We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two wonderful stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wrea Head Country Cottages
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Two wonderful stays”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have stayed at this beautiful hotel in September and October this year and were so impressed that we have booked to go again in February next year.The public rooms are beautiful,the staff friendly and helpful and the food is superb.This more than makes up for the fact that some of the rooms are a little tired.The renovated rooms have been done to a very high standard and we look forward to staying in one of these on our next visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 410pdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    5
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at wrea head farm for a week, my husband, myself and our two year old. We stayed in a lovely little two bed cottage. The cottage had all the essentials needed with a lovely touch of tea coffee and milk waiting for us. It was clean but could've done with a little modernising/maintenance in the bathroom. The only slight issue was feeling we couldn't open our windows in the bedrooms in the cottage as the cottages owned by other people had their door opening directly by one bedroom and their patio table under the other window. Fortunately it was cool enough not to need them open. This is the only slight negative of an excellent stay. The location of the cottage was great. A 5 minute drive to the seafront and easy access to Whitby and other local attractions. Of which tthere are plenty. The cottages tthemselves have access to a lovely heated indoor swimming pool with a jacuzzi. On our 5 occasions swimming there was only one occasion we were not the only ones using it. Absolutely excellent holiday and we will be coming back. Thanks :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Me, my husband and my son Romeo spent a lovely week in the Seaview cottage through Easter, and it is easy to say it was the best week away we've had. Not only were we surrounded by brilliant countryside, we were also very close to the Scarborough sea front and town filled with shops and amusements; an easy way to fill the day. Just a short walk down the road takes you to the village of Scalby which has many small shops, cafes and many walks fit for all the family. It's beautiful. The cottage itself, has very reasonable sized rooms, its up to date and modern. Everything we could ask for really. If anything was wrong or if we had any queries, the owners were always there to help us to sort anything out. They are very kind and welcoming people. Everything is kept clean and sanitary in and around the cottages, the gardens are kept well maintained and the pool is extremely clean and checked every day. Overall it was an absolutely outstanding holiday and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent a week in the beautiful Seascape Cottage over Easter and we were very well looked after by Rob who was able to meet our every requirement, which was especially important with two young children. We were able to do many walks, walking miles most days to the local Scarborough beach. We also loved the village of Scalby which is just a little way from the cottages with many small shops and cafes,the delicious fish and chips are also worth a mention! I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the cottage and the swimming pool, with the gardens looking extremely well maintained! We definitely shall be returning for another holiday in Scalby, fantastic value for how well we were looked after and the quality of location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRIDLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Wrea Head Cottages have been our favourite escape for15 years.
We have recently had a very enjoyable break between Christmas and New Year.
The present owners are really friendly caring and considerate.They take excellent care of Wrea head, and their customers.
I never have to be concerned about facilities, or how clean and equipped everything will be.
Lovely Christmas tree, in every cottage and Christmas lights around the cottages by the way!Very cosy.

Room Tip: Ask the owners, as to what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 716Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have spent the last week in Meadowview cottage, the cottage is well equiped and the cleanliness is of a high standard. The owners Joy and Richard are so welcoming, friendly, helpful and informative, nothing was too much trouble to them which helped to make our holiday so great. The swimming pool is fantastic, so clean and well kept, our grandchildren would happily spend all their holiday swimming,even though the cottages were all occupied we did manage to have the pool to ourselves at various times throughout our stay. The location is wonderful, so peaceful and quiet surrounded by wonderful countryside with views of the sea, it is an excellent base for visiting the beaches of Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington and Whitby. This was our second visit to Wrea Head, we wouldn't hesitate to return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryrose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in Mill cottage (6 adults, 1 child) and were more than happy with the cottage, facilities and situation. From the cottage we could see the beautiful coastline and Scarborough Castle. The cottages are just on the edge of Scalby so you get the peace and quiet of a countryside setting but you're only a short drive away from local amenities.

Best bits: The pool, lovely and warm!

Worst bits: I'd take my own bath towels next time, they were tiny.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Scalby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 34 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Country Cottages

Property: Wrea Head Country Cottages
Address: Barmoor Lane | Scalby, Scarborough YO13 0PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wrea Head Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing