken quickly, drinks arrived soon after then the starters were served. Delicious. Main courses of hunters chicken, 2 ham salads with baked potato and chips, cheese omelette with chips and kids sausage beans and chips were served quickly. Hot and fresh. Omelette was delicious. Salad was huge and fresh. Plenty of chicken in the hunters chicken. Kids portion was generous (the adults finished off his dinner). Puddings of apple pie and jam sponge with custard served quickly, also delicious. We were less than £50 for all of the food and drinks. Well worth the money. Don't drive past this place, pop in and eat here. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Si W, Owner at Forge Valley Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review our business.
we are new to the pub having been here for around 2 months , food is something we were keen to introduce and we are very happy that you enjoyed not only the menu but the atmosphere as well.
Hope to see you again
Si and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.5 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
267 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coachman Inn
Coachman Inn
#126 of 182 in Scarborough
93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,619 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forge Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forge Valley Inn

Property: Forge Valley Inn
Address: 5 Pickering Road, Scarborough YO13 9JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forge Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing