We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst bed I have ever slept in .......” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wrea Head Country Cottages
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst bed I have ever slept in .......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

On arrival we noticed a large sign .... Awarded Cottages of the year 1997!
The cottages initially look beautiful however on closer inspection the problems started to emerge. The bed creaked terribly, the furnishings were really dated including the televisions.
The management were far from friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Visitor093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcolmscarborough, Owner at Wrea Head Country Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
We are sorry you felt the need to put this awful message on tripadvisor but you did try to get away with hiding a dog in your cottage we feel this review is very unfair, , the cottage you stayed in was renovted 3 months before you arrived with a new bed,We wonder if you put this awful message because we charged you for bringing a dog into the cottage which we dont allow and you left it for many hours,whilst you left the cottage moderatly clean we had to have the carpets & sofas washed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    5
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

one word only for my review
EXCELLENT!!
everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Felt was overpriced, in need of refurbishment. Slugs in the house at night, had to clean up slimy trail each morning!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheekychops056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Just returned from 4 nights in Haybarn cottage. 5 of us aged 26 - 54 years. a family weekend. we used the cottage to host an 80th birthday party for my Mum who lives locally. The cottage was ideal, easily catering for 11 adults. Well equipped kichen and spotlessly clean on arrival. The family who run the cottages were very welcoming and accommodating - they unpacked our Tesco on line shop before we arrived. The pool and sauna are a nice feature, especially for relaxing after a cold blast on the sea front. The accommodation isn't cheap, but it is good value for money for a family break. There are lots of thoughtful touches to make your stay enjoyable and we will certainly return again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisliz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

We were looking for a place to stay in Yorkshire that would work whatever the English weather threw at us. The pool area was lovely and there grounds are very well kept with plenty of space. The owners were friendly but not obtrusive. The cottage imaculate. The cottages are idealy placed for both the coast and inland.
We had a lovely relaxing week

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arborvitae09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

I would recommend Wrea Head Country Cottages to anyone. We stayed for a week in 'Stable Cottage', which was well-equipped, clean and modern. We ordered groceries from Tescodirect, asking that they be delivered shortly before we arrived, and found that they had been unpacked and put away for us! The information provided about the local area was conprehensive, even down to a print out of the local weather forecast for the week. The pool and sauna facilities were excellent, and we had them to ourselves every evening. Rob, the owner, pointed out that although the pool was usually closed after 9pm, he'd be happy to open it up for us to have a private evening swim if we liked, although this turned out not to be necessary.
Getting around was easy - the cottages were well signposted from the A171, and their proximity to the Whitby road meant it was a short trip to the coast in either direction - Whitby, Scarborough, Filey, Flamborough... The back roads also facilitated exploration of the lovely countryside giving way to the moor in the west. On our last night we ate at the nearby (c. 2.5 miles) Everley Hotel, at the recommendation of Rob and Tracy. They offered to give us a lift there, and pick us up after our meal, if we wanted to have a drink, which was service above and beyond the call of duty! The food was excellent (REALLY excellent) and we paid under £30 each for 3 courses with wine.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday, and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — The pool and sauna
  • Disliked — No complaints at all!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2006

Our stay at Wrea Head incorporated the birthday's of 2 members of our party. Cards and presents were laid out in the cottage from the owners (chocolates and a plant) as a welcome gift - a great start. We had the pool facilities to ourselves nearly every day (we stayed for 5 days), and when our toddler was taken ill and we needed a Doctor over a weekend the owners ensured that we were attended to and were as helpful as possible.

Equipment in the cottage was fabulous - everything through to the dishwasher tablets provided, and the quality of towels and bedding was very high. Comfortable beds too! I would have no hesitation in recommending - well done!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northerners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Scalby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Country Cottages

Property: Wrea Head Country Cottages
Address: Barmoor Lane | Scalby, Scarborough YO13 0PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wrea Head Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wrea Head Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing