We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #17 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The great reviews on here are thoroughly deserved. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts alone are worth returning for,all served with a smile ! We didn't want to go home & look forward to returning very soon with all the family. Many thanks for a great escape !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    116
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
337
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We returned to this excellent B&B for a 3 night stay. We paid a little extra for a sea front room which was well worth it, the views over the bay are tremendous. The breakfasts are a delight with superb service, nothing is too much trouble to the very attentive staff. This establishment cannot be faulted in any way, why anyone would pay 2 or 3 times more to stay in a **** hotel is beyond me.
Pay a visit and enjoy the service and quality accommodation.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B & B this weeked at a very good rate of £130 for 2 x nights in an upgraded sea view room with breakfast. The property is very comfortable, full of antiques with a lounge overlooking the sea. Our upgraded sea view room was lovely, very tastefully and comfortably decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful with a glass of wine on arrival.

We were booked into Room 18 (top floor) but were taken to Room 11 with no explanation but apparently the rooms were the same quality. We did have to ask for the complimentary bathrobes but apart from that, the stay was great.

Neither myself or my husband have stayed on the Esplanade side of Scarborough and you do enjoy a completely different view of the town. Fantastic views and very quiet and picturesque but a 15 minute walk to the nearest shops, pubs and restaurants.

We would highly recommend this B & B in the future

Room Tip: Room 11 is lovely and less stairs than the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Thank you so much to the wonderful staff at mansion hotel. We received a warm welcome along with a complimentary drink and chocolates. The staff could not do enough. We booked a family room (no.20) which included double bed and two single beds. The room had large plasma tv, dvd player and cd player. The bathroom had a double shower and lots of toiletries. We had complimentary bottles of water and a vast array of other refreshments. This was our first stay but definitely won't be our last. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziglass78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind comments and for sharing them with other potential guests. Room 20 is a favorite room with a number of families and we hope that the children enjoyed their stay also. The staff at the Mansion House Scarborough love having children stay and we have 5 family rooms of differing proportions. We very much look forward to welcoming you again if you visit Scarborough again however in the meantime may I on behalf of all of us here at the Mansion House Scarborough offer our very best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport pr9 9ef
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We recently stayed at the Mansion House on a short break to Scarborough .We found the hotel excellent even though quiet after the Christmas period the staff very attentive and the hotel warm and very welcoming .The room was well furnished with quality bedlinen lacking in most hotels and a very clean enviroment .We only had breakfasts there but they were well presented and many choices freshly prepared for each customer .This is a hotel that understands what the requirements are to maintain a strong customer base .An excellent find if in the area

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GRHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
May I take this opportunity of thanking you for your very kind comments and also for sharing them with other potential guests. The staff at the Mansion House Scarborough take great care and a lot of pride in looking after our guests so it is much appreciated to see that their hard work is appreciated. We hope to be able to be of service to you again when you are in this lovely part of Yorkshire again. Finally may I take this opportunity on behalf of us all at the Mansion House of wishing you both a very Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you both soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We chose this hotel because it had a great rating on Trip Advisor and some very good reviews.

The favourable ratings are there because they are thoroughly well deserved. My wife had booked the weekend, but unknown to her, I arranged for champagne and chocolates and a room upgrade privately. The staff were brilliant, they understood and a really lovely touch was a birthday card signed by them. All the staff from reception, through dining room to cleaner were wonderful, friendly, knowledgable and polite.

The decor is most definitely pitched to suite older couples (in particular) and is very well co-ordinated, it's all very congruent. The room was beautiful with a stunning view over South Cliff. All the facilities worked, my only slight disappointment was that the free wireless has no coverage in the top rooms (Room 18 anyway) and having upgraded to that room, it would have been nice to have that coverage in this day and age - especially for extra money.

Breakfast is served by charming waitresses and is high quality with lots of choices and no 'short cuts' were apparent.

Nothing is too much trouble and the added bonus is that certain restaurants recommended by the hotel actually discount the bill or give you a glass of wine.

Local taxi firm Atlas were prompt, reliable and friendly.

What more could you ask for? A public thank you and a highly recommended. We'll go again.

Room Tip: View is best from top rooms (17 & 18), but there are a LOT of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianwmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind review and your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to be able to meet you both and we are also very grateful for your sincere comments. For your information the Wifi is undergoing an upgrade which will cover the whole of the property, this will be done within the next few weeks. We hope you enjoyed your 60th celebration and all the staff look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you if you visit Scarborough again. Have a very Happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is a lovely b&b in a superb location on the South Cliff Esplanade. My room was warm, comfortable and quiet with everything I needed. The bathroom was very well equipped and the bed was so comfortable! The charming young man on reception was very friendly and helpful and really made me feel welcome. The breakfast was beautifully cooked, fresh and generous with a very wide choice. Reading the complimentary papers in the huge, sumptuous lounge looking out over the sweep of the south bay before heading into town was heaven. The shopping centre (or beach) are a pleasant ten minute walk away and there is plenty of free parking on the street (you're out of the disc zone at that part of Esplanade). All in all, a really relaxing stay at a beautiful establishment filled with lovely solid antique furniture; nothing cheap or tacky here. There really is nothing to find fault with.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you very much for your very sincere comments and for sharing them with other guests. All the staff commented on how nice it was to look after you during your short stay with us and it really is appreciated when our guests are so complementary. Our staff at the Mansion House are dedicated to ensuring our guests are very well looked after whilst not being over-bearing. Although you do not live to far away we all look forward to being able to welcome you back.again soon Once again thank you for your lovely review and all the staff would like to join me in wishing you a Very Happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
485 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Property: Mansion House Scarborough
Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing