We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic location on south cliff within easy walk of town center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #15 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangladesh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scenic location on south cliff within easy walk of town center”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I normally stay in another part of town but Scarborough was packed for the August bank holiday weekend. The Mansion House had a last minute cancellation and I thankfully managed to reserve a room.

My room was at the very top of the hotel, which has no lift, but that exercise, and the walk into town, didn't spoil my stay. The hotel is modern, well appointed, with good rooms and has a very large front room (big enough to seat 10-20 people.

The staff were really helpful during my stay. I'd say they went out of their way to make me feel welcome and to help me out.

The breakfast was excellent. I had to waddle away, far heavier, after my four day stay. I'd recommend this hotel to any sort of guest, especially families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    115
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
91
335
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We only spent one night at the Mansion House because work commitments prevented anything longer. But it was enough to feel very relaxed and refreshed afterwards. The hotel is full of little touches that make you feel special - like the welcome glass of wine (or a non-alcoholic drink if you prefer) on arrival. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast waitresses were attentive without being intrusive and the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were divine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorningAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel was fine, massive bathroom and twin beds were fine. There is a big living room and we enjoyed our complimentary wines looking out at sea. It is close to the spa, which I thought was the nicer part of the beach. It is a 10 minute walk from town but that was fine for us. The breakfast was very good and lots of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leominster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Mansion House for 3 nights this last weekend, Wonderful stay, friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast.
We stayed in sea view room 10, very clean, beds very comfortable.
Highly recommended,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swaneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Heard this joke? When is a hotel not a hotel? When it’s a bed and breakfast place! Alright I know that’s not funny but neither is it funny paying £95 a night for a rather average room in what is described as the only 5 star establishment in town, this being Scarborough.

My wife and I had come to Scarborough to visit the Stephen Joseph theatre. We searched on the Internet for a suitable hotel. Admittedly the choices looked fairly dire. We selected the Mansion House Hotel (this being the description used for their website) because we mistakenly believed it to be a small boutique hotel located on the south and more peaceful side of the harbour area.

Our uninviting room on the first floor had the usual pine furniture, redolent of many a B & B, and was quite small. You know you are in a B & B when at breakfast time the wafting of fried bacon and eggs permeate the rooms. Our room in no way reflected that shown on the hotel’s webpage.

The bathroom was of an acceptable size but not luxurious.

Breakfast was competent and acceptable.

Are the five stars justified? In my opinion for such a category one might expect a certain luxurious level of decoration and comfort; that was in no way evident in any of the public rooms and areas! The 5 stars were awarded by enjoyEngland.com. Another awarded by the same organisation only amounted to a ‘silver’ award. Sadly, I have to admit, we were persuaded, in our initial booking, by such claims to standards. We have learnt these standard certifications, awarded by such organisations, count for little.

My overall assessment of the Mansion House must be average and certainly not up to what one might expect of 5 stars. Clearly the charge of £95 per night was exorbitant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RealityEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have just come back from staying at the Mansion House Hotel today. I felt I had to get online and give this hotel some really wonderful feedback.
The hotel and staff are warm and welcoming. The rooms are really excellent with everything you could possibly need.
I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future and would recommend to anyone.
May I just mention Louise and Andrew and all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed from Fri - Mon over August bank holiday, really nice touch was a welcome drink while we checked in, we stayed in is sea view room and on the top floor, with no lift and lots of stairs you feel the burn! Excellent breakfast lots of choice, great staff , bed was slightly uncomfy but that is to our preference (husband couldnt sleep) all in all a very nice place, made to feel very welcome and would definatly stop again. A thank you to the staff for our anniversary card, we forgot to write in the comments book before we left but more people will see this :) We hope to return again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a low floor room as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesHols1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Property: Mansion House Scarborough
Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing