We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #17 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just stayed at Mansion House for 2 nights this weekend. Lovely relaxing stay helped by friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was plentiful and a great selection fruit juices, cereals, etc
We stayed in a twin room (no. 3) which was very clean, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was massive. There is a big living room, where you can enjoy our complimentary wine whilst looking out at sea over the bay towards the castle. It is close to the spa, which we thought was the nicer part of the beach. It is a 10 minute walk from town but that was fine for us
We will definately return. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    116
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
338
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived on a blustery wet cold day but the welcome could not have been warmer! We were greeted by Louise with a big smile who proceeded to check us in with minimum fuss and showed us to our room. The room was very comfortable with excellent facilities, tea and coffee in ample supply along with bottles of water and biscuits, two dressing gowns placed lovingly on the bed and complementary post cards of Scarborough were a nice touch! There was a new Samsung TV and a DVD player, hair dryer, portable electric fan, a big wardrobe and drawers everything you would require for a relaxing stay. The bathroom was small in this room but perfectly adequate with lots of towels and toiletries, a shower over the bath which was amazing! We had a good quiet nights sleep and the bed was really comfy.

We couldn't fault the award winning full english breakfast which was cooked to perfection, there was a good choice of fruit and cereals and lots of other options on the menu.

We can't wait to go back and will probably stay for 2 nights next time in one of the sea view rooms which have a brilliant view of Scarborough!

Room Tip: For a good sea view ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our 3rd visit to the Mansion House after 3 years away. The hotel was as we remember. A warm welcome, good service and a nice room (no sea view unfortunately). There is no lift and lots of steps so worth knowing before you book. Using my 3 point check for hotels: bed - very comfortable, shower - powerful with good toiletries and the breakfast is first class. Lots of choice, friendly waitresses and an ability to trade things from the menu and even add extra items - brilliant! Will be back.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehelen1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

i had the pleasure of returning to the mansion house after a 2 year gasp and i am pleased to say it is as good as it ever was, some of the staff have changed (some have not) but happily the welcome and service is as good as it ever was and they gave me a free upgrade to a double-thanks guys !

Room Tip: go the extra and have a double..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevem808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you very much for returning to the Mansion House Scarborough after a 2 year break and also for your very kind review. We have had a couple changes of staff as Megan and Jason have gone off to University but the core team remains the same. All the staff are committed to providing the best service we can so that guests can enjoy a peaceful stay in this beautiful building so perfectly positioned on Scarboroughs South Cliff. We look forward to being able to welcome you back but try not to leave it so long this time.

Once again thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Brilliant 5 days...........Perfect.


I perused a review by REALITYEngland, after reading it, I viewed all his other ratings, it would appear that this person is a professional whinger, and I give him a full five stars for his whinging ability, nothing suits him, what a poor unhappy chappie,
if he was run over he would whinge if it was not by a Rolls Royce, get a life man.

And Sir, before you tell me to travel a little more, I have worked in every country in Europe, all the USSR countries,Turkey and all the Middle east including Iran and Afghanistan, all the Arabian Peninsula, and parts of North Africa, so I have some small
experience of B@Bs, Hotels, Lodging Houses and overnight stays, so when I comment that Mansion House is brilliant, I mean it, Just had part of my honeymoon there., ......off to the Lake District today to continue said honeymoon.bye bye.

Have a nice one Reality

Room Tip: Premier Sea View, Room 5, Just blissful Yabberdabberdooooo worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannygrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

another great stay at our favourite hotel in scarborough, been coming back to this family run hotel now for last 10 years, and it just gets better, set on the south cliff with the italian gardens just across the road, it is the ideal place for a relaxing break. breakfast is one of the best ever and lots of choice,lovely room with sea view,nice friendley staff, we will be back next year...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnylad603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangladesh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I normally stay in another part of town but Scarborough was packed for the August bank holiday weekend. The Mansion House had a last minute cancellation and I thankfully managed to reserve a room.

My room was at the very top of the hotel, which has no lift, but that exercise, and the walk into town, didn't spoil my stay. The hotel is modern, well appointed, with good rooms and has a very large front room (big enough to seat 10-20 people.

The staff were really helpful during my stay. I'd say they went out of their way to make me feel welcome and to help me out.

The breakfast was excellent. I had to waddle away, far heavier, after my four day stay. I'd recommend this hotel to any sort of guest, especially families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
485 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Property: Mansion House Scarborough
Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing