We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Clean accommodation”
Review of Ashburton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashburton House
Ranked #30 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Clean accommodation”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This B & B was a good standard and clean, the proprietors were friendly and the choice of breakfast was excellent, spoiled only by noisy inconsiderate drunken jordies coming in late and extra noisy at breakfast but that's not Ashburton's fault. One thing to add though our room was on 2nd floor there did not appear to be a lift - we only had an overnight bag but I have a heart problem and so the stairs were a problem for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    52
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
166
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful spacious room with fair size ensuite. It was tastefully decorated and smelt lovely due to an electric air freshener. A nice touch. The owners are both lovely and very accomodating. The breakfast menu is fab and the food was great. Our only small gripe was the shower (we were room 10). It took a long time to reach a good temp. It was either boiling hot, or freezing cold. We would happily recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Located just 5 mins from the South Bay attractions this is a very homely and tidy B&B.
Our room was recently furnished with flat screen TV, the bathroom was very new and spotless, excellent hot shower too.
WiFi was fine for those of us who think this is a key attribute.
The proprietor and the staff were very nice and friendly.
The breakfast was outstanding with a very full English Breakfast as well as other menu choices, including Smoked Salmon, (yes in a Scarborough B&B).
Just the ideal location for a short break on the East Coast of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philstreet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed for two nights in room 2. Lovely and clean, warm and well equipped. Great breakfast with lots of choice from cereals, fruit, juice. Full english or kippers, and other choices, all were freshly prepared to order. Close to Scarborough centre, about ten min walk. Plenty of parking spaces. Very nice owners, made us feel welcome, and good value for money. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 2 has double bed plus one single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Kingsize room( rm1) was nicely decorated and very cosy, clean en suite shower,Full English break-fast was amazing! everything cooked to perfection, and all grilled not fried, good choice of cereals, and fresh fruit eg:- mellon, grapefruit, bananna, Nothing was to much trouble for the owners very considerate and welcoming, 10 mins walk through a small park to the town center and beach, the road to the beach is flat so no hills, if there is no parking in the hotel car park the owner has a permit for guests who have to park on the road, will be staying there again and would highly recommend had a lovely, relaxing 4 nights, Many Thanks Ashburton House

Room Tip: Room 1 kingsize, and room 2 double 1st floor were at the back of the hotel and quieter, the four pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 415CarolCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just returned from two nights at this hotel. Booked the superior room and stayed in room 11. Here are the negatives and positives:

First night did not sleep a wink - problem with the toilet which resulted in it filling up every 6 minutes (yes we timed it) - resulting in the whoosh of the incoming water followed by a bang when the cistern had filled. Highly frustrating to say the least.
Pillows on the bed badly in need of replacing - filling separated resulting in flat areas. Not the best sheets - ought to invest in better quality bedding and duvets.
En-suite small (but adequate), shower mediocre (but used to a power shower), water filled shower tray whilst showering so ended up standing in 2-3 inches of water throughout shower.


Positives:
Lovely spacious spotless room with small lounge area, free wifi, television and wall mounted fire.
Friendly accommodating owners who sorted toilet problem out next day resulting in a better second night's sleep.
Good area, short walk to seafront, shops, spa.
Fantastic breakfast!!!!

Thought in view of not sleeping first night due to their toilet problem might have been offered a goodwill small discount on price but no - had to pay full cost. The problems encountered have reduced my rating for a very clean bed and breakfast. Sort these problems out and the rating will increase.

However - despite these small problems -would I stay here again? Absolutely!!!

Room Tip: Two superior rooms advertised. We were allocated the ground floor one next to the outside door and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyBoop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A good B&B located about 10 mins walk from the harbour. Has a small private car park for enough rooms. Well presented rooms, lovely breakfast and when we went in January very good value. £37-50 for two including breakfast , which was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#22 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#35 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#62 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton House

Property: Ashburton House
Address: 43 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburton House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashburton House is situated in an ideal position in Scarborough's beautiful valley. A few minutes walk along the level tree-lined Valley Road brings you to the South Bay beach and Spa Complex. The B&B is rated 4 stars by Visit Britain and aims to offer the best combination of quality, service and value in Scarborough. All our rooms are en suite with Free Wi-Fi and flat screen dvd tv's. All rooms are spacious and and tastefully decorated, all are equipped with dressing tables and additional seating. Each year we completely refurbish at least two of our 8 rooms to ensure quality and comfort for our guests. Throughout the public areas, the hotel aims to capture the charm and elegance of the late Victorian period, during which the hotel was built. We have a free off street car park and offer various season rates and discounts. We offer an extensive breakfast menu and as well as offering a Full English Breakfast we also serve Grilled Kippers Smoked Salmon and many other lighter options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ashburton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing