We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottage, superbly looked after, amazing location, highly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wrea Head Country Cottages
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, superbly looked after, amazing location, highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent a week in the beautiful Seascape Cottage over Easter and we were very well looked after by Rob who was able to meet our every requirement, which was especially important with two young children. We were able to do many walks, walking miles most days to the local Scarborough beach. We also loved the village of Scalby which is just a little way from the cottages with many small shops and cafes,the delicious fish and chips are also worth a mention! I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the cottage and the swimming pool, with the gardens looking extremely well maintained! We definitely shall be returning for another holiday in Scalby, fantastic value for how well we were looked after and the quality of location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRIDLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    5
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Wrea Head Cottages have been our favourite escape for15 years.
We have recently had a very enjoyable break between Christmas and New Year.
The present owners are really friendly caring and considerate.They take excellent care of Wrea head, and their customers.
I never have to be concerned about facilities, or how clean and equipped everything will be.
Lovely Christmas tree, in every cottage and Christmas lights around the cottages by the way!Very cosy.

Room Tip: Ask the owners, as to what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 716Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have spent the last week in Meadowview cottage, the cottage is well equiped and the cleanliness is of a high standard. The owners Joy and Richard are so welcoming, friendly, helpful and informative, nothing was too much trouble to them which helped to make our holiday so great. The swimming pool is fantastic, so clean and well kept, our grandchildren would happily spend all their holiday swimming,even though the cottages were all occupied we did manage to have the pool to ourselves at various times throughout our stay. The location is wonderful, so peaceful and quiet surrounded by wonderful countryside with views of the sea, it is an excellent base for visiting the beaches of Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington and Whitby. This was our second visit to Wrea Head, we wouldn't hesitate to return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryrose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in Mill cottage (6 adults, 1 child) and were more than happy with the cottage, facilities and situation. From the cottage we could see the beautiful coastline and Scarborough Castle. The cottages are just on the edge of Scalby so you get the peace and quiet of a countryside setting but you're only a short drive away from local amenities.

Best bits: The pool, lovely and warm!

Worst bits: I'd take my own bath towels next time, they were tiny.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed in Meadowview cottage having originally booked Woodlandview but were asked if we wouldn't mind upgrading (for free!) as the owners were experimenting with allowing pets in certain cottages and wanted to allow a family to bring a dog to Woodlandview. We were extremely happy as we are not dog owners and so were much happier to be placed in a 'dog-free' cottage. Meadowview offered a comfortable, clean and spacious level of accommodation for the three of us. I was initially unimpressed with the bathroom which, given the cost of the cottages, really needs some money spending on refurbishment. HOWEVER, then I took my daughter for a swim and immediately realised that this is where the money is spent. If you aren't going to make use of the pool then this may not be the place for you.The pool is clean, incredibly warm (heating bills must be horrendous!) and generally extremely well looked after. (And, despite most of the cottages being full, we often had the pool to ourselves). The pool, coupled with the children's play areas (especially the teddies' house) really made the holiday for our 5 year old.
Location-wise: the immediate surroundings are beautiful; we were blessed with very good weather for our week so really saw the place at its best. If you are fit and eager enough, you could walk to Scalby village, but otherwise you do need to drive to Scarborough and surrounding areas. We always see accommodation as just a base from which to travel around an area anyway, so Wrea Head cottages were ideal for us.
And finally, the owners left a very useful welcome pack - plenty of teabags/coffee/sugar, pint of milk. Plus the cottages are stocked with almost any kitchen item you could possibly think of (including kitchen towels, tea towels, cling film, washing up liquid, etc).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Richard and Joy could not have been more welcoming, friendly or helpful (and directions to see the dinosaur footprint fossils were fab!). They also helped us to make some advance bookings for activities we wanted to do during the week. On arrival the milk, biscuits and tea and coffee are a welcome touch.

The cottages are all clean, warm, comfortable, and have absolutely everything in them you need - and more. We found all the beds extremely comfortable. The location was excellent for Whitby, Scarborough, Filey, York and Flamingo Land (which has no fliamingos but is a good theme park....). The very helpful list of restaurants and takeaways is good (our tip: stay local - best fish and chips and chinese) and the pool and spa were just fantastic for the 6 kids and 7 adults - a sauna after first horseriding session for a year was a godsend. The weather was not great for the outdoor facilities but the kids used them as well. The DVD library is thoughtful and useful. There is a local supermarket just down the road.

We had three cottages - Woodland (4), Mill (6) and Seaview (4) . Woodland and Mill were fabulous, Seaview was fine with a great view, it was somewhat older in decor than the other two (and the oven controls were obliterated by years of cleaning) and smaller than the other 4 bed cottage with no dishwasher (there is no space) which both the other cottages had. It was fine for 4 adults, might be a tiny bit small for families with junior school aged kids. A tip: if you are an adult using a single bed, dig deep into the layers of bedding and remove the plastic mattress protector - it makes the bed a lot cooler!! These are exceedingly minor comments, they did not detract from our enjoyment of Seaview.

Compared with other places we have booked for our annual family holiday this was good value and more than held its own, and the family enjoyed the week very much (ages 4 - 73). We tend to try a different location each year when the extended family meets up, but my partner and myself want to return here for a (slightly quieter!) break at some point next year, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We arrived fairly late to a freindly warm yorkshire welcome, and shown to our lovely cottage called Sea View, with fabulous views over the countryside and the castle and sea beyond. The heating had been put on beforehand so it was really cosy and warm, and on looking around had everything we could wish for for a relaxing break, our host explained everything and showed us round the grounds and pool, all very clean and well cared for.
All our online shopping had been unpacked and put away for us, so we were able to settle in immediately after our long journey. The next day we enquired about the area and places to visit, restaurants, etc and everyone was very helpful and knowledgable.
We had mixed weather and found plenty to do, and places to visit in the wet and also on the nicer days. The coast is beautiful around here and great for walking with a mixture of sandy and rocky beaches. The cottage was ideally situated 2 minutes outside Scalby, and Scarborough just beyond, but in a lovely peaceful setting.
We really have to congratulate the owners on their hospitality skills, they do go that extra mile to ensure we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of Wrea Head Country Cottages.
We enjoyed it so much that we even rebooked before we departed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Scalby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Country Cottages

Property: Wrea Head Country Cottages
Address: Barmoor Lane | Scalby, Scarborough YO13 0PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wrea Head Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing