We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only 5 star hotel / B & B in town?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #16 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Heard this joke? When is a hotel not a hotel? When it’s a bed and breakfast place! Alright I know that’s not funny but neither is it funny paying £95 a night for a rather average room in what is described as the only 5 star establishment in town, this being Scarborough.

My wife and I had come to Scarborough to visit the Stephen Joseph theatre. We searched on the Internet for a suitable hotel. Admittedly the choices looked fairly dire. We selected the Mansion House Hotel (this being the description used for their website) because we mistakenly believed it to be a small boutique hotel located on the south and more peaceful side of the harbour area.

Our uninviting room on the first floor had the usual pine furniture, redolent of many a B & B, and was quite small. You know you are in a B & B when at breakfast time the wafting of fried bacon and eggs permeate the rooms. Our room in no way reflected that shown on the hotel’s webpage.

The bathroom was of an acceptable size but not luxurious.

Breakfast was competent and acceptable.

Are the five stars justified? In my opinion for such a category one might expect a certain luxurious level of decoration and comfort; that was in no way evident in any of the public rooms and areas! The 5 stars were awarded by enjoyEngland.com. Another awarded by the same organisation only amounted to a ‘silver’ award. Sadly, I have to admit, we were persuaded, in our initial booking, by such claims to standards. We have learnt these standard certifications, awarded by such organisations, count for little.

My overall assessment of the Mansion House must be average and certainly not up to what one might expect of 5 stars. Clearly the charge of £95 per night was exorbitant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RealityEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have just come back from staying at the Mansion House Hotel today. I felt I had to get online and give this hotel some really wonderful feedback.
The hotel and staff are warm and welcoming. The rooms are really excellent with everything you could possibly need.
I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future and would recommend to anyone.
May I just mention Louise and Andrew and all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed from Fri - Mon over August bank holiday, really nice touch was a welcome drink while we checked in, we stayed in is sea view room and on the top floor, with no lift and lots of stairs you feel the burn! Excellent breakfast lots of choice, great staff , bed was slightly uncomfy but that is to our preference (husband couldnt sleep) all in all a very nice place, made to feel very welcome and would definatly stop again. A thank you to the staff for our anniversary card, we forgot to write in the comments book before we left but more people will see this :) We hope to return again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a low floor room as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesHols1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just arrived back from a four night stay at the Mansion House with my husband and nine year old daughter,which i can truly say was excellent .The staff were exceptionally helpful,friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.We arrived early on so our room wasn't ready just at that point but it didn't matter as we were going for a wander around Scarborough for the afternoon.Upon returning we were greeted with a glass of wine and nibbles in the lounge.We stayed in room 18 ,a premier room with sea view.There were a few flights of stairs to climb but well worth it when you got to the top,the view was wonderful.The rooms were spotless,well presented with bathrobes,tea and coffee making facilities and a well stocked mini fridge(these do have to be paid for though).They made my daughters bed up, which was a zed-bed,just to match the rest of the room and not a mismatch of bed covers as we have had in a previous hotel in Whitby!!The bathroom had beautiful white thick fluffy towels,face clothes and toiletories provided .The breakfast was absolutely excellent with an abundance of cereals,fresh fruits,juices,yogurt drinks then you had to decide if you wanted a full english breakfast or continental if you could manage it.You also had tea ,coffee and toast to go with your breakfast and you were well and truly full for the day after all of that!!All in all this hotel with its staff ,the excellence and quality of the establishment made our stay in Scarborough a very memorable family break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Firstly it is worth explaining that we wanted to go to Scarborough to allow my 83 year old Mother the opportunity to have a few days in Scarborough, something she has not done since 2001, and previous to that 1992, the year my father passed away at home. They always went to Scarborough on holiday and stayed in many B&Bs and hotels over the years. This short break was REALLY important to her and to us. It was also important that we secured a room somewhere she would be able to see the South Bay and have the ability to get to her room. She suffers from partial sightedness and is not as sprightly on her legs anymore.
So, The Mansion House, our experience. My wife phoned the place to establish if one of the Premier Sea View rooms were available. Also, it was discussed whether my Mother would be able to get around the place. The lady we spoke to was brilliant, she was very clear about how many staircases there were and indeed how easy/hard it was to get around. The rates were explained, as were the booking in and out times. We Googled the parking and found plenty of parking both outside and just up the road. It really isn’t a problem. On arrival, my Mother had been given room 5 on the first floor. To say it was perfect is an understatement. Ok, the trees across the road block out the sea, but there isn’t much to see in that part of the sea!! The main view is the South Bay and you can see everything from this room, everything. It really is stunning and has a couple of nice comfy chairs to sit and look, and look some more. The room was massive, spacious and then some, high ceiling, large wall mounted T.V., Mini Bar in a small fridge, tea and coffee makings, complimentary drink, soaps, a gown supplied for use etc etc, it was brilliant and got exactly the reaction we wanted. The staircase is quite steep but none more so than a standard house, the décor really does add to the feel of the place and indeed is interesting IF you bother to have a good look at the wall mountings, paintings and pictures. Imagine if this was your own house, of this size in this location, WOW, how they used to live! The staff were simply superb throughout our stay, helpful, polite and incredibly proactive. Breakfast is down another set of stairs which, although manageable with care, could do with an extended banister at the top to gain access to the top stair a little easier. The meal itself was really good. There is a large choice and all different from the traditional, to cereal, to continental to salmon etc. Tea, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit, toast, jam, marmalade, the list goes on. If you are used to a Billy Britain all day breakfast, then go to some greasy café and get one. This was perfect for the average belly and presented lovely. The girls who served and waited were dressed for the occasion, really polite and made everyone feel welcome. Again, zero complaints and more than satisfied. We used a local taxi firm to get around the place to save having to do hardly any walking. It costs £5 to get from this hotel to the Harbour. That is very cheap compared to taxis in the Cities around the country (we use them a lot). If there was 4 of you, it would work out at £1.25 each. That’s cheaper than the bus on the front! Overall, if you want a stunning view of the Bay, a massive room with a really decent experience go for room 5.
Our room. Room 17, on the top floor, 5 sets of stairs. You can see the sea from here AND the bay. If you are older, infirm, a smoker with lungs that have seen better days or have had too many all day breakfasts in your time, don’t go for this room. The climb will kill you. That said, again, we found it perfect, clean, big enough and with brilliant views. We knew we were staying in this room before we went, it was explained when we booked and we accepted it as a room in which we were happy to stay. ASK, when you book, then you will perhaps get what you are looking for.
In summary, we are grateful to The Mansion House for supporting such a nostalgic stay for my Mother. Additionally, it is worth mentioning the honest information we received on booking, the polite way in which we were welcomed, and for the overall staff attitude throughout our stay. We are really satisfied and would recommend The Mansion House to anyone, as long as they understand that there is no lift, the rooms are therefore accessed via staircases and you won’t have food thrown at you in a morning like a pig might receive a breakfast. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 5, Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We Ken and Olga from Mansfield have just returned from the mansion house hotel at scarborough after a 5 day stay and could not reccommend it highly enough to other visitors we arrived a few hours early but were kindly let into our spotless room to unpack the room itself number 10 had a lovely sea view and was immaculate in every detail and anything we asked the staff for was promptly provided and nothing was too much trouble the breakfasts were lovely the whole place was faultless and many thanks to the owner and all the staff for looking after us so well during our stay we also were lucky enough to have fantastic weather all the time we were there

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KENNETH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we booked this 5 star hotel and within minutes of arriving realised it was a con. we were aghast by the number of stairs, the third class room [see photos]and the poorest breakfast we have had in any hotel and we have visited lots. When we complained the owner was nothing but arrogant and so we left a day early. I would just like to add scarborough is a lovely resort

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HELENA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Mansion House and I am very sorry that we did not meet with your expections.

However, I was somewhat suprised to receive your review as your stay with us was exactly one year ago to the day so it seems somewhat suprising to receive a review after such a long period of time if your experience was so poor.

The staff remember the circumstances very clearly, firstly you were informed prior to your stay that the Sea View Double was on the top floor and we did not have a lift and you said you were ok with this. You were asked if everything was ok during your stay a number of times and it was only just before the third night that you asked to speak to the Manageress with your complaints and also asking for a refund. I am suprised by this comment because if the service given to you was so poor why did you say everything was fine for the first three days.

You said you had heart problems with the stairs so we offered to move you to another lower room but you declined and the Manageress was very keen to assist in anyway possible. We also refunded you £150 but you make no mention of this in your review.

The Mansion House staff are very conscientious and work very hard to ensure all our guests enjoy staying at this lovely property. We have a very high return rate from previous guests going back 10 years many of whom write very good reviews about this property. Furthermore, for the second year running we have received a Breakfast Award and also retained our 5 Star Guest Accommoidation rating in addition to a second 5 Star Hygiene Rating.

In conclusion I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but to receive your review over 1 year later leaves me with few options. We did inform you of the stairs prior to your stay, you stated that everything was OK for the first 3 days which left us with little time to remedy anything you refused the offer of a lower room with fewer stairs; you demanded a refund and £150 was refunded but no mention was made of these facts.

Once again I am sorry we did not meet with your expections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £64 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing